We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but rooms need updating”

Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 19 Cashel B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“OK but rooms need updating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2005

Location is very good. There are only a couple of places to stay in Cashel close to the Rock. As title says, rooms need improvement - basic and showing wear and tear. Guesthouse is rated as 4*, 1* is more like it.

Stayed November 2004
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    0
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2005

I booked Legends based on the many good comments about the owners and chef only to find out that the guesthouse has new owners. However, we could not have been more pleased with this inn. The new owners Grazielle and John Quinlan have done a great job keeping up the standards and sprucing up the inn. Fresh paint in the dining room and a new bar being installed next to the lobby.

Grazielle responded promptly to my e-mails about our transportation concerns (we were coming by bus from Dublin) as well as our meal requirements (vegetarian). She offered to pick us up in Cashel at the Main St. bus stop but we opted to walk the short distance to the inn since the weather was better than we expected on a winter day.

The location of the inn is great, just a few steps away from the parking lot of the Rock of Cashel. We requested and were given a room with a picture window view of the Rock which was especially nice at night with the lights on the Rock.

The room was not fancy but very comfortable with an electric kettle for tea, a hairdryer, small TV and private bathroom with tub/shower combo.

Our first night at Legends was our first night in Ireland after an 8 hour flight to London, a short layover, hour flight to Dublin, 3 hour bus ride to Cashel. I had written via e-mail for a dinner reservation so we would be able to relax our first night. Grazielle had already asked the chef to prepare a special vegetarian entree, a most wonderful goat cheese and vegetable tart. In fact we were so impressed with the meal that we immediately booked dinner again for the next night. The Cashel Blue Cheese salad was so good we ordered it two nights in a row. Breakfast was equally as good with fresh juice, yogurt, brown bread and egg dishes.

It seems that Legends Guesthouse will continue to be a great choice for visitors to Cashel with the Quinlans taking over the reigns.

vinolover78@yahoo.com

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babygoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2004

We told them we were on our honeymoon and were delighted that they gave us a room with a Rock of Cashel view. Spectacular!

Room was comfortable, a little updating might be needed but it didn't detract from the comfort. Breakfast was wonderful!!! Yummy!

Location is perfect, walking distance to town and Rock.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2004

Situated VERY close to the Rock of Cashel (you can literally take a little staircase out of the Rock of Cashel parking lot and there you are), our room at Legends had amazing views. The room itself was smallish but very clean and comfortable. I so regret that our time in Cashel was on a night that the restaurant was closed, because if breakfast was any indication of Michael's cooking skills, it would be a very memorable meal. I had scrambled eggs with cheddar and chives, which were just delightful, and some very exciting kippers. Michael was also very helpful about recommending other fine-dining options in other parts of Ireland. If my adventures take me to Ireland again, Legends will definitely be on my list.

Helpful?
2 Thank aprille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2003

We bailed from Cork due to poor accommodations, and lucked upon Michael and Rosemary at Legends. What luck... They were extremely pleasant hosts. Very nice rooms with special touches like a coffee pot, wash cloths and a very comfortable bed. Our room looked out upon "The Rock of Cashel" and was stunning. Little did we know what culinary treats awaited us... Mike is a first rate chef. Forget Kinsale, stay with Mike and Rosemary and have a dining experience you will remember. They prepared a meal for the four of us that rivaled anything available at the best restaurants in the world. No kidding...They were also very modest about it. Rosemary was kind enough to share my dessert recipe (and I am making it for Christmas dinner). Breakfast was also wonderful, although Mike's talents are somewhat squandered on blood pudding and bacon. All in all, an absolutely delightful place.

Helpful?
3 Thank OrbExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2003

A very tasteful, elegantly presented lodging. The decor has a clean, Swiss appeal to it. The view is spectacular - the closest lodging to the Rock of Cashel providing the opportunity to view it at sunrise, sunset or flood lighted. Lodging charges have the option of dinner in their onsite restaurant, The Kiln. Take advantage of that dinner....the food is innovative and delicious. Breakfasts are included and also are beautifully presented and very tastey. A great value and charming hosts.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cashel hotels
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
0.2 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 19 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#1 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teac Watties B & B
Teac Watties B & B
#8 of 19 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant

Property: Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant
Address: The Kiln, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing