We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only to for people who like to be treated like dirt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel while attending a wedding in the area, Before booking a room I enquired if there was a residents bar in the hotel and if so would we be able to make use of this when we returned from the wedding that evening I was assured we could. To make a very long story short when we returned that evening we went to go to the residents bar and were told it was closed which is fair enough, but the ignorance and rudeness that we encountered at the front desk was a disgrace, I constantly stay in hotels all week with work as I am always on the road and I have never in my life seen or heard anything like this. I complained afterwards using the facility on the website and got a response from the head office and was then followed by a mail from the general manager of the hotel who was very helpful but could only tell me that it would never happen again and that seemed to be the end of the matter which doesn't really help me or make up for the bad experience which I had. If you want my advice stay in the hotel across the road called the fairways hotel as it is half the price and according to the rest of our party who stayed there the staff in there will go out of there way to ensure you have a great stay as opposed to ruining what could have been a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book a room in the hotel across the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judgey123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

I think they must be writing the reviews themselves. Very average hotel. Restaurant had no atmosphere, service was slow, food was forgettable. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest
I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit and that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we have not posted our own comments on Tripadvisor or on any sites. We appreciate and welcome all feedback
In an effort to improve, I would be grateful if you could forward me any details of your visit. My direct email address is nmurphy@crowneplazadundalk.ie.

Yours sincerley

Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very nice modern hotel, with roof-top restaurant with great views. My only problem with this hotel is the location. You have to have a car, there is nowhere you can walk to. Oriel Park (where Dundalk FC play) is about 20 minutes away and the ground is one of the few League of Ireland grounds that I have been to which is signposted. If going to a game again, I would stay in town and sample some of the pubs. Great location if you are on a Fly Drive package or going to the horse racing

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Situated on an previously industrial site on the southern outskirts of this small town, this highrise building sticks out. There is a feeling of splendid isolation but not the best place for that Robinson Crusoe experience.

It is all very modern, well appointed but lacks any inherent atmosphere. It could be any modern hotel anywhere in the world. Except this is not anywhere in particular.

Most of the staff were anything but Irish which seems strange given the economic woes of the country. All were well presented and efficient. Sometimes too efficient...things can be taken away from under your nose before you are quite finished with them.

Food was good. Room standards were high. Bathroom had both shower cubicle and separate bath. Everything was clean. Bed was comfortable and an effort was made to ensure you had a good night's sleep. However the air-con could not be turned down below 19 degrees C so for those of us that like a colder room to sleep in this was not an option. Windows were not of the opening variety.

Our room was adjacent to the lift, which did mean we could hear the ring-tone that announced the arrival of the left at our floor. Slightly irritating!

Overall this is a very good modern hotel but the location lets it down. Fine for an overnight stay but nothing to make you you want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Surprisingly this hotel which we consider to be the best in Town was sparsely occupied on the friday/saturday of our stay. We last stayed here about 3 years ago & found that genuine 4 star standards have been maintained & prices seemed better value. Dinner was a real bargain in the top floor restaurant & special offer menu including a nice bottle of house wine for each couple was best deal around. There were 4 of us & all were delighted with service & quality. Room was really nice, modern & spotless. Will go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The rooms are as good as any five star I've stayed in: clean, modern and well furnished. The bathroom has a fantastic shower and a tub. The staff are friendly and efficient. The breakfast has a huge choice of pastries, cooked food, cereal etc. and it all tastes great. The gym is free to use which is a bonus. Free wifi in the lobby and there's a broadband cable for a laptop in the rooms which is also complimentary. The room service food is nothing to write home about but I've certainly had worse elsewhere. The only thing I would say is that it is on the edge of town so if you're looking to be in the centre of things then maybe this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

i stayed here for a night to visit family. the rooms were stunning. the food was lovely too. the staff were slow though..and i did not come across 1 irish staff at the hotel. they were all polish which was a bit of a dissapointment. they were miserable and not too helpful. apart from that there was no fault to my stay, and i would stay again. i have left pictures for you to see.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badders07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
344 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,277 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing