We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed at the Minella, for our Summer Break. It was a very relaxing stay. We had use of the Fantastic Leisure Facilities, Staying in the well kept and very good spec Apartments, the House Keeping was in Daily. Grounds ideal to sit and relax in, Having teenagers they were more than happy with facilities. All Staff very very helpful. Having both room service and Bar Food, We found food ideal priced and a very fast service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

If you want a reason to visit clonmel, other than to gaze in wonder at the cider VATS of the Bulmers cider company then you should put this hotel at the top of your list. It is wonderful, clean spacious rooms, we had a junior Suite with private jacuzzi, wonderful view of the river Suir topped by a private balcony to enjoy it all from. During our stay there were 2 weddings, neither of which we attended, which apart from a little overcrowding in the bar when the meal finished till the band started you didn't know they were taking place.

The Staff were excellent and ensured that our stay was pleasent and welcome. At dinner I suffer from an allergy, the Chef came out to explain exactly what was in each dish, pointed those which i had to avoid and, as no dessert on the menu was suitable, made a special dessert for me which wasn't fruit salad.

The leisure centre is excellent and recommend the Outdoor Canadian Hottub which even in a downpour was still the best place to be outside.

It's a pity clonmel has so little going for it and obviously lives in the shadow of its near neighbour CASHEL.

But if you want want to get away from it all, not to be disturbed and at an affordable price then i have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GalwayTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Really liked this hotel because of the room! Stayed in a suite (with an outdoor hot tub) which had beautiful views over the garden and River Suir. Restaurant was fine and staff were faultless. Only downside was where treatments rooms. They are within 'Club Minella' and as I was having a treatment I could hear alot of noise from other people using the pool facilities etc which was a little frustrating which trying to relax & enjoy the massage - but over all really enjoyed the stay! Would recommend but only if you plan on staying in the suite.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I stayed in Hotel Minella with my mum and sister a few weeks ago.

Things we liked:
- We got a very reasonable deal through an online booking website but when we contacted the hotel to ask if we could have a triple instead of a twin room they were more than accommodating and charged us only a very reasonable surcharge instead of trying to stick it to us.

- Friendly staff

- Gorgeous leisure centre with nice swimming pool, steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub overlooking the river

- Lovely breakfast on offer, both continental and traditional Irish

- Very quiet grounds, but only a couple of minutes drive from Clonmel centre

Things we found a bit strange!

- When we arrived they asked us whether we would like tea or coffee, which was complimentary and they would bring to our room. This never arrived

- The bar and lounge are separate so when we went for a drink there was hardly anyone in the bar, they were all watching TV in lounge. There was a charity fashion show on in the function room that night though, which we the staff encouraged us to go in to have a look at! When it finished everyone who'd been at it trooped into the small bar where there was only one barman.

Suffice to say, the set up is a little bit Fawlty Towers but everyone is so friendly, the hotel is clean, quiet, picturesque and reasonably priced and the leisure centre is fab. Def recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maevedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We have just returned from hotel Minella and we had the most fabulous time at a wedding, certainly experienced Irish hospitality at its best. The hotel staff are lovely and eager to please.............nothing was too much trouble – even when we asked where we could get goats milk for our son I was told that it was not a problem and it was arranged straight away. The food was fantastic and lots of it.
We stayed in one of apartments in the wonderful grounds. It was really clean and spacious with loads of room for our son to play. Fantastic king size bed with excellent linen, it was so comfortable we had difficulty getting out of it, luckily had our son to get us up to make his breakfast!
The leisure centre is really good and we spent quite a bit of time there. We will certainly be back and hopefully next time we will be able to explore more of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonzotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Enjoyed a New Year break and stayed in the fabulous suite with the use of a hot tub on the balcony with loveley views of the garden and a river running alongside-heaven!! Large comfortable bedroom with even a flat screen TV in the bathroom. Thanks to the warm hospitality from friendly staff,good food and accommodation we really enjoyed our break with the added bonus of the leisure facilities on site to burn off the extra calories. We would be happy to return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshcymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

This was our second visit to Hotel Minella for a New Year family break. After a long day we were met with a warm welcome by the friendly staff.
Our ground floor adjoining family rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. We found the food to be excellent and enjoyed by all. The staff were courteous and willing to go out of their way to be helpful.
We shall certainly be returning to Hotel Minella again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
114 reviews
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: £136 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing