We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good time”
Review of Carrickdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrickdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a really good time”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Upon seeing the hotel from the motorway I was a little apprehensive about its appeal to me however when checking in the staff couldn't have been more friendly. There was only one thing that I would have an issue with and that was that 4 of us chose to share one room which was a VERY basic room - the room on its own for one night was €220 for all 4 which I thought in this day and age was exp (incl breakfast but not dinner). I have had weekend breaks incl. dinner (2 nights) in better accom for circa €89/€99. Having said that, the place was spotless and the staff were EXTREMELY helpful. The food was also fab especially the breakfast. Would go again if they had special weekend offers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    196
    64
    27
    13
See reviews for
225
221
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundonald, Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Good place to stay if you are going shopping in Newry or breaking your journey for Dublin etc. . Staff friendly & helpful. Our family room was a good size, beds were great. Enjoyed a family swim before a hearty breakfast. Also sampled bar food on previous evening, good food and portions ensured no-one went hungry. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greencaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This hotel is a good quality hotel. But what makes it special is the friendliness of the staff from cleaners, to reception to waiting staff. Be prepared to wait at meal times though as it gets quite busy . The food is good too. I stayed there last weekend in feb and forgot the kids favourite teddies and the staff were very good when i phoned them about it and put them in registered post back to me. i have stayed there 3 or 4 times now and compared to their sister hotel in Newry (canal court) the staff are much nicer and the rooms more spacious.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominoe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Good place to stay if you are going shopping in Newry. Staff very friendly & helpful, had a problem with our door in room & were moved within five mins. Our room was a good size, bed was great size, (although I think beds in family rooms may be smaller, not sure will find out next time!)
Lovely food, pool, staff so helpful.
Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilkennyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed here in December 2009 for visit to santas cottage in mourne mountains and visit to belfast. Good hotel, rooms spacious and warm. Hearty filling breakfast. Pool was ok. We had snow while we were there. The hotel is close to Newry which was good for shopping. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and woul recommend as a good spot to stay for a trip north.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherineoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Down
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My 3 duaghters & I had a lovely spa break in November. Arrived early -1pm for spa treatments - not expecting to be able to book into room until after 3pm. However as our rooms were available they very kindly allowed us to book in early. Rooms were fine - spacious & clean with everything you needed & good sized bathroom. Spa relaxation area was absoloutely fabulous - total bliss - & we were very impressed with our treatments. Also really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub - every good hotel should have one! Evening meal & breakfast in the restaurant were both lovely and all staff encountered were very pleasant & efficient. Will definitely return as spa area was so luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Don't bother with customer requests - I asked for a ground floor or 1st floor room when I pre-booked. Arrived for 2 nights on a Thursday. Put us on 5th floor. (Had requested ground/1st as my wife has arthritis and is also won't travel in lifts - fear of enclosed spaces)

Room was average. Tea Coffee Biscuits in room on Thursday night - no biscuits on Friday (small thing I suppose). Room could do with a facelift and perhaps investment in a modern TV.

Bar Food staff (on thursday) weren't overly friendly. Bar Food staff on Friday were excellent - even though 4 times as busy as previous night. Service was quick each night however.

Reception / breakfast staff were friendly. Hotel is clean Room was clean (with queen-sized bed)

Room Service menu = additional € 3 per person. No problems with that except that the actual price on the Room menu was already 20% higher than the equivalent bar menu. A bit sneaky to increase the prices and then charge another €3 per person.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shippingevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
8.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
21.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Property: Carrickdale Hotel
Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing