We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
461 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel has nice views of the hills one side and has a river running alongside it the otherside.
It caters for Weddings and Conferences. It does have a gym etc.

I found service to be a bit patchy and the staff in need of some training to improve standards.
If you have business in the area then fine for Leisure , I would limit your stay to 2-3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    97
    34
    16
    17
See reviews for
119
105
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed with ye last Saturday night 31/8/13 a flying visit to Clonmel. First time to stay in Hotel Minella and it was fab. Lovely spacious room spotless. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival.The breakfast was truly super top notch.Fresh flowers adorned the dining room As we were visiting friends that day did'nt return that night untill 12p.m. was a little disapointed to find the bar closed as it was Saturday night now we were offered a drink to take to our room. Also If it had been the friday night there was a wedding so this would not have happened. Still I will be back . The setting within walking distance of the town with the river suir flowing past the hotel.Lovely Leisure Center also for familys there are lovely apartments on the grounds. The trip was just way to short Susan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were visiting Ireland for a friend's wedding. Couldn't find anywhere to stay local to the wedding but found this hotel 30 minutes away. A luckily find as we had a great stay. We stayed for 3 nights. We were given the junior suite and were impressed by the standard of the room. They put us well anyway from the function rooms, which was good as there were a couple of weddings on the Saturday.

Breakfast was good and enjoyed having both black and white pudding with the full Irish breakfast. We ate in 2 nights and enjoyed the meals and atmosphere of the cosy dining rooms and lounge.

Leisure facilities were excellent, though a little crowded with children who seemed to take over the jacuzzi (though I think this was only a family whose parents were not aware of the dangers of a hot jacuzzi).

Locally there are a few attractions and Cahir castle was worth the visit. Great guided tour.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel suited myself and my family,they were. Very accommodating and friendly breakfast great would recommend again, only gripe swimming pool water too cold,setting was good,easy access to town centre by foot,free fruit a great idea,herbal teas in room would be welcome

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room overlooking the car park it's a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uppitywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thanks again to all at The Hotel Minella, We have just stayed for a week in the Apartments. House keeping every day make sure it always has a fresh just moved in feel. Leisure Centre was as good as ever. Ventured over to the Main Hotel and had a few pints of the Black Stuff. It has a great feel, sitting in the garden and watching the river flow past. We feel it has a tranquil feeling, allowing you to kick back and relax. Can't wait until next year, Thank you.

Room Tip: With a family stay in the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Again a fab few days at the hotel minella
even better than the first time and that takes a lot of doing
thanks to all the staff excellent service
we will be back
lovely walk into town so many things to do around clonmell too
and hotel facilities eg spa pool etc faultless
also lovely walks and good weather helped fab fab fab

Room Tip: if you have any special request email before departing it was our anniversary and they did us proud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walesquods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My elderly parents and I stayed at Hotel Minella for two nights recently. Top marks all round and a big thank you to all the staff who were instinctively attentive right from the minute we arrived until we left. Everyone was so accommodating and courteous.
The bar food was excellent and reasonable priced, as was the evening meal in the dining room. The rooms were spacious with a high standard of hygiene and had tea/coffee facilities etc. There were several lounges to relax in and enjoy the view and tranquility. The whole hotel has a gracious ambiance and a lovely atmosphere. Lots of small things that in themselves mean little but when you put them all together they made our stay so special. Many thanks again.
Didn't avail of the leisure centre this time. But all in all I highly recommend Hotel Minella.
Nora T

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing