We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel like a home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashel Holiday Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hostel like a home”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stopped in Cashel because I wanted to be in a quaint Irish town with some history in it. In Cashel I found a charming hostel on John St. right in the middle of town. I arrived at night, and found a bunch of people in the living room sitting around chatting. There was a little wood stove warming up the place, a big screen t.v., a little library, a free computer, and people who worked there enjoying each others' company, laughing, and making me feel very welcome. The staff were from everywhere, and it felt as if this were someone's home, and everyone had come for a visit. After getting settled into my room (which was very clean and warm feeling), I went downstairs to find staff and guests in the kitchen (which was huge and very clean!) at a large round table, having dinner together and talking about their travels. Again it felt like more like a family than a hostel, and it was so much fun! Outside I found a nice seating area with an overhang to keep off the drizzle and a barbecue. Everything seemed brand new and ready for a fun sunny day. The staff recommended places to go and a charming Irish pub around the corner. The rock of Cashel has the most amazing views of Ireland! It's only a 5 minute walk from the hostel. I also went to Hore Abbey, which made me feel like I was living 1000 years ago! The staff also helped out by suggesting that I keep walking down the road from the Abbey. This walk was amazing! It lead me past horses prancing through the countryside, forests, and a lovely river that was beautiful. If you want to FEEL Ireland take this walk after stopping at this hostel. There's nothing like a small town in Ireland, and wonderful hostel to show you for a glimpse of time what it would be like to really live in Ireland.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the King Cormac. It's totally private like a hotel room for just a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
13
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Home sweet home! That's it ...when you travel, you have to trust people, you have to rely on others... I assure you, when you come to Cashel, you'll find a comfortable and cosy place at PJ's Hostel and B&B. Whatever you choose, Hostel or B&B, you'll find welcoming, friendly and reliable people inside the establishment. They'll make you feel at home, helping and suggesting you how to spend your time in Cashel in the best way. Feel free to live your lovely Irish experience in a family-run business because family is always close to you and accompanies your journey's unforgettable memories. I found my second home at PJ's Hostel! Thank you for your hospitality!!! :-)

Carino, accogliente, pulito e ben organizzato l'ostello. Di qualità superiore e lussuoso il B&B. La gestione familiare di questi stabilimenti affiancati è eccellente. Estremamente cordiale, disponibile e simpatico lo staff che mi ha fatto sentire come a casa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had been travelling through Ireland for a week and Cashel Holiday Hostel was the best we had been in so far. On arrival we where greeted by the very friendly Manager who gave us extremely helpful advice and an awesome tour of the place, he convinced us to stay in Cashel for another night at a reduced rate which of course was very worthwhile. Everything at the hostel was above average and quite an eye opener, the room, lounge, kitchen and back yard area where clean, spacious and well looked after, if I had to nit-pick though I would probably say the showers could do with a little bit of work but other than that everything was excellent! would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at the hostel for two nights with 3 friends on a walking holiday to Ireland. Would not have stayed the second night if we hadn't paid ! We paid for two twins but we had a very small room with two bunk beds, beds clean but no curtain and toilet shower room was grubby and shower took an age to warm up. Owner met us and showed us around seemed a nice chap. He went and then the manager took over ! A very strange chap as others have said ! Obviously didn't want to be there and felt like he would blow up any minute. Kitchen ceiling pouring in water in the morning !
Cashel not much going for it apart from the rock church tour - so visit and move on id say

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I arrived there alone and at the reception I was really welcomed by the Manager (Icke)! Nice people and a really good tour around the house as well by him. I was integrated in the group even before i got my room ;) I felt comfortable straight away! Besides I was really lucky to be alone in my room and to be upgrated at no additional cost ;), really felt safe and secure in this place being a lone traveller, thanks again guys..awesome ;)x

Room Tip: They offer free security lockers, just bring your own padlock though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 656Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I thought the hospitality and happy atmosphere was amazing! Something which you would not find anywhere else.
PJ welcomed us in to his hostel and showed us around the town. We were provided with brochures on where to go and what to do! PJ runs a horse and carriage tour in the town so he brought us on a very interesting tour around the Rock of Cashel.

In the evening we chilled in the common room which had a big tv with 100s of movies to choose from. The staff and other people staying there were really friendly and we made loads of new friends from all around the world.
The location of the hostel was fab!The hostel was clean and we slept well. It was great value and we will definitely be returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Let's start with the positive :
1/ The barbecue in the courtyard
2/ Well, there's no 2/ ...

Now, let's talk about the negative :
1/ Really not welcoming staff, especially the shaved-hair man who never answers you and was very aggressive when speaking to my boyfriend.
2/ No keys for the entrance door (which was kept unlocked all night, so that anyone could enter !) and no keys for our 4-bed room either !
3/ Cold shower everywhere
4/ Only 1 shower room and 1 toilets for a whole floor if you sleep in dormitories
5/ Expensive compared with much nicer hostels which offer lots of services and free breakfast for less !
6/ No free parking (contrary to what the website says)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
414 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
12.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel Holiday Hostel

Property: Cashel Holiday Hostel
Address: 6 John Street, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel Holiday Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cashel Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing