We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This is a great value hotel in the centre of Clonmel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. It's really well located in the centre of Clonmel with all the main bars and restaurants located with minutes of the hotel. The hotel is very reasonably priced and the rooms are lovely and modern and very clean. The hotel paso has a late bar where they have a disco and live music so it was where we ended up and. It's great craic I have to say. I'd also recommend the restaurant Befani up the road and the two bars Bakers and Phil Carrolls across the road. We did some of the best hill walking in the Comeragh Mountains during the day. It was as good as anywhere in Ireland if not the best. I'd really recommend Clonmel and this hotel. It's central, clean, great price and with a couple of bars great fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhood001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    16
    16
    30
See reviews for
9
34
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Carpet dirty-I could write on the dust on thelockers etc Bathroom floor dirty,pubic hairs on the tiles-toilet bowl stained. Glass beside the sink had a white residue in it.I made a pathway to walk on with the towels in the bathroom.The shower was a lukewarm dribble.Unfortunately i also booked breakfast.Just dont go here,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticspicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clonmel hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We are currently staying in this hotel. We booked a night after attending the comedy fest. I can safely say it's the worst place I have ever stayed in! We were given the keys at reception and told the general area where our room was. When we eventually found it, I couldn't believe how dirty it was. There was dust everywhere! It was inch thick on the back of the TV. Two of the bulbs had gone and the tea making facilities were a joke! The cups hadn't been washed and there was no remote control. We asked to be changed to another room but apparently they were full. They did do a quick polish and hoover while we were out and replaced the two bulbs. We enjoyed the comedy but when we returned to our room we realised that there are two different night clubs underneath us with competing booming tunes! We are seriously considering going back home!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The hotel is clean, with adequately sized rooms, and in a great location in the very pretty little city of Clonmel, but the highlight is the superb service offered by Fergal, Annie and their staff. From the moment we (an extended family entourage of 18) arrived, we were wrapped in the kindness of the Hearn's employees, and our every request was met quickly and with courtesy. Our dinner at the hotel was tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel's bar is an attractive pub-like space and a great source of information on Clonmel happenings. In the rooms, the plumbing worked well and there was good warm water pressure in the shower. This is a first rate hotel in a delightful place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1880tornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

we all arrived at this hotel late and carried our cases up 4 flights of stairs. the male receptionist couldnt leave the desk to help us.he was very nice and helpful otherwise. our rooms were spotless nicely done only in dark covers colours bed and curtains. this with the dark winey coloured carpet tended to make the ample double room seem smaller.the bathroom was bigger than we had expected lots of hot water and lovely clean white towels. these were replaced next day if needed and the room serviced as well.the shower was faultless, so was the tv and the tea and coffee making equipment replaced daily. the juice cereal toast full irish breakfast tea or coffee was very good. for the price we paid this hotel is excellent value for money. there is a nightclub next door the music slightly bothered some of our party for a while . they were on the first floor but us on the second were not bothered. nowadays people complain about the slightest thing as if the world owes them. if you want grandeur and beautiful surroundings then be prepared to pay more yes a lot more than this...will i go back yes and recommend it as a good budget hotel...

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We chose this hotel based on the great reviews we read. The reception area is dimly lit, and a throwback to past times with ledgers, papers, and not a computer in sight. There was nobody manning reception when we arrived, and no apology ofered when someone finally came to attend to us, The carpets on the stairs leading to the rooms were dirty. The room itself was okay, but I've stayed in far better. We were at a wedding in another hotel and arrived back at about 5.am to find approximately 20 revellers smoking in the corridoor. We knew the pub was a late night venue, but we felt this was out of order. Our friends stayed in the Hotel Minella, and boy were we sorry we hadn't done the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saoirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel was very nice, for the money. The room was very modern in decoration and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely (eggs done just right) All the staff were very helpful and very friendly both on reception and the waitress at breakfast. Had read reviews on various hotels in Clonmel and am glad I chose this one. Also the guy who I checked in with was very helpful in telling me where to eat etc... Would recommmed, just wish they did food after 7pm!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkhighheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
109 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
14.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing