We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innisfree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innisfree House
Ranked #10 of 16 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A true treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This B&B could not have been nicer. The staff was extremely helpful - and gave an excellent recommendation for dinner in town (The Windsor), which is within walking distance - and we were fortunate enough to meet the owner and listen to a jazz rehearsal in one of the dining rooms. Breakfast was amazing and we were treated like royalty - silver tea and coffee serving sets. The french toast was to die for. It was truly a wonderful stay - and a bit off the beaten track, which was a nice way to wind down our family vacation to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlanta_GASusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
27
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Having to attend a family Wedding in the town I opted to stay again at this little cracker of a guest house.
Ignore the person on here who has thrown his/her dummy out of the pram over a missed breakfast-the people here could not do more for you to make you feel welcome.

I have been in the tourist trade to over 40 years and have stayed in a 7 star hotel-some of the best and worst hotels in the world and believe me I can be very critical-
So if you want to stay in a corporate box of a hotel there are plenty even in Dundalk.- but if you want something that is different central-great food-very good staff - look no further.

This B/B is a total delight-very quirky its like being on the set of Downton Abbey- lots of lovely little touches- the waiter wearing white gloves while serving you the little silver coffee pots ! great- you can keep your Jury's Inns (no offence to them they are fine)-if you want something different- this is it

Hers to the next time

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfranktd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

what a fantastic place to stay.
the rooms are lovely the food was very good and the staff are great they really know how to look after their guests. Everything about Innisfree House is 5 star hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate209967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

This place is amazing, old style house, rooms better than any hotel i've ever stayed in. Cosy atmosphere in the house and the place is central to everything

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyfelloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My 3 day reservation turned into 9 days. The staff were wonderful at adjusting my accommodations as needed. Everyone was kind, caring and considerate, going out of their way to accomodate needs. Due to unforeseen circumstances extending my stay, all the staff was very supportive.

My room was lovely, large, clean and so much more than anticipated. I was absolutely delighted with everything and everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamacita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

we arrived on saturday evening to a very warm welcome from a member of staff,who checked us in and showed us to our room.The room was great complete with four poster bed.everything was brill ,the decor was all perfect to the period of the house and even the staff dressed accordingly.The receptionist could not do enough for us.A taxi was arranged to take us to town,a restaurant and bar were recomended and in the morning breakfest was prompt well presented and georgous.Aperfect place to stay

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damoCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast N. Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We booked Innisfree for a get away break and it was perfect. After some confusion to start with regards our room and cost (which was fixed the next day) we were shown to our room by a lovely lady who looked after our every need during our stay. The ambiance in Innisfree was just right with soft lighting, plush carpets, soft music and tea lights in the hallway.

Our room was perfectly furnished to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. We had a luxurious 4 poster bed, my only complaint (I know how dare I complain about a 4 poster bed) was that the pillows were very hard.

The shower was good with plenty of fluffy clean towels. Our breakfast was plentiful and my partner was well catered for as he is vegatarian.

Overall, I would defiantly recommend Innisfree to anyone who is looking for a short romantic geataway at an unbeatable price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lismar Guest House
Lismar Guest House
#13 of 16 in Dundalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree House

Property: Innisfree House
Address: Carrick Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innisfree House is a beautiful early Edwardian townhouse offering natural comfort with a warm welcome in relaxed traditional surroundings. Innisfree comes highly recommended for its accommodation, hospitality, cleanliness, and its straight-forward friendly approach to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innisfree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing