We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hostel we've been to !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashel Holiday Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst hostel we've been to !!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Let's start with the positive :
1/ The barbecue in the courtyard
2/ Well, there's no 2/ ...

Now, let's talk about the negative :
1/ Really not welcoming staff, especially the shaved-hair man who never answers you and was very aggressive when speaking to my boyfriend.
2/ No keys for the entrance door (which was kept unlocked all night, so that anyone could enter !) and no keys for our 4-bed room either !
3/ Cold shower everywhere
4/ Only 1 shower room and 1 toilets for a whole floor if you sleep in dormitories
5/ Expensive compared with much nicer hostels which offer lots of services and free breakfast for less !
6/ No free parking (contrary to what the website says)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
13
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay over in cashel last sat after spending afternoon at the rock. Arrived at this b&b with no booking we were warmly welcomed by the owner pj and we got the last double room. We were shown a lovely bedroom with quiet a large en suite. Pj then showed uS a sitting room which we were free to use . as it was a lovely evening and my favourite part was the fab outdoor area which was situated at the back of the house there was a great barbecue area lovely seating this area is used by the hostel which adjoins the b&b and also owned by pj. In this area we also saw 3 fab apts I sat here and read for a while it was v peaceful . I then wandered into the hostel And was really taken with the high standards I spoke with a French guy who works there he said it was his 4th year coming back to work for pj. I have to say I wish I came across hostels like this when I was travelling in my younger days!! Really enjoyed the night in cashel and I will definitely be staying in cashel b&b again. Thanks again pj for your hospitality and keep up the great work u and your team are doing.




  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Some may say there is nothing outstanding about the hostel itself but if a cozy, welcoming feel is something special, this hostel rates over the top. Patrina was a complete and utter joy to speak and interact with. She made us feel the most welcome of any hostel in our entire 2 week trip around the island! Stayed two nights and loved it!

I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough! StayHere! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This hostel is located for easy walking access of the city and castle and even the Swiss Cottage. A good base for a couple days walking the town. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are basic, clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We only spent one night in this hostel and we don't regret it. It is located in the center of Cashel, which means it is close to the Bus stop, shops and cafes, easy to get to the Rock of Cashel by foot, and to the abby that is located near it.

Our room was small, and the bed and its covers had seen better days, but it was clean and the staff was friendly. The price per night is very low, and for that the standard is perfectly acceptable.

The hostel offered free wifi, the code of which was located at the reception. In the common room they also have a TV connected to a hard drive filled with movies to keep you entertained on the long rainy days. There is a kitchen where you can fix your own meals, and a nice barbecue area in the back yard.

The staff was chatty and laid back. Down side to the laidbackness is that none of them wore name tags or even anything that resembles somthing of a uniform (like a T-shirt with the hostel name) making it hard to work out who of the people sitting in the common room was staff and who was a tourist.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Whenever you get to Cashel, you should go to this hostel. The place is really good. There is a very very nice living room with fireplace, really cosy. The kitchen is also very good, well equipped and also has a nice atmosphere. The staff is recruited from volunteers, they were absolutely amazing, very friendly. Really loved that place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great hostel.

For me - a hostel should be clean, warm, safe, with an adequate kitchen to cook a simple meal and keep your food. This Hostel ticks all those boxes.

The bonuses at this hostel are : really central location, open fire in cosy living room, library of books, magazines etc... Free computer use and fast wifi if you have own laptop, over 500 movies on large flat screen TV, super friendly staff and owners, and a small hostel, so they know you by name - rather than just room number.....

Ask the staff about parking options ..... they will be able to suggest some ...

If you want slightly more luxurious accommodation - there is a B & B right next door - same owners.

I also came for a couple of days and stayed 5 .... the hostel and town has a nice feel about it ....

Make sure you visit the Folk Museum in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
378 reviews
12.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
13.2 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel Holiday Hostel

Property: Cashel Holiday Hostel
Address: 6 John Street, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel Holiday Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cashel Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing