We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of Rock of Cashel

Rock of Cashel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.30*
and up
Kilkenny and Cashel Day Trip from Cork
More Info
US$65.29*
and up
Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A majestic medieval fortress now in ruins: contains the Hall of Vicars and a 13th century cathedral.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place is fantastic and full of fabulous history. Up on a rock , high, looking over the area with majestic views. This is a "MUST SEE".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank seger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,603
    838
    265
    66
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schofield, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The guided tour of the Rock of Cashel was great. The guide had a lot of insight and and well worth the visit. Great views from there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemaquid, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for the "Creaky Traveler"”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tis one heck of a climb from the parking lot(overpriced) to the entrance (Very slippery when wet) with no handrails.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woodfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour and visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A stop at the Rock of Cashel is a must! We followed the advise of many reviewers and visited early arriving by 10:00 AM. We were able to wonder around the grounds for 15 minutes or so while waiting for a tour. There weren't many people looking around yet so we could take photos without having people in them. I highly recommend joining one of the tours. Our tour guide Mary was excellent. After the tour, we walked around to take more photos but by that time, more tour buses arrived and a group a school kids, so it was getting very crowded. We were there in May, so I imagine crowds would be even more later in the summer. If you only have time for one historical site, the Rock of Cashel should be the one that you visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Husker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Requries small climbing”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice place though nothing stunning is you miss. There is very small climbing. They have guided toures every half hour. Kids may get bored after a point in time. View is great.

Small Tip: Tourist parking is expensive. Try and park on street, it will work out cheaper.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravMashruwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock of Cashel also viewed

County Tipperary, Province of Munster
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cahir, County Tipperary
 

Been to Rock of Cashel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing