We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People - Lovely Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cashel Town Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely People - Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

When I arrived I had a terrible cold and the management gave me a room where I could sleep well. I stayed 10 days and felt really taken care of. The room was quiet and clean, and the bed was comfortable. To be completely honest, I loved this place because of the quiet room, the courtyard out back, and the people (and, of course, Millie, the dog). I took the carrige ride and it was enjoyable, too. I didn't "book" breakfast so I can't help you there. Staying for longer periods in one place has given me insight into how people are treated overall. Couldn't have asked for a better place for caring people, and within my limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    29
    14
    6
    17
See reviews for
25
43
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waymart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay with PJ at Cashel B&B. Rooms and bathrooms were fine. everything was clean and welcoming. Loved the poems stenciled on the walls. PJ offered to get us oriented for our afternoon out. The 5 of us enjoyed an evening of cards in the sitting room. Breakfast was terrific. Would gladly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Myself and my family stayed here just a few days before Xmas 2011. My husband and I had nearly strangled each other in frustration by the time we actually found the place but once we did find it and a place to park we were very glad we did. Once we had located it we parked in a Supavalue store carpark, (2 hour free parking) just around the corner and explored the immediate area until our 2 hours was up and then were by luck able to find a spot just outside the door of the B&B. Sheila greeted us at the door and from that time showed us nothing but absolute kindness and hospitality up to the moment she hugged us as we left. Our room was big, clean and welcoming and the bathroom was enormous. The decor, themed on a series of books about Sister Fidelma was unique and very interesting. I took some photos of some of the old laws that are quoted on the walls and plan to have one about your family having to wash you a certain amount of times per month when you get old blown up and given to each of my kids, lol. Cashel itself is a magical place and a few days before Xmas it was just a beautiful place to be with all the lights and the trees decorated in the store windows. We loved the location of the B&B as it's only about 1 minute walk from quaint shops and about 10 mins walk from the magic of the Rock itself. We walked everywhere without any problem at all. Sheila cooked us a perfect breakfast catering for everything from my garbage disposal husband's appetite to our fusspot teenager and his picky ways and all with a really friendly way about her. I would definitely stay here again and now I know the way it should be even better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackJackBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed for one night and the room was average, the bed was okay and the breakfast was the traditional Irish breakfast that filled us up quite well. We checked in late (around 7pm) so we found a spot on the road and didn't get a ticket over night. We left around 9am so I think those hours are fine for parking. Other reviews seem to paint a darker picture about parking, but maybe they stayed longer than 1 night.
The owners were very friendly, but busy when we came in so they didn't get a chance to talk to them much, which was fine. We went out for dinner and then crashed. If you want scenic views don't stay here, but if you want a central location and easy walking around the town and good value, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I was booked to stay in the Cashel Hostel for one night that is also owned by PJ , however considering it was the second last night of my tour of Ireland, I was exhausted and decided to spoil myself. I asked to change my reservation to the b&b and extended my stay for an additional night. The next morning no breakfast was made for me, I qeuried this with the so called manager who told me a whole lot of stories such as because I was originally booked in the hostel I could not have breakfast, when I told her but I am paying full price at the B&B rates and showed her the brochure that is on display in the foyer, that clearly states full Irish breakfast included, she continued argueing with me and said the brochures were out dated. She argued so much with me that eventually I walked out and caught a bus to Cahir as now Cashel was spoilt for me....The next morning however, which was my last day in Ireland she served me breakfast with such an attitude as if she really was doing me a favour and then threw 5 Euros in front of me saying this was for the breakfast I did not get.... it has put such a sour taste on what was really a superb holiday and I left Ireland with this ladies awful attitude and her lies lingering as an aftertase........There are other b&b's in Cashel that offer better parking, no stories about out dated brochures clearly being on display in the foyer and you get exactly what you pay for...........BED AND BREAKFAST!!!!

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank dupedbyaleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cashel hotels

the South
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My husband and I just got back from an anniversary trip to Ireland. On our trip, we stayed in Cashel at the Cashel B&B for one night. The parking in front of the B&B must be paid for every two hours and there is a limit to how long you can stay in one spot. The parking situation would probably true for many of the B&B's in Cashel - although we did see some with private off street parking. I really dislike giving less than glowing reviews but this was probably the worst experience in a B&B on our trip. Our room was on the third floor, and even though they said there was free wi-fi, it didn't reach the top floor. The ensuite room was nice and had a large window. The lady showing us around was very nice and gave us pointers. The worst part came when it was time to go to bed. The walls are so incredibly thin, you could hear conversations of the people in the rooms next to you. The couple across the hall had three kids under 5 with them that screamed all night. There were two more couples on the same floor that partied all night long and hung out quite a bit in the hallway. (Even though our room was ensuite - not all on the floor were and the bathroom was right next to our room, so we could hear them getting sick in the bathroom all night.) (Sorry - I know this is gross.) So, we didn't sleep all night. Breakfast in the morning was nice, and I did finally get to meet the owner. In her defense, I did not bring up the issues with her. She was very busy and really there was nothing she could have done about it at that point. It would have been nice if they gave us their phone number to call them if we needed anything and showed us a phone in the house where we could have called from (there wasn't one in the room). Overall, I was quite disappointed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahtepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This place was all right, but we might try a different B&B if we go back to Cashel.

They lost our reservation. They also lost the reservation of a large group who came in behind us. And so, we were put in an awkward situation of trying to keep the room we had reserved, while the large group was stuffed into one fewer rooms than they had expected.

I very nice lady had been hired to run the B&B, but the owners seem to be missing. The lady, not being the owner, did not have the ability to fix a number of the problems, like the missing reservations and some plumbing issues. We lost water one morning, while I was completely soaped down in the shower. And often, we had no hot water. The internet was hit and miss. You get the impression that the owners were completely absent.

The noise level from the hallway from people coming it late at night was high - again the management should have put their foot down and asked these people to be quiet.

Otherwise, the rooms were very clean. The breakfast made by the hired lady was very good. The bed was comfortable. The B&B is a short walk to the Castle.

The B&B does not have free parking, but probably most B&B's in Cashel with this proximity to the Castle do not.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
581 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#2 of 16 in Cashel
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
0.5 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#1 of 16 in Cashel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel Town Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel Town Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cashel Town Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 John Street, Cashel E25 VY79, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm Irish welcome awaits at Cashel Town Bed & Breakfast. Situated in the center of town in a quiet street. Just few minutes walk to all the bars, restaurants, supermarkets & the most historical castle in Ireland-The Rock of Cashel. You will find this lovely Georgian town house the perfect base to explore this historic town and beautiful part of Tipperary. Built in 1808, the house has recently been refurbished to create warm and homely bed and breakfast accommodation in the historic town of Cashel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cashel Town Hotel Cashel
Cashel Town b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing