We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag!”
Review of Innisfree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Innisfree House
Ranked #12 of 15 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast in a group of four people for a weekend break in Dundalk. Our first contact was with the duty person who informed us that pre-payment for our stay would be required and it had to be cash as the card reading machine was not working! I did wonder how long the machine had not been working for and could they not have given us notice prior to our arrival as the booking had been made some time ago. Anyway, that was our first contact, not the best! The downstairs rooms of this house are absolutely fabulous and I don’t think you could beat the breakfast experience, with a huge choice of food and wonderful surroundings all served on silver and by an impressively Edwardian dressed waiter/waitress. The room is full of wonderful period furniture et cetera. It is a shame that the upstairs bedrooms have been allowed to get a little tired. Previous reviewers have suggested that the bedroom allocation is a bit of a lottery, so maybe that is the case. Our room was a nice room, but just a little jaded. The television system is in need of a serious upgrade. Our friends television did not work at all and a distribution extension board was hanging from the wall, not that television is a major factor. I have to say that the standard of the cleaning that we experienced was absolutely fantastic, with one exception – the non-replenishment of toiletries and in the case of our fellow travellers; there were no toiletries at all! The bed linen was absolutely pristine but the covers for the beds had seen much better days, with grease stains and rips on the outer bedspread, this must have been seen by the cleaning staff, so can only assume they have chosen not to replace these items for some reason. On two consecutive nights our sleep was disturbed in the early hours of the morning about 0300 and 0430 by movements in the hall outside, whether this was other guests or staff, we are not sure.Overall, I probably would not stay there again due to the standard of the bedrooms. A novel and enjoyable experience with the Edwardian touch: but more attention required on the sleeping accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Great hotel, we loved it a hidden gem and service was excellent - highly recommend if visiting Dundalk. It was perfection, close to city centre but not in middle of busy street. Breakfast was great. we stayed there on Saturday night for €65 inc breakfast for two people,. Best place we have stayed in a while so much charm in the whole building. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billiam-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed here. The breakfast is super and for the price you really cant complain. However having booked three rooms the first time and four rooms the second time It became apparent that really does depend on your room. So much so it made us all think would we book again?
One room at the front was sumptuous.
The twin was lovely with a bath.
The other room was geared up for someone travelling with a baby. A fridge and microwave in a corner for that reason?? as a result the bed and dressing table was squashed into the other side of the room making it less accessible to reach the dressing room table and sockets.
The fourth room had a double up against the wall with no side table and a chez long squeezed into the space at the window - very overcrowded and cramped.
Having stayed in room 5 and 6 the sound proofing between these rooms is not the best and worth avoiding if you are a light sleeper. Having said all that I would probably book again due the cost and quality of the breakfast and service.
If the owner reads these reviews may I suggest the following things that might make the guests stay more comfortable? You do say you will experience Georgian luxury with modern amenities or words to that effect? We all felt that some things could make this closer to that description.

T.V. - very poor reception with limited channels- dated portable t.v.'s mounted high close to ceiling (difficult to view)
Dressing tables/tables- ensure all beds have a side table for a glass of water/spectacles to be stored over night. Make sure you can access dressing tables and sockets for hairdryers/straighteners. Sockets fixed so close to floor make it impossible to plug in a moulded plug/ alternatively provide a hairdryer in every room.
Showers- keep an eye on mould around the silicon. All rooms seemed to have a problem with it.
If you are looking for a cheap an overall clean b and b for a good price then book this b and b. If you sorted the points above I wouldn't hesitate to return and pay more for the stay too.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 and 6 sound proofing not the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandCrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My daughter and i have just come back from a weekend in Ireland staying at this unique guest house. I agree totally with the previous reviews. If you are going to Dundalk then you won't be disappointed if you stay here.
We had two single rooms at $35 a night including a hearty breakfast. How cheap was that!!!
would definately stay there again in fact i wish i was there now!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We came across this 'hidden gem' by chance. One word to describe it PERFECTION. We only stayed one night but from start to finish it was perfect. Staff were friendly, room was great with a beautiful four poster bed and the food was excellent. The attention to detail would put some 4 and 5 stars to shame. Can't wait to back.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed - very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The period details in this guesthouse are charming and made it a memorable experience. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable, the bed was a bit squeaky though. The candlelit breakfast served by a waitress in edwardian costume wearing white gloves was particularly special. I really liked the small bar complete with open fire.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Classy and bursting with 'Edwardian Charm'. Staff are very attentive and the service is 2nd to none.

The afternoon tea is to die for!

Room Tip: Make sure you have the Afternoon Tea - excellent value at €12.50 a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
9.9 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
721 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
314 reviews
3.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree House

Address: Carrick Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range: £51 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innisfree House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innisfree House is a beautiful early Edwardian townhouse offering natural comfort with a warm welcome in relaxed traditional surroundings. Innisfree comes highly recommended for its accommodation, hospitality, cleanliness, and its straight-forward friendly approach to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Innisfree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing