We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread in Ireland”

Rockhouse Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Cashel
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Welcome to the Rockhouse Restaurant. Traditional Irish home cooked food served daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, reminiscent of wholesome family dinners. Delicious recipes, locally produced and freshly prepared, full of our traditional food culture and our pride in our beautiful, simple Irish food. Outdoor seating available with beautiful views of the Rock of Cashel.
Manteca, California, United States
2 reviews
“Best bread in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant after our visit to the Rock of Cashel. Even though the restaurant was packed with people, the service was prompt and friendly. Our meals were terrific and the bread was the best we had in all of Ireland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your meal and our Irish homemade soda bread, thanks for the kind comments, hope you visit us again soon. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    9
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

After viewing the Rock I took my group to the Rockhouse Restaurant for a cooking demonstration and lunch. Joe Adher has to be the Emeril Lagasse of Ireland. My group just loved him. He showed everyone how to make scones, and Irish soda bread. After the demonstration we had lunch in the restaurant. The food was very good! Everyone had a great time. You will love the food and the cooking demonstration.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTex30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. I provide and deliver the cooking demonstrations complimentary as I feel it is a great way to engage with visitors to our restaurant and provide an enjoyable memory of their trip to Ireland. It is great to hear that your group enjoyed the experience and their meal afterwards.. regards, Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
536 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Okay place to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

After having visited the Rock and some other attractions, we needed something to eat and drink. This place is very handy and we could stay parked in the same location. Food was okay, nothing special but certainly satisfied and was not overly priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We aim to offer our customers good value, our meals are wholesome Irish food with all ingredients very fresh and prepared each day, regards. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful - not a good start to our holiday!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Unfortunately, I have nothing good to say about this restaurant. I got a bad feeling from the minute we set foot inside the door. We had two small children and were seated at a high table and pretty much hemmed in by the people who then arrived onto the next table. The food was dreadful. Got a seafood chowder that was pretty much like packet tomato soup with fish thrown in. When we complained all we got was "sorry about that". Felt it was very much get in as much tourists as possible, feed them, get them out and get more in. Will not be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJsMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear JJsMam, I am really sorry to read in your review that you were unhappy with your experience at Rock House. Our restaurant is a busy restaurant with regular tour groups to the Rock of Cashel, however families and individuals are equally always welcome. All of our food is freshly prepared on the premises each day. We provide a service that is friendly and efficient and we do really strive to give an excellent and personalised service to everyone whilst serving good quality Irish food. I am sorry you got the impression that we wish to get as much tourists through as possible, this is certainly not the case, however some people do not realise that most tours have a short allocation of time in their schedule to have their meal. regards, Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
597 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Hunger pangs satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We visited the Rock of cashel on a particulary cold day and arrived back at the carpark, freezing and windblown and hungry. As total stangers to the area, we had no clue as to where to go for lunch and what we did was follow the well-placed sign boards in the car park, which led right into the Rockhouse. Now how is that for effective advertising?
We did, however, have to ask for instructions when faced with a lot of closed doors and some steps, but once upstairs it was just such a pleasure to warm up and enjoy some piping hot soup - with as much soda bread as we wanted! One piece each was enough to sustain us and the soup was both tasty and filling.The serving staff were friendly and efficient and the cafeteria-style arrangement of the food meant that large groups could be handled with the minimum period of waiting
The food was affordable and we were pleasantly satisfied with our choice of lunch venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to make this review and I am sorry if there was confusion finding the restaurant upstairs. All of our food is homemade and freshly prepared on the premises each day. As our restaurant deals a lot with large groups of people the layout is designed so that we can provide a personalised service that is friendly and efficient. I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Rock House and we hope you will visit us again. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Rockhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing