We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weary and tired”
Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Reviewed 4 November 2012

a night at hearns is not for the faint hearted.the downstairs smelt of smoke and the bar was smelly so we went elsewhere to drink.the room was clean but cold and thebathroom step was broken.nobody seemed to care.no lift and steep stairs.restaurant was closed so no breakfast.we paid 60 euro for a double.rip off.should pay people to stay.nitemere

Room Tip: avoid hearns but clonmel worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Myself and my family were staying for one night. When we arrived we saw that they were working away in the lounge area re-doing the room, so the whole bottom smelled of strong varnish. We got our key and went up to the room, the only way I saw to get up to the rooms where staires, so if you were to have heavy luggage it will be a mission for you to get them up.
Once we got into the room the whole room looked nice but when you really look at it there were stains and holes on the wall. The bathroom seat was broken aswell as the shower head along with the paint peeling and the pipes leaking. But worse of all, one of the bed was a really cheap standard and not the same as the others with a really poor hard matress, which
had food on it under the sheets and when you look out your window there was rubbish and beer cans thrown outside on the balcony which was our view. But we kept saying to ourselves it was only for the night so went out into the town of clonmel to enjoy which we certainly did!!! When we got back to get ready for dinner the room was roasting hot, that you could see water dripping of the walls. We tried to turn off the radiators which are all rotting old types with chipped paint. After dinner we returned to the room and it was still as roasting hot and we couldnt leave our windows open all night as anyone can easily get in. The music started around 10pm and didnt end till 2am. It was unbearable with the loud noise and the heat in the bedroom, I was so tempted to leave the place. None of us fell asleep till 3 in the morning. Overall I do find the hotel building inself very poor quality, But I did think the staff themselves are very nice along with the breakfast being delicious.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the loud noise of the Bar/Club downstaires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypop222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

avoid this place at all costs. items stolen from room. couldnt sleep with the noise from the niteclub, and the decor is from the last century. they dont care about the place as the niteclub seems to be making the money.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank liamo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

a large group of us stayed in hearns last wkend to celebrate a couples 40th wedding anniversary. while the staff were very friendly, the overall view of the place was very poor. the function room was a disgrace with peeling paint being the main attraction, asked the barman to turn down the lights so guests wouldnt see how bad it was!!the furniture in the room looked like it was donated from a 19th century school house and the couches had big holes in them.the carpets throughout need to be ripped up. a gift was stolen from the party couples room while they were at breakfast (with room locked). other guests couldnt even lock their doors. wont be staying there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryaner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed in cloneml the weekend of the blues festival and was ripped off from start to finish they obviously seen us coming as we were from the north they charged us £70 per person for 2nights.. i checked when i got home and as I was charged in sterling I paid approx E120 more for our group to stay than i needed to. The beds were filthy water was tepid and the breakfast was simply not worth going down for food swimming in grease on dirty plates. As for the noise the floors vibrated as you walked along we are a young group in our 20s and we found it too much so I dread to think how a family would cope. All in all a complete disaster and then ripped off at the end I would in no way recommed Hearns hotel as staff were room to members of our group and falsely accused us of noise disturbance which in my mind aside from being untrue was a little rich given the level of noise already the facility. Will never be back and if you are wise avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rara2012912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were somewhat taken aback ,when checking in,we were issued with ear plugs.This was because of a rave type disco and a heavy metal type group playing that night (both at the same time)The disco was at the rear of the hotel and the live group played below our room.This unbearable noise (even with ear plugs in)kept us awake until 3 in the morning.The rooms were basic.Using the tea/coffee making facility was disturbing as the uht milk was sour??.On running the hot water for a wash and shave in the morning it was found to have a brown tinge.A shave was all that was possible as washing/showering and brushing of teeth in such tainted water was off putting.The carpets throughout could have done with a steam clean and freshening.Floor tiles in the shower area were cracked.The toilet cystern was constantly running and when examined the ball cock was floating loose as the masking tape that held it in place had failed.The bed was of resonable comfort although somewhat creaky and noisey when turning over.As the evening approched the main entrance to the car park was closed as was any accsess to the car park (which was a concern should you need to leave the property in a case of emergency).The following morning the main exit point metal doors from the car park were jammed and delayed our departure by 30 minutes.tables were brought out for the evenings "festivities".The breakfast was good and filling for the onward journey to Dublin.Although the staff were very friendley and helpfull ,this did not compensate for a very short sleep from 3 am rising at 6-30.This hotel may be ok for young people but not for those over 30 yoa or families.

Room Tip: look elsewhere in clonmel or surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. Found it hard to beat, 60.00 for B&B. It is an old building but the room was very clean and the bed was particularly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was beautiful. There was a night club in the hotel the night we stayed but this did not affect us at all. The only thing worth mentioning is that we were on the second floor with no lift service, but not to much of a climb. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
118 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing