We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL BASE WITH LEISURE FACILITIES FOR LOCAL EXPLORATION”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We found this an excellent base for exploring the local hills and tourist sights, while the spa provided an alternative for wet weather as well as relaxation after a hard day on the hills. It is situated on the edge of Clonmel overlooking the river a short 5 minute drive from the town centre. We would use it again if we return to this area. Definitely deserves a 4 star rating and close to a 5 star.

The hotel is based around an old house with the majority of the bedrooms in a modern extension. The main area contains a bar, spread over two rooms, a restaurant and a breakfast room, a TV room and ballroom as well as some conference rooms. The bar had a varied menu, including light snacks, main courses and desserts. We had our main meal here the first night and the quality was fine and service rapid, in large part owing to the speed of movement of the friendly staff!

The restaurant served a set price menu which was excellent value albeit a limited though varied menu. The service was efficient and speedy and the staff very friendly. The breakfast room is separate and airy. The first morning we had a very nice bespoke breakfast cooked for us. Subsequently there was a breakfast servery, providing an average quality substantial breakfast.

The leisure facilities were excellent. It has a large swimming pool with sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and outside hot tub. Towels, swimming hat and pool shoes are provided. The swimming pool had one lane marked off for serious swimmers and it is of irregular shape with a couple of inlets and bridge so would amuse children for a morning. The large gym contained a wide range of modern equipment, with many such as treadmills and cross trainers in a good number. The aerobics room was being used for a spinning class which was well attended. Spa treatments are available, but were not used by us. The tennis court was being used with flood lighting. The Leisure Centre is also open to non-residents, but as it is physically separate from the main hotel although busy this did not impinge upon the peacefulness of the main hotel.

We were upgraded to a suite, which comprised two separate areas - a bedroom area and a sitting area. The bed was super King sized with views over the river and town with a medium sized TV, arm chairs, wardrobe and dressing table. There was a small outside balcony with a table and two chairs.

The sitting area contained a large TV, L shaped sofa, a desk and chair with overhead lamp light and (free) Ethernet internet connectivity - free wireless connectivity is also provided. There was fridge, tea making facilities and room safe and other furniture. Numerous power points are available, including a number for European two pin connectors. There is a small study area within the sitting area.

The very large bathroom has a large shower cabinet and a Jacuzzi bath. A plentiful supply of towels and toiletries were provided.

There were a few niggles. The lack of overhead ceiling lighting (except in the bathroom) was not entirely compensated by the many side lights and there was no bright light close enough to a mirror suitable for make-up application - though there was a number of mirrors with overhead light - nor a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Our towel rail did not work throughout our stay - various reasons given for it not working - but we were offered the use of their laundry to dry any wet clothing. The TV has a very limited range of channels.

We found this an excellent base for tourist activities. There are some well marked walking routes in the local mountains and forests and a variety of other tourist attractions such as the nearby Cahir Castle. The leisure centre would have kept us suitably amused had the weather been bad. Definitely recommended.

The staff were all friendly and helpful (standfast the towel rail!), the reception staff were efficient though the bar staff could have done with an extra person, though we think that they were short one person due to illness. All in all though a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped recently for bar food while passing through Clonmel. Directed to small quiet bar. Staff friendly and service prompt. Food ordered was fine. Nothing too exciting. Perhaps, bigger portions and some enthusiasm with regard to presentation would go a long way.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gastronomy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed there with 2 friends to celebrate a birthday, got a friendly welcome and the offer of a cup of tea to my room when i checked in. Rooms where clean and well maintained, however I found it very hot during the night and we couldnt open the window., must be my time of age, ;-). We went to the Leisure Centre and chilled in the outdoor Tub, all we needed was the glass of wine!. Deceided that we would have dinner that evening in the hotel, why go to the hastle of going into town, and we where delighted with the choice on the Menu, and the waitress was so friendly and helpful. They surprised my friend with a home made birthday cake and some champagne and wine, we were treated like queens for the night.
I have no problem in recommending this hotel and would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I am being generous and giving 4 stars. This hotel has plenty of charm and the rooms are a very nice size. The gym's pool is probably better than some high class resorts, but the gym workout equipment is old and rusted (to bring your hotel up a notch, I'd think about having more updated equipment). The breakfast is mediocre with limited fresh fruits.

All and all the hotel is the best in the area and at a reasonable rates, I'd recommend a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stay at the Minella Hotel 2 or 3 times each year. It is one of our favourite places to stay. One of the most important things about the Minella is that it is always excellent. It has a beautiful location, the rooms are lovely and the food is delicious. The staff are great as well!
Some times we stay for business some times not.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Minella many times as I come to Clonmel often for business. Their service has always been good as I often arrive early in the morning and they do what they can to get a room ready for me. Their workout area is fantastic. Breakfast is solid with lots of options in the basement. The bar is nice as long as they don't get a tour there at the same time you want to be. If so it is overcrowded and tough to get anything. The location is okay. It is nice to be on the river, but is quite the walk from town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Warm welcome and very comfortable room with excellent views. Hotel generally well maintained with good character and pleasant and helpful staff, always attentive, polite and positive. A good experience which we will repeat in due course

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with balcony front or rear (river and town to front - hillside to rear)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swelch5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
102 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: £132 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing