We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were somewhat taken aback ,when checking in,we were issued with ear plugs.This was because of a rave type disco and a heavy metal type group playing that night (both at the same time)The disco was at the rear of the hotel and the live group played below our room.This unbearable noise (even with ear plugs in)kept us awake until 3 in the morning.The rooms were basic.Using the tea/coffee making facility was disturbing as the uht milk was sour??.On running the hot water for a wash and shave in the morning it was found to have a brown tinge.A shave was all that was possible as washing/showering and brushing of teeth in such tainted water was off putting.The carpets throughout could have done with a steam clean and freshening.Floor tiles in the shower area were cracked.The toilet cystern was constantly running and when examined the ball cock was floating loose as the masking tape that held it in place had failed.The bed was of resonable comfort although somewhat creaky and noisey when turning over.As the evening approched the main entrance to the car park was closed as was any accsess to the car park (which was a concern should you need to leave the property in a case of emergency).The following morning the main exit point metal doors from the car park were jammed and delayed our departure by 30 minutes.tables were brought out for the evenings "festivities".The breakfast was good and filling for the onward journey to Dublin.Although the staff were very friendley and helpfull ,this did not compensate for a very short sleep from 3 am rising at 6-30.This hotel may be ok for young people but not for those over 30 yoa or families.

Room Tip: look elsewhere in clonmel or surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    15
    16
    27
See reviews for
9
31
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bantry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. Found it hard to beat, 60.00 for B&B. It is an old building but the room was very clean and the bed was particularly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was beautiful. There was a night club in the hotel the night we stayed but this did not affect us at all. The only thing worth mentioning is that we were on the second floor with no lift service, but not to much of a climb. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here on a business trip, overnight. It's an old- fashioned building that probably needs a lot of refurbishment but, never the less, is suited to purpose, bearing in mind the cost. ( €40 for accommodation only) There was a blues / comedy festival on when I happened to be there but the room was quite and well protected from whatever revelries were on. The staff were very friendly and remembered my name whenever we passed, which is a nice touch and something you would not find in larger, more luxurious hotels. It's a basic facility and you get what you pay for. It's in the centre of Clonmel, with adequate free parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here for one Saturday night and it was absolutely perfect. Great location in the middle of town, everything within a few minutes walk and a free car park too. Very welcoming when I checked in, the room was lovely and spacious, the bathroom was clean and the shower was hot, no complaints there. The bed was one of the best Ive come across and I had a great nights sleep. I would absolutely recommend it for the next time you stay in Clonmel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My first impression of the hotel was that it was quite old, and later discovered its place in Clonmel history. It was a clean and basic though a few things could be done to restore it to its obvious former glory. There was a permenant smell of smoke as you go up to the rooms and in the room itself which was a little off putting but with the windows open it was ok. The room was large and overlooking Parnell st, yet it was still quiet for a front facing room on a busy street.

The staff were brilliant. Annie who checked us in was incredibly welcoming and even recommened Emperor, the chinese restaurant across the street for dinner which we enjoyed immensely. Breakfast was typical Irish breakfast but was lovely and we were severed very effiently. The staff could not do enough for you and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markie35116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Arrived at Clonmel's bus/train station - comfortable 10 mins walk to hotel - Hearn's is an old established hotel right in the centre of town - perfect location. The room was fine - the staff were friendly - the breakfast was filling. If I return next year to Clonmel then Hearn's would be my 1st choice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmahagow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Hearns Hotel was superb. Very friendly, a good bar, and coffee was tasty indeed.

The menagerie knew our names before we told her! She took a real interest in what we were doing, and knew each day what to ask us as regards where we'd been etc. We felt very special indeed, but that is how everyone is treated. It is a really welcoming place.

My only gripe is that the breakfast was overcooked, and the sausages did not seem to be local, fresh produce; rather closer to Asda bargain brand.

All that said - it was a small fault. I suppose it would have been bigger, had the rest if the stay not been superlative, but given everything else, breakfast pales in comparison. It also might have been one off-day, but I didn't chance a repeat, and so went our for breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyAggeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
73.4 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing