We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise pollution an pay up front”
Review of Fennessy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fennessy's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noise pollution an pay up front”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Worst experience of any Irish accommodation. Loud disco music booming up through 3 floors till midnight for 2 consecutive nights. Public use the bar from 10 am. Onwards! Refused to give room keys on a our booking unless we paid in full ..we arrived 11pm on a night with no disco! Didn't clean rooms every day. Manager could not be found for complaint. NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. WANT MY MONEY BACK!

Room Tip: Book other accommodation in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFennessy, Owner at Fennessy's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Anne-Marie C

Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback. This is very important to us as it allows us to gauge customer satisfaction and take action if required. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.
I am assuming that you stayed over the August Bank Holiday weekend as you mentioned there was music in the bar on consecutive nights. On this weekend we had a 60th birthday party for a regular customer on the Saturday night. Many of the party crowd were also in attendance on the Sunday night. As there was a high percentage of elderly people in attendance on both nights I have been told that music was age appropriate and not excessively loud. Also trading hours in the bar on both nights is until 12:30 so I don't consider music until midnight as being unreasonable.
As regards your complaint about rooms not cleaned, all rooms are serviced daily unless requested otherwise by the occupants. In this case, fresh towels, toiletries etc would be left in the rooms.
Finally to address your last point about the manager not being present. In Clonmel on each August Bank Holiday Monday there is an old tradition of walking up the mountain to attend Mass at the Holy Year Cross. My wife and I have been attending this annual Mass since we were children and , health permitting hope to keep up the tradition for years to come.

Yours truly,
Richard Fennessy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
11
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fennessy's Hotel for the third year running in 2012. It goes without saying that we would NOT have returned had we not enjoyed our stay. The hotel is excellent, the rooms are spotlessly clean and provide tea/coffee making facilities, sky t.v. hairdryer etc. Daily room/bathroom tidying etc. make it a pleasure to return at the end of each day, and 'mine hosts' Esther and Richard, and all their staff, are just the most delightful people, who cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasure. The friendly locals and the evening entertainments are the icing on the cake. We have already reserved our rooms for next year! Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a better view, facing the beautiful church over the road. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

me and my partner stayed in this hotel for a few days, i would not let a dog sleep in this hotel!!! the kettle in the room was like it had not been cleaned for months dust on top you would be frightened to touch it. The rooms were like a box, shower hot and cold all the time very tempermental. Breakfast was buffet and was not fresh, eggs like rubber.
Noise level was crazy at night doors banging all night and all morning.
so to finish off my review i recommend never to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pollykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clonmel hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location right in the centre of clonmel rooms very clean and super breakfast.. very helpful staff and great entertainment in the bar.. 10 out of 10... john and louise canada..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights on a trip to Clonmel for a wedding. The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Clonmel. The room was spotless and the rate for B&B was outstanding value. Also we found the staff to be very helpful. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I stayed here on new years eve, and would not reccommend anyone ever to stay here. having been told the hotel was 70e over the phone, upon arrival i was told it was 80e, protesting was a waste of time. staff were abrupt. the room was tiny, the shower didn't work, the remote for the telly wouldn't work either. didn't get a minutes sleep with the banging of doors. The decor was ols fashioned and the bathroom was not overly clean. would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bexxxxyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed for 2 nights for European Hot Rod Championship. Staff were brilliant and very patient! General decor and rooms could do with a facelift. However, had a great time. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
1.5 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.2 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
109 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fennessy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fennessy's Hotel

Property: Fennessy's Hotel
Address: 32 Gladstone Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fennessy's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fennessy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fennessys Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing