We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after in this hotel”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Well looked after in this hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Myself & my family stayed in the Hotel Minalla last week. The facilities in this hotel are very good, especially the Leisure centre & health club. The food was excellant and we found the staff helpful and friendly. We had stayed tere for a wedding about a year ago and we were so impressed with the hotel & surroundings that we decided to return agin. We were not disappointed and hope to be back again next year

  • Liked — Comfort & health club
  • Disliked — inland
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank northsiderdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    103
    35
    16
    17
See reviews for
122
107
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

I stayed here before and swore I'd never go back as the manager and staff were probably the rudest I have ever encountered. Imagine my dismay when booked on a work seminar, I found out we had to stay here, 5 of us in total and 5 of us all agree its the worst hotel in all of ireland due to the rudeness of the staff.

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in some flea pits, but the flea pits at least at friendly people. This is a terrible place, only due to the atmosphere, staff mainly the manager!

I hope no-one else has to stay here and have their trips to Clonmel ruined and I hope foreigners don't think that this is typical of irish hospitality!

  • Liked — the end of my stay when I could leave
  • Disliked — Rude Manager and staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank sydney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2007

On a recent trip to Ireland my wife and I stayed at the hotel Minella and could not believe our luck. We were touring in the area and stopped for lunch. We were so impressed by the setting as the Hotel is located on the bank of a river with beautiful gardens and the warmth of the welcome that we decided to stay. Our room was amazing. The pool was a real treat and we lounged in the hot tub over looking the river. After a relaxing day we enjoyed a great dinner by the fire place. The staff and management could not have been more welcoming. We are looking forward to returning and spending more time at the "Minella" on our next trip.

  • Liked — Warm welcome and facilities
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank New-York-Big-Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2006

We booked the Hotel MInella for two reasons: to see Clonmel again after an absence of many years and to celebrate my 50th birthday in luxury. From the website I thought I would get luxury.....what we got was indifferent management (almost as if they resented having us as guests), indifferent reception, waiting and bar staff, a really, really naff bedroom with a jacuzzi bath (ye Gods!) and a sideways view of the river Suir.
Breakfast was served in a dungeon-like room in the basement with kids jumping around between tables and up and down the stairs, howling whenever they fell (which they did often). I love kids, but found the lack of intervention by parents and restaurant staff deplorable --it certainly diminished our enjoyment of breakfast.
Dinner was included in our weekend offer, so we trundled down to the same room that evening....talk about a blast from the past! Marie-Rose sauce??? I thought they had banned that, together with gloopy gravy. And here were the same awful kids, still squealing. We later learnt that they were the fall-out from a wedding that had taken place at the hotel and were probably exhausted and overwraught from too much excitement (not to mention the parents who were completely ignoring them.)

It is my opinion that the Hotel management should make up its greedy mind as to what makes the most money: affluent and knowledgeable guests who have come to relax or wedding parties and then specialise in one or the other --the two simply don't mix. There was a dispute over the final bill which involved my very tolerant and logical husband getting annoyed over the unnecessary intrangicence of the woman on reception. We WON'T be back.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — on your head be it!
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank piratequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

Stayed in hotel apartments in the grounds of Minella. Everything seemed ok to begin with then my 9 year old daughters bedroom sprung a leak directly over her bed. The manager John created a fuss when we asked to be moved. When we were moved to another apartment there was no apology or gesture of good will for the inconvenience of having to pack up. Then to our shock he let the room out again to somebody else, even though the ceiling was caving in. Will never stay here again. John the manager is very rude, is not worried about keeping the clientelle happy as long as he gets your money.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank memphis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

I was going to book my wedding in the Minella because is so near my home town and called in to John to get information. He was about as interested as the dog in the porch, basically threw leaflets at me and told me all the info was enclosed. I was taken aback by his rude manner as i expected that he would sit down with me.
I left, raising an eyebrow to what I had just experienced, booked my wedding in Lyrath Estate Hotel, Kilkenny - now that is a real five star hotel with excellent food,service, location,spa,...everything perfect!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — attitude of management was very poor
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank vecwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

We stayed at Hotel Minella for a weekend. The hotel is in a lovely location a little outside the town. Our room was spacious, perfectly clean and overlooked the river Suir (the rooms on the other side have views of the Comeragh mountains but also overlook the carpark). The beds were very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was also large and clean and the shower had good pressure.
The hotel is very nicely furnished (complementing the period character) and there are a few separate rooms for having coffee or a drink and reading the newspaper (supplied free of charge by the hotel).
Dinner proved to be a very nice affair. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. Breakfast is self-service but the waiting staff are happy to get you anything you might have forgotten to get yourselves.
The staff at reception, in the dining-room, in the bar and at breakfast were at all times courteous, friendly and efficient, even though the hotel was very busy with Christmas parties on both nights.
There is also a leisure centre with swimming-pool which, unfortunately, we did not have time to visit.
All in all, the special weekend rate (2 nights bed and breakfast plus one dinner) represented excellent value in a nice hotel in a lovely part of the country. We had a perfectly pleasant and relaxing stay and would like to go back again.

  • Liked — The slightly Victorian atmosphere, the large bedroom and the hotel dog "Sparky"
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Clauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
60 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing