We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Legends Guesthouse and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hayes Hotel(Thurles)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anner Hotel(Thurles)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
6
3
0
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
0
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2005

We booked Legends for two nights based on reviews by Rick Steves, Karen Brown, etc. When we arrived there was an empty beer bottle by the front door that was not picked up for at least three days. The room was small and spartan with faded spread. We asked for soap but were unable to get any. The towels were frayed and one even had large hole in it. The breakfast, fortunately, was good. We checked out after one night. There are several B&Bs within a couple of blocks; we chose a much friendlier, pleasant one down the street for half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JAWMoraga_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
17
Reviewed 23 April 2005

Location is very good. There are only a couple of places to stay in Cashel close to the Rock. As title says, rooms need improvement - basic and showing wear and tear. Guesthouse is rated as 4*, 1* is more like it.

Stayed: November 2004
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2005

I booked Legends based on the many good comments about the owners and chef only to find out that the guesthouse has new owners. However, we could not have been more pleased with this inn. The new owners Grazielle and John Quinlan have done a great job keeping up the standards and sprucing up the inn. Fresh paint in the dining room and a new bar being installed next to the lobby.

Grazielle responded promptly to my e-mails about our transportation concerns (we were coming by bus from Dublin) as well as our meal requirements (vegetarian). She offered to pick us up in Cashel at the Main St. bus stop but we opted to walk the short distance to the inn since the weather was better than we expected on a winter day.

The location of the inn is great, just a few steps away from the parking lot of the Rock of Cashel. We requested and were given a room with a picture window view of the Rock which was especially nice at night with the lights on the Rock.

The room was not fancy but very comfortable with an electric kettle for tea, a hairdryer, small TV and private bathroom with tub/shower combo.

Our first night at Legends was our first night in Ireland after an 8 hour flight to London, a short layover, hour flight to Dublin, 3 hour bus ride to Cashel. I had written via e-mail for a dinner reservation so we would be able to relax our first night. Grazielle had already asked the chef to prepare a special vegetarian entree, a most wonderful goat cheese and vegetable tart. In fact we were so impressed with the meal that we immediately booked dinner again for the next night. The Cashel Blue Cheese salad was so good we ordered it two nights in a row. Breakfast was equally as good with fresh juice, yogurt, brown bread and egg dishes.

It seems that Legends Guesthouse will continue to be a great choice for visitors to Cashel with the Quinlans taking over the reigns.

vinolover78@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank babygoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2004

We told them we were on our honeymoon and were delighted that they gave us a room with a Rock of Cashel view. Spectacular!

Room was comfortable, a little updating might be needed but it didn't detract from the comfort. Breakfast was wonderful!!! Yummy!

Location is perfect, walking distance to town and Rock.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2004

Situated VERY close to the Rock of Cashel (you can literally take a little staircase out of the Rock of Cashel parking lot and there you are), our room at Legends had amazing views. The room itself was smallish but very clean and comfortable. I so regret that our time in Cashel was on a night that the restaurant was closed, because if breakfast was any indication of Michael's cooking skills, it would be a very memorable meal. I had scrambled eggs with cheddar and chives, which were just delightful, and some very exciting kippers. Michael was also very helpful about recommending other fine-dining options in other parts of Ireland. If my adventures take me to Ireland again, Legends will definitely be on my list.

2  Thank aprille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews