We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krakow B&B(Dundalk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage B&B(Dundalk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemount(Dundalk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
428
177
43
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
177
43
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursetennis courtsterrace barround of golfpro shopbeautiful groundsbeautiful hotelleisure centrewedding receptioncooley peninsulalovely settingwell worth a visitfunction roomfirst classset menupublic areasrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have attended one wedding here and many many meetings with work. It a glorious location and has come on over the years to one of the best hotels to stay or get married in. The location is lovely, mature grounds and hotel is fab mix of old and new. It situated just outside Dundalk and only 10 mins to Newry and same to Carlingford and Fitzpatrick's. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: always check previous reviews for tips and contact manager if further queries or concerns.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MULLYJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, it is great to read such a positive review from one of our regular guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon here at Ballymac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned home after having a 3 night stay as part of a coach trip and was impressed at the hotel. Would complain about the WiFi but have seen a reply to a previous review and understand it was not the hotels fault. Evening meals were delicious but too much for some of our travel companions and the choices for breakfast were excellent. Most staff were very attentive at both meal times and gladly accepted the request of smaller portions in evenings. Rooms were wonderful, light and airy although some channels on tv did not show titles of programmes. Service in the bar was excellent even though the were very busy on Saturday night. Would love to stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanJeannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your 3 nights with us at Ballymac, I have passed on your kind words to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a local hotel and myself and my wife stayed here overnight for our first anniversary.
The bed was rather uncomfortable as in the double was two singes joined together. Nowadays, I lime to bring my Roku box on trips and connect same to the HDMI port of the hotel room TV. In the Ballymascanlon Hotel, they have opted for very budget Walker TV's - on which both HDMI ports were either not working or locked down.
Even if the HDMI ports had been working, I would probably have tethered the Roku player via my mobile phone - the hotel broadband was terrible - very high latency and speeds of less than half a Mb/s.
My well done steak in the restaurant was anything but well done - it was red in the middle, however the breakfast in the morning was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letmedecide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we welcome all feedback both positive and negative.

Unfortunately during your stay with us our hosting company had let us down and as a result our wifi was not working to its usual high standard, you may note from some other recent reviews that other guests also experienced this difficultly. Our TV's have two USB ports and two HDMI ports and these are not locked.

We have also spoken to the chef to ensure that orders are cooked according to the guests specific request.

I do apologize that your experience with us did not match up to your expectations for your first anniversary and I note that you live locally to us, I therefore hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Ballymascanlon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hi, Just returned a few hours ago from BallyMac. A fantastic weekend as usual. Staff, food, rooms etc top notch. Only downside this visit was lack of wifi. No wifi at all from arrival on Friday afternoon until checkout earlier today. When you have three teenagers in tow and intend on doing a few hours sneaky work it was a massive inconvenience. Staff were apologetic and embarrassed but unable to rectify the situation. In this day and age wifi should be a given. It would make us think again about staying, we would definitely enquire that all is in working order before we book again as the kids in particular were lost without it. The phone signal isn't the best in the area either so we couldn't use our 3G in many parts of the hotel, including our rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the wifi during your stay with us, I can totally understand how you and your children would have been very frustrated with no decent wifi service. I have looked into the matter once I read your review and apparently our hosting company let us down badly this weekend. We have raised the issue with them first thing this morning and have been ensured that this will not occur again.

I do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back as we value all our new and repeat guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just had a wonderful weekend at the Ballymascanlon House Hotel,Ladies at reception were very helpful and had great hospitality skills and were friendly
Food was beautiful,bedroom very quiet and clean ,tidy
Highly recommend and we will be back
Thanks to all

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews