We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't actually get to stay here!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We didn't actually get to stay here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is a strange review because myself and my husband didn't actually get to stay in this hotel.
Friends of ours treated us to 1 nights B&B here. As they booked over the phone they didn't actually get a physical voucher, instead they were sent a confirmation email and given a reference number. They were told that we should quote this number along with a particular managers name when we decided to stay.
Months later we decided to contact the hotel and arrange to stay but the hotel couldn't find any record of the voucher or that reference number and asked us to forward them the confirmation email that they had sent to our friends. We asked our friends for the email, but they couldn't find it but assured us that the hotel said that they would have a record of the booking.
We again contacted thye hotel but they told us they had no record so we could not use the voucher. After some time our friend actually found the email and sent it on to us. We forwarded the email to the hotel, but they said that it was too late and the 'voucher had expired'. We explained that we had tried to book previously but that they couldn't find the record (reference number - which did prove correct). But they again told us that it was too late. There are a number of issues here - firstly in Irealnd there is little protection for consumers in relation to vouchers. Therefore businesses can use expiry dates and all type of terms and conditions to avoid honouring their vouchers. However I would point out that our voucher was digital - confirmation email and reference number, and no expiry date was not included. Not to mention that the hotel should have had the record of the booking themselves when we tried to book after 9 months (if the expiry was 12 months). At the end of the day - the hotel took money from our friends, had no reference of the booking, put the onus on us to prove that we had received an email and that the refernce no. was correct and even when we managed to do this they told us that the voucher had expired. They took our friends 'Money for nothing'. Awful.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brightskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Madam
I am disappointed to see that you were unable make your reservation. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel so that we can attempt to rectify the situation.

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    270
    69
    24
    17
See reviews for
128
259
29
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Great for work, fantastic facilities, excellent rOoms, but forget this place for a romantic or family break. The refuse to serve from the bar unti 12.00, nit good for the morning after a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We took my parents here for 3 nights end April to visit family and stayed here as read their facilities on wheelchair access in hotel & rooms.
My mum shattered her femur last summer, aged 84, & after being in hospital for 4 months is in a wheelchair.
On arrival at hotel, after travelling from uk by ferry for 9 hours, we arrived at 1:30pm - our rooms were not ready so we waited patiently. Even though check in was advised to be 2pm we didn't get our keys till 3:45pm - although apologies given by the friendly staff, no offer of tea was made (which we could have made if in room).
Our rooms were on 6th floor which for a wheelchair user I thought was strange - thinking of emergency escape!
The rooms were lovely with huge windows and fab disabled shower room but the fun began when I was helping my mum to bed - the beds are way too high!!! My husband & I had to lift my mum into bed. Again a nightmare when mum needed loo in night & would have to call me in my room.
we asked reception if any lower beds - told no. Asked if any steps or anything and they did look round hotel & were helpful but no step to help.
Worse thing was to find out that they knew beds were too high and a problem for wheelchair users and lower beds were on order as had received complaints before!! Shockingly we were told the hotel had been open 5 years!
They should then know that upon receipt of a booking stating wheelchair access room (as we had done) they should have told us.
Sadly this did impact on our holiday whilst at this hotel - luckily it was only 3 nights out of our 2wk hol.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us some vakued feedback on your recent stay.
Firstly, I apologise that you had to wait for your rooms on checkin and that no refreshments were offered to you. This should have been the case and I am sure would have been welcomed after a long journey.

With regards to the beds in the accessible rooms, we do in fact have some beds that are lower and would have been more appropriate. I am extremely sorry that your were not allocated these rooms which had an negative impact on your stay.

We do continuously strive to improve on the service we provide our guests. It is through feedback such as yours that helps us do this.

If you are returning to the Dundalk area anytime in the future, I do hope that you will chose the Crowne Plaza so that we offer you the service which you should have received.
Please contact me directly if you are indeed returning.

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We only stayed one night, courtesy of a `Groupon' voucher..but what a good choice. We stay in many hotels and this rates very highly. A welcoming smile, and efficient check-in. A sizeable room, with all modern facilities, and a great sized bed (similar to Premier Inn). Breakfast was included, and there was a good selection of hot and cold buffet in a pleasant room (on the top floor). We ate in the bar and the food was wholesome and well presented as well as being reasonably priced....couldn't fault it.

The hotel itself was easy to find, ideally placed for touring the area, plenty of fre car parking and wifi available on the ground floor..

We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel while attending a wedding in the area, Before booking a room I enquired if there was a residents bar in the hotel and if so would we be able to make use of this when we returned from the wedding that evening I was assured we could. To make a very long story short when we returned that evening we went to go to the residents bar and were told it was closed which is fair enough, but the ignorance and rudeness that we encountered at the front desk was a disgrace, I constantly stay in hotels all week with work as I am always on the road and I have never in my life seen or heard anything like this. I complained afterwards using the facility on the website and got a response from the head office and was then followed by a mail from the general manager of the hotel who was very helpful but could only tell me that it would never happen again and that seemed to be the end of the matter which doesn't really help me or make up for the bad experience which I had. If you want my advice stay in the hotel across the road called the fairways hotel as it is half the price and according to the rest of our party who stayed there the staff in there will go out of there way to ensure you have a great stay as opposed to ruining what could have been a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book a room in the hotel across the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judgey123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

I think they must be writing the reviews themselves. Very average hotel. Restaurant had no atmosphere, service was slow, food was forgettable. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Guest
I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit and that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we have not posted our own comments on Tripadvisor or on any sites. We appreciate and welcome all feedback
In an effort to improve, I would be grateful if you could forward me any details of your visit. My direct email address is nmurphy@crowneplazadundalk.ie.

Yours sincerley

Niamh Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very nice modern hotel, with roof-top restaurant with great views. My only problem with this hotel is the location. You have to have a car, there is nowhere you can walk to. Oriel Park (where Dundalk FC play) is about 20 minutes away and the ground is one of the few League of Ireland grounds that I have been to which is signposted. If going to a game again, I would stay in town and sample some of the pubs. Great location if you are on a Fly Drive package or going to the horse racing

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18.5 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing