We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Cashel!”
Review of Peggy O'Neills B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Ideal location in Cashel!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stopped over here in between time in Dublin and Dingle. The room we had was spacious, and had a great bathroom, with wonderful shower. You can easily walk to the rock and in the back yard it the abby. We had a lot of fun exploring. The room has wonderful sky light that lets in light and beds were comfy. Breakfast was good too. If I was going back to Cashel I would stay here again in an heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    19
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
140
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a wonderful bed-and-breakfast with some of the friendliest owners you will ever meet. They were extremely helpful, and even loaned my daughter a hair straightener when our converter failed to work. Hore Abbey sits just out from their backyard, and is a beautiful view. Make sure you take the time to tour the Abbey, as it will be much less crowded than the Rock of Cashel. They have a very well behaved calm dog, named Daisy, that the whole family enjoyed. We all had the full Irish breakfast, and it was excellent. I especially enjoyed the soda bread! I would highly recommend this bed-and-breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells River, Vermont
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Absolutely loved this B&B - wish I could have stayed for an extra day or two. This B&B was in walking distance to Hore Abbey which we had a beautiful view from our room. It is a bright and cheerful place with an outstanding sunroom. We were able to walk to town to explore which was a hugh plus. Jim was just so personable and we had a few good laughs with him. The food was excellent especially the "secret recipe porridge". Hope one day to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy31359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

... If you have a chance, you must to stay there.
Absolutely fabulous B&B, beautiful house, and a very kindly lady and her husband ...and of course their "cat" Daisy.
Thank you for another wonderful days of our trip on Ireland

Family Stropnik, Slovenia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had the pleasure to stay here in late June 2014.Jim and daisy the boxer were great hosts! Jim opened the door before we could even get to front door and met us with a great warm welcome. He recommend a great nearby restaurant (Baileys). The room was very clean and the shower was great, We got the family room and it was roomy enough for 4 adults. Jim cooked us an amzing breakfast the next morning.Everyone should stay here! The view overlooking the Abbey is fantastic at sunset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this little gem with my partner and his family..Jim and peggy made our stay a home away from home..lovely people who shared with us their beautiful home in a very picturesque environment in beautiful ireland..the rooms all very comfortable with en suite lovely showers and sky tv in the rooms. Breakfast was delicious with everything thoughtfully prepared, and presented! Cashel village is a few minutes stroll with bars, shops and restaurants..rock of cashel is minutes away and worth a wander for its lovely views even if you dont want to pay to enter. But Back to the lovely bnb of peggy o neils! I would highly recommend and cannot wait for our next stay there :) thankyou for making a special little holiday even more than we expected :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzibet810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Jim, and dog Daisy, we're filling in the day we were there, as Peggy was away at a wedding. Jim's outgoing personality and sense of humor made us feel right at home. He gave us a great recommendation for dinner and then we spent a lovely evening on the back patio chatting and watching the sun set while looking out at Hore Abbey, while cows grazed in the pasture. It was so relaxing. We had a pretty family room upstairs, which had enough room for the 4 of us. We happened to come across this B&B when we made a last minute change and decided to stay in Cashel and we were so glad we did! Great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bhampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
12.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 16 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
3.9 mi away
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peggy O'Neills B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peggy O'Neills B&B

Property: Peggy O'Neills B&B
Address: Golden Road, Cashel, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peggy O'Neill's is a charming family run bed and breakfast located on the Golden road, three minutes walk from the centre of Cashel. Peggy has been welcoming guests into her home for over a decade and she provides homely yet very comfortable accommodation and huge hearty breakfasts at a very reasonable price. Peggy's is a 3 minute walk from the centre of Cashel Town and a 10 minute walk from the Rock of Cashel.Peggy O'Neill's unique selling point is the wonderful view of Hore abbey from the back of the property. Hore Abbey (also Hoare Abbey, sometimes known as St.Mary's) is a ruined Cistercian monastery near the Rock of Cashel, County Tipperary, Republic of Ireland.'Hore' is thought to derive from 'iubhair' – yew tree. The former Benedictine abbey at Hore was given to the Cistercians by Archbishop David MacCearbhaill (in 1270), who later entered the monastery. He endowed the Abbey generously with land, mills and other benefices previously belonging to the town. The story, beloved of tour-guides, that he evicted the Benedictines after a dream that they were about to kill him, is unlikely to be true and probably arises from the Archbishop's 'interference' with the commerce of the city of Cashel. His disfavour of the established orders in Cashel certainly caused local resentment. He was resented by some of the towns-people, being considered too much in favour of the Irish by the more Anglicised. This is evident in the objection by the thirty-eight local brewers to the levy of two flagons out of every brewing and in the murder of two monks who were visiting the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peggy O'Neills B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing