We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dump”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Dump”
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I felt I was staying in someones house, during my stay at this hotel.

The room was large, jaded and dirty.

Careful navigation is required when moving around the hotel as it is a maze.

Food - Don't go there unless you like big lumps of beef, floating in bisto gravy, served with warm white wine.

This hotel was probably fine in the 60's and 70's, but the world has moved on, its a pity the Minella won't just move away!!.

One night, one person cost me €144 - AVOID AT ALL COSTS UNLESS YOU ARE REALLY STUCK

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank fego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    102
    35
    16
    18
See reviews for
121
108
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

had the same experience as cork_girl. my boyfriend and i arrived and due to our age i suspect (20s) we were looked down upon. i struggled to understand their attitude as we had booked the most expensive room in the hotel! theres no such thing as vip service in minella!, they even tried to deny us breakfast! i was uncomfortable even walking past reception due to the unbelievable rudeness of all the staff.

we stayed in the superior suite which was incredible. there is a hot tub on the balcony, huge jacuzzi in bathroom,3
TVs and the bed is extremely big and comfortable. at 350euro it is expensive but worth it considering some hotels are 200euro just for a basic room.

facilities such as gym and leisure area are also good. the hotel is on lovely grounds and my stay would have been perfect had the staff had an ounce of manners or respect.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the staff, customer service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I have been to Minella twice now for weddings and would highly recommend it. The setting and surrounding area and views are beautiful. I thought the food was excellent, I loved our room and found the staff to be very helpful.

  • Liked — The room, the setting and the pool/gym
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clareod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

The room was fantastic, spacious, modern and clean, but the bathroom was below par for a four star hotel, a new bathroom with a fixed shower head over the bath, extremely disappointing.
If you stay in this hotel DO NOT eat in the restaurant. Unbelieveably lazy 70's style menu, and the most appalling desert I have ever tasted. I cannot believe that this four star hotel can get away with a restaurant like this, it is shockingly bad. The breakfast was surprisingly OK given the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ambatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I've stayed here several times. I travel on business extensively and more often than not tend to stay in faceless, corporate hotels so this makes a welcome change. I always like coming here, it feels like a big, rambling, slightly decaying old family home. Having said that, the rooms are large and comfortable, The beds are comfy with a choice of feather or foam pillows and a feather duvet. I'm fussy about my bed and I always get a good night's sleep here. The free broadband and flat screen tv's a worthy of much more expensive hotels and a nice touch. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board and hair-dryer

The bar and restaurant staff are very helpful and friendly. There are often large groups staying at the hotel, but if you wander into the bar alone the bar staff notice and always make sure you are discreetly served first.

Food is tasty and generous. I've eaten in the restaurant and taken room service. Both are good quality and made with fresh incredients. The pate is homemade and plentiful (can't tell you how many wafer thin plastic, prepacked slices I've endured in the hotel chains).

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. I agree with fellow travellers, the manager has got a 'way' about him. I haven't managed to suss this out yet, but maybe he's the John Cleese of hoteliers. Doesn't come across very well but basically well meaning??

  • Liked — Location, food, beds!
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-B_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Absolutely wonderful hotel. The staff were excellent and really made us welcome. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. We thought the hotel was very good value for the money and will be staying there whenever we are in Clonmel.

  • Liked — Comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Ingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Very nice hotel - had a corner room far from the reception with a balcony, which was great. Rooms are large and well laid out. Fast broadband in the rooms (wired, not wireless, but that's a very minor thing).

Hotel is on beautiful grounds, just outside the town itself. Maybe ten minutes walk or two minutes by car.

A few (very minor) problems:
- My room wasn't made up until after 3pm on the first day; I had to call reception to have it done; the rest of my corridor was the same
- Wireless broadband would be nice
- Bar food is expensive (although the restaurant/a la carte menu is good)
- TV is a good system, but they've only got FTA satellite (so Sky News/CNN, UK terrestrials and Irish terrestrials). The Irish channels have poor reception - clearly taken in by antenna, not satellite. Seriously, in a hotel that expensive, there should be full satellite TV!

Don't let those put you off though, they were the only problems experienced.

  • Liked — Large, quality rooms
  • Disliked — Wired, rather than WiFi internet (that's about it!)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
60 reviews
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing