We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel was excellent with very helpful and pleasant staff.
The food was lovely, rooms excellent, and spotless we had a lovely stay.
I would stay again, it was very nicely situated in town with plenty of
shops close by, with good weekend entertainment in hotel.

Room Tip: best rooms in top floors, as the hotel is in a busy town and I consider it quieter if that is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    36
    25
    30
See reviews for
17
41
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here on business trip. Well located in the centre of town. Entrance is from the side of the hotel . The corridors are a bit uninviting and the room doors from outside look quite institutional. However, the room I had was lovely. Very spacious and nicely decorated in cream and burgundy. Standard of cleanliness faultless. Nice bathroom.
Breakfast was all right. No sign of the awful buffet but the food tasted as if it was prepared. However at less than€50 for b&b I could not complain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hecoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed with my partner for business/pleasure. We had not booked in advance and arrived on a monday early afternoon. There was no shortage of rooms, after check in we proceeded to our room, and outside it we met a maid who asked what number we were staying in, when we told her the number she informed us the room had not been cleaned. She phoned down to reception, which we had to go back down to, in order to get a different room. It was'nt much hassle but you'd kind of think reception would know which rooms are cleaned and which are'nt.

Did not eat in the hotel but did enjoy a few drinks in the main bar (Parke's) which was pleasant. Have to agree about the hot water issue, even when its left running its still not any way hot. The hotel probably could do with an updating but seeing as we only paid 55 euro for the room we were'nt expecting the ritz! We found the room clean which we were happy enough with,so all in all no major complaints and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

No Hot or even Warm water in room and nobody at reception to answer the phone

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundalk hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

First of all when you see the Hotel from outside, you can't expect something magic. Receptionist even didn't lifted her butt (excuse my language) from the chair to greet the guests... The room was very basic, but i'd say bathroom looked cleaner then the bedroom. The only one problem was that we still didn't have a hot water in a morning, even I was told that i need to let the water run for about 5 min., but even after half an hour i had to take cold shower (i heard that its healthier for your body :D )
Even it was a Saturday night, i was so tired after driving that i decided to stay in a room and relax, instead of going out... But i was so "lucky" and i got a room just above the bar so i could listen all songs from the bar till 2a.m.

So it looked like i was staying in 4* Motel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gido27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athlone
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2011

the hotel is right in town centre and was great value for money, it was clean & modern. The room was too warm and the showers were hard to regulate. Also the bar didnt open untill 5pm and there was no hot food after 4pm, also the receptionist told us there was a residents bar and when we came back to the hotel at 12.30 am we were told there was no residents bar open. We stayed on a tuesday night and we were told it is very noisy at weekend when niteclub is on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Slap bang in the centre of Dundalk, you couldn't ask for a better location. And at €40 per person B&B, the price wasn't bad either. The reception qand café areas were recently done up and look quite well. However, the rest of the hotel is just so old and tired. The rooms and landings need a complete refit to bring it up to modern standard.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
266 reviews
7.0 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
20.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
342 reviews
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Dundalk

Property: Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Address: Park Street, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel Dundalk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing