We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large hotel but still with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A large hotel but still with good service”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for a wedding in the area. The reception and restaurant staff were very helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom modern with a shower and bath. We ate in the restaurant and had a lovey meal and would recommend having an evening meal there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    282
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
138
267
30
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dundalk while attending a wedding in Castle Bellingham. We found the hotel to be like any commercial hotel, very adequate, but big and impersonal.
Breakfast on weekdays finished at 10am sharp! Which suits the hotel rather than the guests.

I have no complaints about the hotel, but it is an impersonal, commercial hotel. I would stay again under the same circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently held my wedding in the Crowne Plaza Dundalk, and I cannot praise them enough for everything they did for us!
I will start by saying that all of my dealings up until the week of our wedding were done online through emails with the Crowne Plaza Dundalk staff, and for that alone they deserve 5 stars.

I was dealing with Samantha for 95% of my planning for my wedding, she was fantastic to deal with - sending me pictures, checklists, ideas, floor plans and anything I asked for, along with her ideas and comments right up until a few days before the wedding. When I came in for my final checks and first face-to-face she was away and left me in the hands of the lovely Veronica. I should mention that Samantha had done pretty much all of the planning and had everything in order so once Veronica went through it all again with me and my fiancé, we felt completely at ease and excited for our big day.

We had 220 guests at our wedding and each and every one commented that the food was amazing, the staff were fantastic and they were so surprised at how fantastic the Crowne Plaza had been throughout the whole day. Nothing was an issue on the day, we had Peter running the whole show and he could not have been more attentive to myself and my husband making sure we always had a drink and we were happy.

They kept the bars open as late as they could for us and our guests and even when there was strange meal requests at the last minute they sorted it out no problem.
They even went as far as collecting gifts and cards from guests and holding them all for us until we checked out.

We honestly could not have asked for more off them and could not recommend them more highly as a wedding venue!

Room Tip: Ask for one on a higher floor to get an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sran_Sran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I really can't fault this hotel. A group of 9 of us, including a small baby stayed in 4 rooms for 2 nights as we were invited to a wedding there. All 4 rooms were immaculate and had everything we needed in them even down to and iron and ironing board which I reluctantly had to use. One of our rooms was a disabled room which suited our guests needs although the bed was a little high.
The staff are amazing, friendly, professional and very efficient. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them. Check in and check out was very quick and every service is undertaken with a smile.
Their wedding venue was lovely and well decorated to the bride and groom's specifications.
So friendly whilst staying professional.
Well done to everyone that works there and to the management for getting things right when so many other hotels chains fail to offer such an all round great experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank quslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
school
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have just come back from an overnight stay in The Crowne Plaza in Dundalk as I was attending a wedding in Darver Castle it is a lovely well run hotel and I would highly recommend it is a lovely quite hotel with god breakfast

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherineSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Since some of our previous stay was marred by a room cleaning error, they owed us a discount on our next visit. It was exactly a year ago since our last visit and we only had an overnight stay that time, on our way up to the Antrim coast. This time we wanted to have a two night stay, for a bit of r&r to ourselves.
We had a junior suite on the twelfth floor which had fantastic views over the mountains of Mourne and Blackrock bay, and we could also see some of Dundalk town. The room was very spacious with a luxurious bathroom, a lounge area, and the most comfortable bed I had been on in a hotel for ages. When we got to look at the bed, we noticed they had left a sleep help pack on it, which contained a scented spray for the pillows, and a roll on that you put on your wrists and temples, a nice touch that does actually help you to sleep well. In my opinion, the room was quite dusty, especially around the mirrors and light shades, could do with some slight improvements in that area. The staff were excellent, especially Amanda, who was very compassionate to my wife, and who arranged the whole stay. We ocasion to call a manager to the room to fix the sound on our tv, an eastern European guy whose name evades me at the moment. He was extremely helpful and an all round nice chap.
One of the nights we had a meal included in our package, which we could choose from the a la carte, and pay the surplus on items that were not included. I chose a chicke dish which was marinated in honey and tarragon, and served in a filo pastry type basket. Sounded lovely in writing, but just did not look great when it arrived. We both opted for the fillet steak, which was ten euro extra, and decided to forgoe the veg, which sounded like what I call, "Lazy chef veg". Carrot batons, broccoli and something else.
The breakfast was very good, and was the usual buffet style, and had a great selection available. They also had a chef behind the buffet counter doing the eggs to order, which was a nice touch.
The view from the dining room, which is on the thirteenth floor, is also very spectacular. I am sure I will be back at some stage to the hotel, but I wont be actually waiting with baited breath to do it.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors, ask specifically for non smoking, although the smell of smoke seems to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

When I booked this hotel I clearly stated that the booking was for 2 adults and 3 children. The rate we were given was for 3 nights b & b & 1 eve meal. When we went to the bar/restaurant for our eve meal we were not allowed to choose from the A La Carte Menu, it was only a small bar menu that we could use. It didn't have any dinners on it only bangers & mash, chicken strips & chips etc. They then told us we would have to pay for 1 of our children's meal as it was standard policy to give a rate for 2 adults and 2 children. When we explained about the package we were given they said that would allow each child a main course each. We explained again about the package and they eventually told us all the children could eat free. At the end of the meal they sent a different waitress to the table and we were give a bill for the adult dinners only. They tried their best to get us to sign for our dinner bill. As you can imagine we were not impressed. It was all very unorganised and very annoying. The restaurant in the hotel did not open sun - thurs, so our only option was to eat in the bar. It is not that big so we found it very hard to get seating. We were also got dirty glasses for our dinner, chipped cups for breakfast. Obviously the bedrooms were not cleaned properly as we found a set of smelly socks in the bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leit0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Leit0101,

Thank you for your recent stay and for leaving us a feedback. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves in and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. Our apologies for the shortcomings regarding the food selection and room cleanliness. Please know that this experience is not reflective of our daily high standards.

I can assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
659 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
135 reviews
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
659 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing