We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fly tipping at carey's castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carey's Castle

Carey's Castle
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Clonmel
Attraction details
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fly tipping at carey's castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Although we enjoyed the meandering footpaths through faery glades of holly and bluebells (not yet in flower) as a visitor we were a bit shocked to see black binbags full of rubbish beneath trees edging the woodland paths. The castle gave an air of genteel dereliction, swathed in moss and ivy, even after reading the car parks information board on its actual age, visitors could be fooled into believing it was a genuine medieval pile, if not for the cans,remains of fires and broken glass every where. The fact that very young children need to be kept away from the edges is a matter for upbringing not Clonmel as i noticed one reviewer before me has written, with a little bit more care, maybe some enterprising youth group or simply a weekend or five with a group of willing volunteers to turn this idyll back around, all this said it is a lovely peaceful place, and can be cycled too! always a plus in our book.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“rubbish everywhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a lovely castle set beside a small stream- lovely walk to it however everytime i go there i see bear cans and chocolate wrappers

its gross

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very dirty and unsafe for children.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Could be a nice place if kept clean but never is .A lot of broken beer bottles all over the place especially in the stream.Unsafe because of this Nobody looks after it.Also if the guards payed a visit no and again it might stop the underage drinking going on there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice quiet tranquil area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a great place to bring kids, or for a quiet relaxing walk through forest paths.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlchemistStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice forrest setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Not a lot to see to be honest but has a very nice forest walk, and kids love the area, dont expect too much and you will enjoy yourself

Helpful?
1 Thank bandearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carey's Castle also viewed

Clonmel, County Tipperary
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Carey's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing