We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keernaun Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 15 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, lovely people”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a great stop over in Keernaun house last weekend. Really friendly family who run it with lovely playful little dog. I had planned to get a taxi into Ardee the next day to get the Dublin Airport bus, they researched it a bit and advised me to go from Dundalk. Then drove me in themselves for free. saved me easily 25+ euro. Very thoughtful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First time in Ireland to trace family history, stayed at keernaun house, beautiful location near the seaside and town centre not far. Theresa and Neil so welcoming and friendly. Lovely breakfast and relaxed atmosphere. Couple run the coachmans tavern just down the Dublin road and you can go there to have breakfast at any time or have breakfast at the house. We hired a car and travelled to many places including Carlingford and castlebellingham, a beautiful part of the country. We went to Drogheda the people were so friendly and helpful in our search for relatives the locals went out of their way to help. We visited the millmount museum known as the cup and saucer the history was very interesting. went to the nearby pub the Malthouse also on Dublin road food fabulous with generous portions staff lovely worth a visit. We really enjoyed our visit a huge thank you to theresa and Neil for their wonderful hospitality, will definitely stay again and would recommend. The three sisters from England.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed in this guesthouse for three nights it was set in an ideal location. The owner Theresa was more than welcoming really made us feel at home. We received tea on arrival and Theresa sat chatting to us for awhile. There was 4 of us staying and our room was huge, much bigger than expected. They recently opened an adorable tearooms just a few seconds away from the house, we ended up having our lunch there every day, the cakes where amazing! We also got offered if we wanted breakfast in the tearooms or downstairs in their dining room, we picked the tearooms! would definitely recommend to anyone. The owners are so welcoming and friendly, the place was really comfortable and really great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaks, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here in mid September traveling with 3 other couples. We choose this b&b based on previous reviews . We were very disappointed with the accommodations. Our room was very small and cramped which posed a dilemma opening the suitcases. The bathroom shower was incredible loud. Quite surprised that we had to go down the road for breakfast. The owners appeared to be more concerned with their tea room down the road . The group consensus was we would not return on a future trip

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Friendly, warm welcome with coffee and biscuit...and "Lucky", the adorable dog. The owners are very helpful and nice people. Our room was a triple bedroom on the ground floor. It was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very spacious...but maybe needs a little renovation here and there. Gorgeous Breakfast is served at Croachman Tavern(10 mins walk or 2 mins by car) which is a lovely location....go figure it out! We enjoyed our stay very much.
Blackrock is a nice little town by the sea with a small city centre (15 mins walk from Keernaun Guesthouse).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a lovely warm welcome, tea/coffee and buns on arrival. Beds very comfy. Excellent location. Teresa is lovely and very helpful. Bedrooms were warm at all times. Great breakfast. Plenty of space for parking. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here with friends this week. The woman was lovely and we had a nice breakfast the next day. However as it was January and very cold we were absolutely freezing in our rooms there was only two sheets and a top cover no duvet or extra blankets and just one pillow each we had to put our coats on the bed for warmth. Also there were no toiletries in the bathroom, a very loud shower and the tv didn't work. It was a lovely B&B but because of this I think we would try the neighbouring B&B the next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.0 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keernaun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keernaun Guesthouse

Property: Keernaun Guesthouse
Address: Dublin Road | Blackrock, Dundalk BKL, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Keernaun Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded guesthouse of the year 2006. Member of the hotel and guesthouse federation of Ireland. You will find a warm and frendly welcome in our 3 star family run guesthouse. Close to dkit, fairways hotel and conference center, Dundalk ice bowl, Dundalk race track(horses and dogs)blackrock village only a 10 min walk where you will find pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Keernaun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing