We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at the Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at the Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our second stay at the Crowne Plaza in Dundalk and it didn't disappoint. The hotel has a friendly welcome and the reception staff are very knowledgeable and are keen to help you find things to do around the area.

Our room was on the 8th floor and was spotless, with two large comfortable beds and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath - we booked a family room and it had everything we needed.

The bar area was buzzing with bank holiday residents, as well as locals coming in for the food. As we were on a package which included a 2-course meal, we were given a smaller menu to choose from, however when we asked if we could choose an item (of same value) from the main menu, there was no problem with this. The food was good, although I chose Thai Green Curry and it seemed to be to be between a Thai/Indian dish as opposed to a creamy thai green curry - but was good all the same! The deserts were gorgeous and we were full by the end of the two courses.

A one man band set up and started to play at 8.30 - he was really good but finished up at 10.30pm which we felt was a little early, might be better if he started a bit later, as people were still eating and while not a problem could make for an even better night.

We headed to Carlingford which is off exit 18 on M1, a lovely little town which is worth a visit, scenery is amazing as just at the foot of the mountains and you'll find an array of places to eat and some small little shops to tempt you.

Breakfast was plentiful and the chef was there to cook your eggs just how you like them, staff were friendly and efficient and the views from the restaurant were amazing - a lovely setting to start off the day.

I will definitely be returning to the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    282
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
138
267
30
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel. Our room was airy and modern and our bathroom large, modern and very clean (bath and separate shower). We paid extra for a corner room with a view of the Boyne (8th floor). Breakfast served in the restaurant on the 13th floor - wonderful views and lovely food. Staff were very friendly. Good evening meal in the bar on the ground floor. Only glitch was that we had to have our room key reprogrammed once. Good location for exploring the Mourne Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for one night, and I must say the staff and the hotel in general is excellent. We had one little mishap though, had booked in and gone to our room when about fifteen minutes later another couple opened the door and walked in. They seemed to had been allocated the same room as us. When we left the room our keys didn't work so had to get them reprogrammed again.
The breakfast was very good even though there was a very large amount of people around when we arrived for it. the view from the breakfast room is awesome. Would recommend as rooms fair size, and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deckie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is on the outskirts of Dundalk, with the town itself only really accessible by car. I stayed here with family for a wedding, which alot of people who were staying in the hotel also seemed to be doing. In all we took up about 20 rooms. I was on the 12th floor which had great views and was quite quite. The rooms are all quite large with ensuite, tv, tea and coffee making facilities and the like. The hotel restaurant is located on the top floor and provides lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Food was very nice in the restaurant, and I was told that the bar on the ground floor served similar quality food. Breakfast was included and was also lovely. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Now for the negatives, unfortunately!! The toilets were an issue in some of the rooms in that the flush mechanism was not working and they backed up but as soon as we complained they sent someone to fix the issue. Second slight problem was the electronic opening mechanism for the doors, i think we were jinxed in that 3 or 4 rooms from our party were either locked in or locked out because the mechanism wasn't working properly!!All in all though a great stay and would recommend. Interesting to note that if you are having a wedding in the nearby castle bellingham, the crowne plaza have a favorable room rate which includes a taxi to and from the castle for wedding guest which was great for our guests!!!

Room Tip: 12th floor was very quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bub2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Myself my wife and 4 kids ages 9,8,6 and 5 stayed here recently we had an interconnecting room , the reception, bar and bedrooms are beautiful nice comfy beds,separate shower, movies for the kids, good food what more do you need from a hotel I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a nice break

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nmcarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here mid week. Bed rooms are of a very good standard with separate bath and shower, mini bar if you require it. I had bar food all so top class. Over all this is a very good hotel with nice staff and a fab restaurant on the 13th floor with good views. Near the M1 and race track. I will be back.

Frank C

Room Tip: There are thirteen floors the higher your room the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having stayed at the crown plaza I would definitely advise a stay here. I had a party of 36 and the hotel couldn't do enough for us especially Amanda Christina and ashling who went over and beyond their duties to look after us. Well done crowns plaza see you same time next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taudrey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
659 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
135 reviews
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
659 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing