We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ardara, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Cashel Lodge was situated in the perfect place.! With the Rock of Cashel on one side and The Hoare Abbey on the other side. At the Lodge there was plenty of room for tents. We ended up staying inside the Lodge for the night. The rooms were reasonably priced €75 for the three of us to stay in a triple room. The room was lovely and clean. Heating was on and was plenty warm. We had full use of the Kitchen which was fully equipped. It had a dining table and chairs, sofa, armchair and Tv. There was also a computer in the hallway that was free to use, or you could connect to the Wi-Fi. The outside of the Lodge was very well kept and tidy. With Picnic benches available to use. The people who own the Lodge are friendly and happy to help. Over all a lovely place to stay, good price and fantastic location, Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
68
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Looking out the window of our room, we could see Hore Abbey! What a delightfully creepy and beautiful site! Just across a field and up a hill was the Rock of Cashel. This place has a prime location, amazing prices (Cheapest place we stayed on our 2 week trip, and easily the 2nd nicest,) and a full kitchen downstairs for cooking. If we'd have known that ahead of time, we'd have done some grocery shopping.

Cashel itself is pretty small but we didn't get a good idea of the town becuase it was Monday. Pretty much all of Ireland, especially the small towns, shut down on Mondays. Make that your stay-in day, don't wander around aimlessly like we did. That said, wandering back, even in the day, was quite easy.

Comfortable beds, nice room. Tricky faucets though- careful or you'll get soaked.

Room Tip: They have a kitchen! Bring supplies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked into O'Briens Cashel Lodge for one night and the price was great! We had full use of the kitchen/sitting room, the computer and had free wifi. Perfect place to stay in Cashel as it's in the middle of the two main attractions there....The Rock of Cashel & The Abbey! They are both right on the doorstep. I would advise anyone looking for a great deal on such a lovely property to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giggles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Lodge on the way from Dublin to Dingle. Perfect stop. Room was spacious and quiet. Tom was very accommodating. Location is a short walk to the pubs and restaurants in Cashel, as well as touring the Rock of Cashel, plus it is a brilliant photo of the Abbey ruins right across the street.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We camped here at the end of July and could not believe what a fantastic little campsite it was and the location and views were incredible.Tom and Brid were so friendly and helpful and their "things to do" were great.Cafe Hans,Feehans pub and the brilliant Bru Boru centre.We did not have to use the car as you could walk into town with plenty of shops in 10mins.The site itself is very clean and there is a campers kitchen with kettle,toaster,fridge,electricity points and picnic bench. The view at night when The Rock is lit up and in the morning as the sun rises from behind it is incredible.Such a lovely relaxed site.We will be back.Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

At the foot of the Rock of Cashel and across the street from Hore Abbey you couldn't have a more beautiful setting. It was quite handy to walk to town for dinner. And within driving distance of many places on our to-see list. Although a self-catering lodge, they offered to provide a breakfast, for an additional charge. Tom apologized that it would not be a hot breakfast, but the cereals, cheeses, fruit, and meats they provided were amazing and certainly worth every euro. It is so centrally located that I wish we had planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Location impossible to beat - between the Rock of Cashel and Hoare's Abbey, walking distance to explore but photo opportunities from the rooms! Tom and Brid have done a great job renovating the old stone barn into the most comfortable, large bedroom and ensuites. Kitchen is downstairs - with real milk not UHT and they are keen to offer help, have a chat or leave you be. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Any room would be fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
597 reviews
11.7 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
367 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.1 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Briens Cashel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Briens Cashel Lodge

Property: O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Address: Camus Road | St. Patricks Rock, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly O'Briens Holiday Lodge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Briens Cashel Lodge Is a family run guest house situated within easy walking distane of the ROck of Cashel ,Hoare Abbey and the town of Cashel.We have had three different names ( obriens farm house hostel. Holiday Lodge) as we have developed over the last 25 Years . O'Brien's Cashel lodge is the name we have settled on , it covers the many options that we give our guests , Bed and Breakfast ,Self catering or caravan and camping.There is private parking and WiFi for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your O'Briens Cashel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing