We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courtesy, Professionalism and Friendliness at the Highest Level” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bernardsville
2 reviews
“Courtesy, Professionalism and Friendliness at the Highest Level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Great facility on a beautiful river in south central Ireland has a staff that is outstanding in every category. This hotel really went the extra mile for us as we had unexpectedly left something of value, which they ensured was returned to us, safe and sound after a great expenditure of time and effort on their part. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend (and will) recommend this hotel at every opportunity. It is a wonderful, very clean and friendly place. The staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    97
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
116
105
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We held a charity ball in Hotel Minella for over 500 people. The management and staff could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellant and the service very proficient. The room layout and table detail were exactly what we wanted. We had the pre-dinner reception on the beautiful back lawn of the hotel, which has a very scenic view.

The bedrooms were clean and spacious. The hotel is very beautiful.

I would recommend Hotel Minella to anyone travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed in Minella for second time. Service was excellent - very accommodating owners. Food was very good and location excellent for a quiet time away from it all. Very good leisure centre and lovely walks around the grounds. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed here while visiting family for 3 nights. Got a great deal on family room with B&B - Sunday-Thursday only which compared well with guesthouse rates. I thought the food was very reasonable, beautifully presented, and fast to arrive. Breakfast was efficiently served - with fresh local ingredients, and the tea was first rate.The atmosphere in the public rooms was very relaxed and civilised. I enjoy the genuine country-house feel - very rarely found nowadays. The bed room was spotless and modern, and the beds comfortable. Minor niggles were that there were not enough bathroom hooks for towels and it was therefore difficult to separate clean ones from dirty, and not enough hangers for four. I left towels in the leisure centre after swimming -in the baskets provided - I hope they don't think I nicked them. One bathrobe mysteriously appeared on the last day. Pool staff were accommodating and the great pool was practically empty most of the time - but the teenagers were unhappy with the long list of rules at the pool - though I appreciated them. I suspect the hotel is noisier at weekends in the wedding season, but I would think twice about staying in any hotel that did lots of weddings, over the weekends . Monday-Thursday this is obviously not a problem. I thought service was polite and personable - predominantly local staff, with a few others who spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PelerinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed in Hotel Minella for two nights. Staff were generally friendly and more than happy to help. Our room was modern and clean with a very comfortable bed. We were given complementary tea and coffee/ wine and fruit on arrival. We had dinner one of the nites in the restaurant. The food was nice, the restaurant was quiet so we got individual attention. We spent an hour or two in the leisure centre which is in a separate building. It had the usual facilties but also an outdoor hottub which is a nice touch. Overall a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Attended family wedding; rude hosts, shouldn't be let near a reception area. Key thrown at us and while getting ready for wedding the cleaners walked in!!
Met the owner after arriving back from church, said 'Hello' and he grunted back!!
The only saving grace was the food was excellent though the host cutting the beef in the wedding room with the sweat rolling down him was a shade off putting!!
Younger staff were nice but body language tells a lot - they were unhappy.
Didn't get to check out leisure facilities; it was time to get out of Dodge City as quickly as possible. 1 star at most.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank coralseeker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

This has a lot going for it. Great setting. Some old world clarm. Big gym. Attentive staff. Clean room. However there is something missing. For example the rowing machines in the gym were all knackered. The carpet beneath them was soaked with water, the morning I was there. The reception area was untidy, and unprofessional looking.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.2 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.8 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing