We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Downton Abbey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Lulea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2014 Downton Abbey”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ballymanscanlon House Hotel is located 5-10min drive from Dundalk city centre. The hotel is set in beautiful parkland with mountains in the horizon. In connection to hotel is a 18 hole golf course.

I stayed on third floor in a double room with view over mountains. Room was equipped with king size bed, large desk and chair, two arm chairs with a small table and a 32 inches LCD TV. Light colors, paintings of flowers and animals, spotlights and lamps on both desk and bed side tables.

Bath room had shower cabin and bath tub. Blue tiles on the floor and lime stone tiles on the walls. Room was very well lit up by spotlights. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer are available.

Room and bathroom are very well maintained and clean. If I should be picky I can comment on the armchairs and small round table that is not as classy as the rest. If I continue to be picky I find the TV not being well placed. It is wall mounted and can be turned but far from the bed (down side of large room). Beside these minor flaws I find the room to be very nice but it got very warm already in early June where I stayed on top floor.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant with a few cold options as cereals, milk and yoghurt. Though, at the table you are served toast and hot plate. Hot plate is according to choice with bacon, sausage, white and black pudding, beans, any type of egg, tomato and mushroom. I tried the full plate with all above and was not hungry until late at night. We tried to grab a late dinner in the pub and that was simple and well made and clearly above expectations.

Parts of exterior is like Downton Abbey and a 10min walk from hotel you find Proleek Portal Tomb. This is remaining from Neolithic period approx 3000BC.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor, it was very warm already in June and I can imagine how it is later during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojjeIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Ballymascanlon Hotel. Feedback is very important to us and to receive such a comprehensive review is very welcome.

We are all delighted with your reference to Downton Abbey! thank you for that.

We hope we can welcome you back to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    160
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
167
210
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night only. Very nice hotel staff very friendly. Had a lovely meal in the dining room which was very good. Sat in the hotel lounge for a quite drink and the only disappointing thing was the crap music. They would have been better off without it...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, except for the entertainment in the Bar on Saturday night.

I do hope that this will not deter you from returning to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for one night, breakfast was great, super rooms spotlessly clean. We played the golf course with the pro/shop owner facilitating the hire of clubs and shoes, no trouble.
The staff were really friendly and could not do enough. We didn't try the spa but by all accounts this is also very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, I will put up your review on the staff notice board and Gerry in the Pro Shop was very appreciative of your kind comments.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Ballymac very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontheroadagn7
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stopped by to see the ancient Prolek Dolmen stones. A short walk of ten minutes from the hotel (well signposted) through the golf course. Good photo spot. Even if you're not staying there, I would recommend the short walk out to this attraction.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we would also encourage anyone passing by Ballymascanlon Hotel to come in and view the Dolmen and spend some time with us.

I hope you will be back and maybe to stay with us next time?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a family wedding. Very impressed. The rooms are lovely and large. We had a terrace overlooking the tennis court. The function rooms and food are also very impressive. I did not get the opportunity to sample the leisure center unfortunately. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at your family wedding last weekend.

I will pass on your kind words to the staff, who love to get such positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon at Ballymascanlon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from a very nice stay at Ballymascanlon House Hotel. Could not fault anything. Spotlessly clean, friendly, mannerly and highly efficient members of staff, lovely food, great setting. Weddings on each day of our stay and did not interfere with hotel guests. Great spot for a cross border shopping trip.

Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will advise our staff on your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Ballymac very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have attended one wedding here and many many meetings with work. It a glorious location and has come on over the years to one of the best hotels to stay or get married in. The location is lovely, mature grounds and hotel is fab mix of old and new. It situated just outside Dundalk and only 10 mins to Newry and same to Carlingford and Fitzpatrick's. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: always check previous reviews for tips and contact manager if further queries or concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MULLYJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, it is great to read such a positive review from one of our regular guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon here at Ballymac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
671 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
665 reviews
10.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing