We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Crowne Plaza plus stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The upper floors of this hotel offer stunning views I don't normally associate with a Crowne Plaza - not airport dullness but distant mountains and a sweeping bay.

Mostly bog standard CP in terms of a spacious room, well equipped bathroom, decent toiletries (disappointing lack of hair conditioner, though), good hanging space, a safe, a sensible desk with enough electrical sockets, and a phenomenally comfortable bed. Strong WiFi signal both in bedroom and in restaurant.

The only niggles are that this CP lacks the usual humongous bath sheets (these are just regular bath towels), the breakfast is adequate but nothing special (this is Ireland for goodness sake!) and the lighting is hopelessly gloomy and low wattage. Impossible to read except by using the mini spotlight next to the bed - no proper task lighting at desk.

But bar service prompt and friendly, reception efficient and helpful, altogether a great choice for professional service and comfort. Next time I travel to Dundalk on business I won't even consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Devon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for yoru review on Tripadvisor.
The views of the Cooley Penninsula and surrounding areas are indeed stunning.
We value your comments and your feedback so that we can improve the standards and service that we offer our guests.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pleasant hotel with comfortable rooms.
Hotel offers two restaurants, we choose to eat in the bar restaurant which we found very cold. The menu was basic, food was not cold, but not warm. Breakfast was very good. Overall we found the hotel ok, but not value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay.
I am sorry that you found the bar cold and the food not at the expected temperature,

I have brought these issues to the attention of the relevant departments ,which will be addressed.

I hope that we will improve in these areas so that we can offer you a superior experience during your next stay.

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our daughters christening here at the weekend, with almost 40 guests (inc 13 young children) the function room was fantastic, the food was beautiful & the service from the staff throughout the whole day was first class!! The bar lady took out colouring packs for all the young children which was a great thing for keeping them quiet. Both our family & friends have also been raving about it since, would highly recommend the crowne plaza for any function or event.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miyac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for yoru lovely comments.
I am delighted that we were able to be part of your recent family celebrations and that you had an enjoyable day,
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I got married there and it was absolute lovely wouldn't change a thing about the hotel every one was there to help out on our special day All I've to say excellent it was that good we went and stayed two weeks later

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclifford85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Newly Weds
We were delighted to be part of your special day.
We wish you both a long and happy future together.

From all at the Crowne Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a great stay for a business hotel. I rarely left, apart from hitting a tour of the area and a local pub and, of course a trip into Dublin, with a stop at the nearby UNESCO world heritage site with the "sun box" that is 5K years old! The room at ~ $200 a night including breakfast was a great value. It was large, all done in lovely woods and tastefully decorated. It had a fantastic rain shower - although you had to call down to have the wand disabled and changed to shower (Europe for you)! The bathroom was all marble as well, very nice for a Holiday Inn property, one would never know of the association, and they don't advertise it. The bar and restaurant, adjacent to the lobby was a great place to wind down the day with some great Irish whiskeys and a giant selection of beer on tap, really incredible. The staff were all very courteous, and the bar actually attracted a decent crowd of locals looking for upper-end atmosphere. I preferred the atmosphere in town at the huge and very nice pubs (not at all alike the cheesy Irish pubs here in America BTW), but I guess, after a while, they become old hat, and this spot is relatively new and has a lighter vibe to it. Enjoy the next time you just so happen to be ~ 40 miles north of Dublin!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Dundalk in the near future,

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our GAA Club held a Presentation Dinner Dance in the hotel on Friday 21.03.2014 where we had an attendance of 270 for a four course meal .
All of our requirements were met to the highest standards and I found the staff to be extremely friendly , efficient & courteous.
I would recommend the Crowne Plaza Dundalk for events of a similar nature.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent event at the Crowne Plaza.
I am delighted that you and your colleagues enjoyed your evening . I do hope that we will have the opportunity to host another event in the future.

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here on 16th March 2014 for a Family break. We booked Family room with breakfast and we also ate a evening meal in bar. Food was excellent both in the bar and for breakfast which was served to 11am. The food in the bar was of a high quality and the kids meals were of a high a quality and potions were excellent.

We arrived for breakfast around 10.45 and there was still plenty of choice in the buffet and everything fresh. A couple arrived around 11.10 when the buffet was been cleared and were allowed to get breakfast without any complaints from staff.

The beds were so comfortable, even the travel cot must have been good as our 5month old baby slept for 12hours without a sound!!!!

The gardens outside are lovely and would be nice in summer. We will def be back here and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaDundalk, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the visit to the area.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Niamh Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
305 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
710 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
138 reviews
18.5 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,231 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing