We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like fellow traveller never ever again”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Attended family wedding; rude hosts, shouldn't be let near a reception area. Key thrown at us and while getting ready for wedding the cleaners walked in!!
Met the owner after arriving back from church, said 'Hello' and he grunted back!!
The only saving grace was the food was excellent though the host cutting the beef in the wedding room with the sweat rolling down him was a shade off putting!!
Younger staff were nice but body language tells a lot - they were unhappy.
Didn't get to check out leisure facilities; it was time to get out of Dodge City as quickly as possible. 1 star at most.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coralseeker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

This has a lot going for it. Great setting. Some old world clarm. Big gym. Attentive staff. Clean room. However there is something missing. For example the rowing machines in the gym were all knackered. The carpet beneath them was soaked with water, the morning I was there. The reception area was untidy, and unprofessional looking.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Nice looking hotel but the owners are amoung the worst people I have ever met. Rude with a capital R. staff obviously overworked and not at all happy looking. i talked with some of the staff there and they reluctantly filled me in about the owners, basically slave drivers.
My advise - stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank spratjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I stayed here for a wedding last weekend-
It definately did not live up to my expectations-
The reception was rude and cold, however the room was comfortable and even had little bottles of shampoo and body lotions (which are hard to come by it seems these days)
However the bar staff and waiters/waitresses made up for the reception.
The food was excellent, and despite the breakfast order getting mixed up the apology was very nice.
Something that I found really disgusting was that during the afters of the wedding in one restroom, 3 of the 4 toilets were closed off and the floor was wet, slippy and dirty.
The owners are lucky to have staff that make up for their indifference.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
4  Thank kerrydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Room: Beds were comfortable, although the pillows were either completely flat or so fluffy they were impossible to use. Design was very modern, and we had a lovely view of the river. Room was generally quiet, although at night we could hear our neighbor having a conversation and using the bathroom (!). There was no clock in the room, which seemed strange.

Bathroom: They were quite stingy with towels---we had to ask for more than one set each. Some towels were a bit thin/worn. The bathroom could have been cleaner---there were more hairs than there should have been on the floor that weren't ours. The bathtub was so narrow that it was hard to avoid having the curtain touch you (yuck). Water pressure was what you expect in Ireland (light) but what made it worse was that the shower head was immovable and it didn't extend very far. So you had to lean close to the wall to get under it and therefore you ended up closing the drain (because you had to stand over the drain, making the stopper lie flat, so the tub filled with water).

Food: Breakfast was quite good, although the tables didn't seem to be thoroughly cleaned between guests (there were crumbs over many of them, although they were reset with clean plates/cutlery). The pub food was good at night with a nice fire to sit by.

Fitness: A brand new facility that is separate from the hotel. Had an indoor pool, free weights, machines, aerobics studio, treadmills, bikes, and elliptical machines. If you are a runner, use the treadmill as you will take your life in your hands in the surrounding area due to the lack of sidewalks.

Staff: We were offered coffee/tea on arrival and it came up soon to our room (I know another reviewer said that their's never arrived). We noticed a trend that most staff at hotels in Ireland are from Eastern Europe. They are not the friendliest folks and can seem quite severe---not sure if it's just the language barrier as they are rarely fluent. When we checked out at 7 AM there was no one at the desk. We had to go in search of someone downstairs in the restaurant.

Setting: Gorgeous by the river in an old country mansion with modern additions.

Not sure if there is much better nearby; next time I'll look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrusswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed at the Minella, for our Summer Break. It was a very relaxing stay. We had use of the Fantastic Leisure Facilities, Staying in the well kept and very good spec Apartments, the House Keeping was in Daily. Grounds ideal to sit and relax in, Having teenagers they were more than happy with facilities. All Staff very very helpful. Having both room service and Bar Food, We found food ideal priced and a very fast service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

If you want a reason to visit clonmel, other than to gaze in wonder at the cider VATS of the Bulmers cider company then you should put this hotel at the top of your list. It is wonderful, clean spacious rooms, we had a junior Suite with private jacuzzi, wonderful view of the river Suir topped by a private balcony to enjoy it all from. During our stay there were 2 weddings, neither of which we attended, which apart from a little overcrowding in the bar when the meal finished till the band started you didn't know they were taking place.

The Staff were excellent and ensured that our stay was pleasent and welcome. At dinner I suffer from an allergy, the Chef came out to explain exactly what was in each dish, pointed those which i had to avoid and, as no dessert on the menu was suitable, made a special dessert for me which wasn't fruit salad.

The leisure centre is excellent and recommend the Outdoor Canadian Hottub which even in a downpour was still the best place to be outside.

It's a pity clonmel has so little going for it and obviously lives in the shadow of its near neighbour CASHEL.

But if you want want to get away from it all, not to be disturbed and at an affordable price then i have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GalwayTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
115 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
405 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: £136 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing