We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carrickdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrickdale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I've stayed here a number of times over the years and have never got around to reviewing it. The Carrickdale is a brilliant hotel in a great location.
Everything is spotless, food is to die for and breakfast is great.
I look forward to staying here each time and it has never, ever disappointed.
Carlsberg don't do hotels, but if they did............Carrickdale.

Room Tip: Haven't been disappointed, however the suites with a jacuzzi are particularly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWallHandball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
What a great strapline we could use! I am delighted you think so highly of the Carrickdale Hotel & Spa and delighted to hear that you receive consistent high quality service and food during all your stays at the hotel. I thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor and welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    182
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
196
203
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
taunton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Went here with my client for a 3 night stay. To say we were bowled over would be an understatement. From the moment of check-in to leaving we were met with nothing but efficiency, politeness and smiles.
Great food, good rooms and amazing staff...all for the same price you could pay for a premier inn..
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbscrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well what can you say rooms where large with a big and comfortable bed bathroom also big only down side in room no air conditioning could get warm at night the bar offers a good selection of drinks and the bar also offers excellent food and choice at good pieces there is a restaurant which good choice of food be warned the portions I found where large you need to be Hungary can get busy the staff and hotel are relaxed and friendly and efficient. There are excellent gardens to relax and walk round also there is a leisure centre with gym pool ect.Wish I was not working have used this hotel for 15 years never disappointed good place to explore the area

Room Tip: Front room get a lot of Sun no air conditioning rear rooms are shaded but can still be warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffreypazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your comments – You will have to come back to us when you are not working so you can enjoy other areas of the hotel such as Serenity Spa and our leisure centre. I am delighted you appreciated all the areas of the hotel including bar snacks, accommodation and restaurant and you will have to come back to explore the other areas soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a night with our 4 children.we had 2 rooms that interconnected.the staff at this hotel could not have been nicer.nothing was too much trouble.our rooms were immaculate .The only gripe about the rooms we stayed in was that myself and my husband had very little sleep due to the service entrance beneath us being used and the noise was none stop.we did inform the staff that we had very little sleep and they upgraded us but we did decide to leave.they didnt charge us for the next nights stay which they were well within their right to do so.the pool was fantastic but if you have children over six that arnt same sex as the adult beware they are not allowed into the changing room with you.my 8 year old son had to brave the changing room alone!
All in all the hotel and its staff were fantastic.i should be writing a bad review due to the fact i had no sleep but that would be unfair and unjust.Great spot to stay and handy to alot of kids attractions!
Again i cant praise the staff enough ,has to have the best staff of any hotel we have stayed in!

Room Tip: avoid road facing rooms and lower rooms at back.ask for a high up back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel – I was aware of the issue you had with the noise in your interconnecting room and can only apologise for this disruption. I am glad you appreciated our gesture of the upgrade and delighted you enjoyed the pool and found the staff fantastic – I really do hope to see you return to the hotel to avail of our facilities again and thank you for posting your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to this hotel to meet friends for a drink. The car park on the main hotel side of the road was full so we parked on the other side where there are barriers both going in and coming out of the car park. The barrier lifted upon entering so no problem there.

We had a nice few drinks in a busy, noisy bar with lots of children, small children, running around.

Following our evening we proceeded to exit hotel, walk across the road entering the car park and drive towards the barrier only to see a small A4 notice attached to the barrier "please contact reception for code to exit car park"!! This entailed us having to re-park our car, walk back across the road, enter the hotel, walk up to reception and request the code for the barrier! Needless to remark it took the good out of the evening for us. I have not idea why this system is in place. It would have saved us an unnecessary trip across the road too if they had put the tel. no. of reception onto this notice.

If the main car park is full again I would turn away from the hotel and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayesMarketing, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As some people might be aware reading this, the hotel have implemented a new entry & exit barrier for two of its car parks about 3 months ago. As you can appreciate, our hotel is ideally located between Belfast and Dublin and unlike so many hotels we offer FREE car parking for guest s within the hotel. However we were finding that the levels of cars being parked at the hotel were increasing for people leaving cars and travelling on to other locations – resulting in our own guests not being able to find a suitable car parking space.

With this in mind, and at the request of some of our customers, we decided to implement a coded barrier system. There is a clear notice upon entering our Bernish Car Park saying “CODE REQUIRED TO EXIT CAR PARK – AVAILABLE AT RECEPTION” and on every main door at the hotel there is a large sign “Have you got your Code” (This includes our leisure centre and spa entry doors as well) – I apologise for the inconvenience this caused you for having to go back to the main reception for this as I appreciate this would have been frustrating, but we really have tried to do this in the best interest of our patrons and would be disappointed if this deterred you from coming to the hotel again.

Please can I ask anyone reading this that if they are parking their car in the car park with the barrier, please ensure you obtain the code before leaving the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have driven past this hotel 100's of time, and never really liked the look of it - how wrong we were - stayed for one night in a huge family room (most hotels don't cater for families of 5) and the facilities were great - Spa and gym great as was staff and food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hergeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your comments – I am delighted after all those times passing you decided to stay at the Carrickdale Hotel & Spa and found the facilities including spa and gym exceeded your expectations – We welcome you back to hotel any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked 1 night in this hotel for my boyfriend and I. The package included bed and breakfast, 4 course evening meal and full use of the leisure facilities. The room was so spacious and the bed was huge. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless clean and included tea making facilities and the usual bathroom amenities. Although we didn't have a great view I wasn't overly bothered. We headed straight for the spa area and the outdoor hot tub was fab. The weather was glorious and the view over the beautiful gardens just made it so relaxing. Dinner was superb. Could not fault the meal at all and the staff are so helpful, friendly and extremely welcoming. Overall excellent value for money and I will def be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am delighted you and your boyfriend enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. Our spa and outdoor hot tub are fantastic and really relaxing – the weather has been fantasic as well which makes it all that bit better! I am delighted you enjoyed your evening meal and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. We will look forward to seeing you both return for another relaxing stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
8.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
5.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Property: Carrickdale Hotel
Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing