We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Attitude here”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

room and food is lovely here ,however its unfortunate the owners attitude is so bad...when i checked out they told me that there was a complaint from the woman in the next room saying that there was noise coming from my room...at 4 o clock in the DAY!! i had a friend in my room for coffee as i brought my bags in for a wedding that evening...and then tried to charge me extra for having another person in my room!...apparently you cannot have conversations with coffee in a room that you have paid for here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmopol311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    97
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
116
105
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel minella for a conference last week. What a fantastic venue. Scenery with river babbling along so serene. Service and food A1 - Showcasing of all local producers offerings so there was a great, great taste and quality to all the food. Hotel so warm and cosy with mix of old world character and charm coupled with very contemporary styled rooms. Would love to spend a few days there chilling on holidays. Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittyirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Minella looks to be a country house around which a hotel was built and that in itself is an apt illustration of how it functions as a hotel. There's a homeliness, warmth, character and quirkiness about the place. There's a genuine sense of welcome as you're shown to your room and given complimentary tea/coffee on arrival. The service provided by mostly local staff is attentive without being obtrusive or seeming put on. There are sitting rooms that actually are sitting rooms where guests can relax and there are plenty of little touches that make you feel at home like no supplements on menus for those on dinner and overnight packages and a dessert trolley to die for! Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macseknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently stayed here on a business trip. My room was large and the hotel manages to mix modern and classic well. Restaurant food looked very good, but i just ate from the bar menu which was more than adequate. The hotel setting is pretty, sat back from the road and next to a river. Overall the stand out asset of the hotel is the service, which i found spot on, receptionists were extremely helpful and bar staff were chatty and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st johns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Beautiful grounds and tucked between the hills and River Suir make it a very quiet location, perfect for after dinner strolls. My room was modern with up to date bathroom and incredible views...very comfortable. Loved the classic bar and common rooms. Food and service was excellent for every meal. Front desk staff also great and very helpful. The 'smoking area' rarely had more than 2 people so was not an issue for me...didn't avail of the spa/fitness facilities, but they did look first class and well maintained. Not much in town (10 minutes walk) for night life, so relax and have your pint in the hotel bar.

Room Tip: good option for same day commutes to Kilkenny and Waterford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Ate there last night with a group of 30 , food was great as was the service. didn't stay at the hotel as it was already booked for a wedding party. Desert trolley was excellent , but I was full from the starter & main course

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent a night here with group of ten recently. Bedrooms were fine, clean, nice soft towels in the bathroom and nice view of the fields. On returning to the hotel after a meal in town there were about 15 people directly outside the front door smoking .. Not a good look for a hotel. The bar was extremely busy but no problem getting served. Breakfast was tasty but due to lack of staff we had to move dirty dishes to one side and locate some clean delph. After checking out we again had to pass through 10+ people smoking at the front ......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing