We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Recently had a family occasion and stayed in a luxury hotel the night before and I have to say the staff at reception, at the bar and pool were amazing and on par with the luxury hotel. However the breakfast staff were terrible and came across as they couldn't care less. Poor cleaning up, seating arrangement, serving and observation and attention. The girl seating guests was reading the paper, there was no plates rolls or milk. The restaurant is very large yet we're seated on top of each other. You could hear the conversation two tables over, we were that close. The room and bathroom were modern and clean, you couldn't hear a sound from the hall which I loved.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james190754, General Manager at Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Amb Galway,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Clonmel Park Hotel. Your feedback on breakfast is very much appreciated and has been discussed to insure such incidents do not happen again. Also your kind words regarding the bar and reception team have also been passed onto the relevant people. I do hope you will return and allow us the opportunity to show you that this incident was an isolated one. If you would like to discuss these issues in further detail please contact me at the hotel at anytime.

Kind Regards
Michael Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

myself and my sister just stayed here for one night break away! the hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly! esp a lovely girl called michelle who after asking her for a quiet room upgraded us to a suite, beautiful room, we didnt want to leave! so comfortable and relaxing! the pool was lovely, water so warm! just the way it should be! thankyou michelle! you do your job well, we will be back again

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james190754, General Manager at Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Karen B,

I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Clonmel Park Hotel. Your kind comments regarding Michelle and the staff has been passed on to all concerned. We try our best to insure all our facilities along with our staff contribute to all our guests having a very enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Michael Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed here before, and complained but was assured that the next time I stay going will be perfect. They certainly tried but there is just simply something wrong with this place!

There is no atmosphere to speak of. It's dry, dull and boring to be honest? The staff on the face of it appear helpful but you can tell they don't want to be there. That aside, I cannot criticise the lady that checked me in. Efficient and friendly.

The restaurant is nearly always empty. There is also a funny smell in there, like grease in a school canteen kitchen. I certainly wouldn't eat in there.

I decided to eat in the bar. The food was bland and boring. My starter was cold inside, almost like they hadn't warmed it up in the microwave for long enough. My main was like the hotel. Dull. Left almost all of it. No one asked why, guess they didn't care? Transaction complete....on to the next customer.

My room although upgraded was terrible. Unbearably hot, sofa's with collapsed arms, a micro tv in the lounge, wallpaper that is peeling and marked, tv channels that won't tune in and a carpet with stains. I know I shouldn't complain as they did kindly upgrade me, but it's no excuse for shabbiness.

It's a real shame and I've said it before with regards to this hotel. If they can find a way to get some personality into the building, train their staff to be effortlessly nice it would be a very good hotel. The other issues can be resolved in time. As for another visit, I don't think so. It's third time unlucky I'm afraid. Even if they do offer an upgrade.....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james190754, General Manager at Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mr Sturat D,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stays with us here at the Clonmel Park Hotel. I was alarmed at the attached review and some of its content and have discussed in detail all the issues raised with the team here at the Hotel. Our staff are a huge asset to us and are an area that we get a lot of positive feedback from, however your comments have been noted and addressed as we clearly fell below this standard on this occasion. I thank you also for your correspondence by email since your feedback was related back to us through this review, and i do hope you will return once more as i can assure you the incidents mentioned are not standard practice and i would be personally delighted to meet with you, to insure you that your feedback has been addressed.

Once again thank your for your feedback and taking the time to reply to my correspondence on this matter. It is very much appreciated.


Kind Regards
Michael Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I organised a renunion & used the Clonmel Park Hotel & would definitely recommend it!

Smaller room with a bar, perfect set-up for our numbers! Food lovely, staff courteous & helpful! Got my make-up done in the 'Eco-Spa' - ask for Simone, she's brilliant!

Breakfast the next morning was plentiful & there no panic that we came down quite late, we were left alone to graze!

We'll be back :)

Room Tip: I had the suite as a special treat, fab room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james190754, General Manager at Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Joanie P,

Thank you for your feedback, it very much appreciated. I am delighted to see you had a chance to use the many different facilities that the hotel has to offer. Simone the Eco Spa manager was delighted with your feedback and passes on there thanks. We were delighted to host your reunion and your positive feedback regarding the food, service and staff is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back the the Clonmel Park Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Looked impressive but after that went down hill fast . The reception staff are helpful but the room had a view of a roof ??? Went to the leisure centre where the water was cold and not that impressive . As for the evening meal ?? Absolutely terrible ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Clonmel Park Hotel for the June Bank Holiday weekend with our 2 daughters age 10 and 6 in a family room. There is a large car park and open reception/lobby. The area was preparing for the arrival of a wedding so the atmosphere was buzzing. We arrived early but were able to check in without any hassle, the reception staff are very friendly. On first impressions the room (217) was lovely, clean, well laid out with a huge window. The bathroom was nice and clean and soap and shampoo were available. There are tea and coffee making facilities, and a hairdryer in the room. TV and telephone and wifi in the rooms which is great (and all through the hotel). Large wardrobe and full length mirror. However, the room was stifling hot, we could not open the window at night time as there was a noise from the road and we were worried that our daughter would be sleeping in a draught. My wife could not sleep because of the heat. The curtains were grand and thick and kept out the light of early morning.

The kids club is fantastic, both our girls went and really enjoyed their time there decorating cupcakes, fridge magnets and other arts and crafts and movie nights. The kids club staff are brilliant.

The pool/gym are a fine size and there's a jacuzzi/steam room/sauna, lockers are €2 and the showers/changing rooms are spacious and clean.

The bar serves food along with the restaurant. We got the meal included in our booking but were able to avail of bar food rather than the restaurant food which was great. The food is fabulous with a great choice and very reasonably priced even if you do not have an inclusive package. The issue we had with the bar was the dictatorial bouncer who told us children had to be out of the bar by 9pm. His attitude was just unbelievable, there was no talking to him. He made no alternative suggestions like the lobby for example. Our children were sitting quietly in the corner playing on their DS's not making a noise when he rudely interrupted our evening to announce that they had to leave. Both children upset, we arranged for them to watch a movie in our room, we were lucky that our daughters are that bit older and were able to stay in the room alone but if they were any younger we would have been sorely disappointed that one or both of us would have had to end our night early to sit with them. While away we enjoy listening to some live music, if we are to stay in our room watching TV we may as well stay at home. We totally understand if children are running around making noise and getting in people's way, but our children were very quiet in a corner minding their own business and felt they were being told off by the rude bouncer. There were no signs up around the bar saying that children had to leave by 9pm and in fact we had read reviews online that indicated children were allowed in the bar for the Easter weekend. This really put a dampener on our weekend.

Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, with hot and cold food available. Large jugs of coffee which pleased my caffeine addiction.

Location is good, not far off the motorway and there is a retail park next door with a World of Wonder, SuperValu, Sam McCauley’s Chemist, Woodies and KFC. Clonmel town is approximately 30 minutes walk.

We visited Parson's Green Pet Farm and the Rock of Cashel over the weekend which were fantastic, the kids really enjoyed the Pet Farm.

Room Tip: Room 217 facing to the front of the hotel overlooking the carpark was soo hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cluelessjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The room was nice, if a little small.
It was however horrendously warm in the room. I couldn't bear the heat and opening the window didn't help much as there was a generator below.
The staff seemed very nice and helpful.
Overall I would say the hotel was ok for a stop gap but I wouldn't stay again unless they installed air conditioning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CallaRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
422 reviews
22.4 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
398 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
106 reviews
12.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa

Address: Cahir Road Roundabout, Clonmel E91 X0N7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: £70 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel with a modern stylish feel. 99 bedrooms all with flat screen TV and duvets. Leisure centre with sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, indoor pool, gymnasium. Popular restaurant locally and lively bar with entertainment. Full spa now open. Free car parking. Excellent conference and banqueting facilities for up to 350. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmel Park Conference And Leisure Hotel
Clonmel Park Conference Leisure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing