We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mothers Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Stonehouse Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mothers Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

There were six of us and we all opted for the beef for our main course,and we were not sorry,this was some of the best beef we have ever had,we all really enjoyed it.It was helpful to be asked how we wanted it cooking too.The food for every course was outstanding and the restaurant although busy had a great atmosphere.I read the reviews before booking and certainly have no regrets in choosing The Stonehouse.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Delicious food and great service. The early bird is good value. I have eaten the Pork tasting plate on several occasions. I keep meaning to have something different but it's so tasty I keep being drawn back to it. The home made potato croquettes that they serve are to die for. The portion sizes look small but I have a large appetite and have never left hungry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix_Clonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahir
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had sunday lunch in this restaurant with my wife on recommendation of friends ,and have to say I am under the impression we caught them on a bad day.We had a 3 course meal of which the starter was a big disappointment .Soup was not warm and was similar to the liquid in cans of peas .The main course was very good but again a bit cold .The dessert was excellent and offset the starter
All up ,I would think this is an excellent restaurant having a bad day .I was going to give it 3 stars but decided on 4 ,but I think it really is a 5 star spot

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank utmpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahir, Ireland
1 review
“excelent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

i was here one time whit my friends and i just love the food very much , the portion was a bit small but the presentation of the food and the quality worth it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a really lovely meal here recently with my Husband lovely place to go with family, friends or business. Décor is really nice and there is a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I had the wild mushrooms with goats cheese for starters, Pork tasting plate for main and cheese plate for dessert - I would highly recommend any of them. Wine list was also very good - nice selection.

Staff were lovely and friendly.

Lovely spot for a nice meal in Clonmel and would recommend to anybody.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GREENWHITEGOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehouse Restaurant also viewed

Clonmel, County Tipperary
 
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 
Clonmel, County Tipperary
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing