We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Carrickdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carrickdale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2006

My partner and I were there for a long week end, it was a family reunion so one member of the family picked this hotel.
The hotel is on this really busy road to Newry and at the moment loads of roadworks clog the road a bit, the website of the hotel is a bit misleading, because i got the impression the hotel was in the middle of this green park with lovely garden around it and when we got there its just this road with the hotel split in two parts by the road.
The rooms are really spacious, kept really clean but somehow when we went around the hotel after the cleaning everywhere smelled of an old vacuum cleaner...if you know what i mean?!?
Pub ok, nice staff all around but dreadful entertaining choices! it was all so old sounding!!! thank god the music wasnt overbearingly high otherwise we couldnt have had the chance to talk.
The restaurant was ok, the food a la Carte was nice but nothing exciting. the meal included with our room was def of a lower standard and it looked like it was done out of a package
Nice swimming pool and good gym that make up for the rest!

Overall ok, nothing special, the highlight of my trip was the day trip we took to Carlingford to see the bay and to enjoy the medieval town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ItalianinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2006

As a native of Co.Armagh I know the Carrickdale like the back of my hand and rate it as the best hotel in the area. Modern, homely with good food it is a must for any occasion including my up coming wedding. I really can't wait to have my wedding in the Carrickdale as the hotel is beautiful and the service is always friendly and quick. The food is fabulous and very good value. If you are new to the area check out its sister hotel The Canal Court in Newry. Its really good for a night out and for food also. Leisure facilities in both hotels are of a high quality. Very surprised to see a bad review of this hotel.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Franciefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

I found the staff in the Carrickdale to be completely lacking in manners & common courtesy, (with the exception of the housekeeping staff) the Irish welcome has not made its way to Ravensdale, at the very least a please & thank you would be expected when settling the bill (not exactly money well spent I might add). Will not be making a return visit & will definately not be recommending a visit to my friends.

Stayed: September 2006
8  Thank mardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2006

We had our wedding reception here in 2002 and have returned several times since. Our guests came from Canada and all over Nothern Ireland, Wales and England. They all raved about the food especially, as well as the leisure facilities and rooms in the newer part of the hotel with jacuzzi baths. (Can't comment on the rooms in the older part of the hotel) The friendly staff couldn't do enough for us all. It's clean, well maintained with a nice garden area. The bar is a good place for meeting friends or, if you fancy lively nightlife, Laceys is the place for you! It's a good spot to base yourself as it's half way between the shopping areas of Newry to the North and Dundalk to the South. The scenic village of Rostrevor with Carlingford Lough and the Mountains of Mourne is about 45 mins away. It has a lovely park, mountain walks and lots of pubs! There's the Fiddlers Green Festival (music) and a Vintage car rally there in the summer. Dublin is about an hour, hour and a half's drive to the South, and Belfast is the same distance to the North, so it really is a central spot. You really can't go wrong with the Carrickdale.

  • Stayed: August 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

I stayed at this hotel for my sisterw wedding it is one of the best around, the staff are amazing , espically the manager peter. the food is good the rooms are clean and it is no smoking, it is definitly a joy staying here

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

I have stayed at the Carrickdale on many occasions and actually had my wedding there a couple of years ago. It is a really great spot for drinks, dining and a wedding. The food is always of a high class quality and the standard of accommodation is fantastic. It has newly appointed rooms and they are spacious airy and have jacuzzi's and minbars.
The leisure complex is hygienic with friendly staff and the grounds are beautiful. The no smoking policy is also great when you are with a young family. There is good baby changing facities but there is no designated nursing area but staff have facilitated me by giving me a bedroom to feed the baby.
Allin all, a great spot with great deals on breaks and wonderful food. It is hard to pass!

4  Thank MsManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MaryMcTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaHayes1, Marketing Manager at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
387 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
711 reviews
21.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing