We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joy's Rockside House B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hayes Hotel(Thurles)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anner Hotel(Thurles)
US$136
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel(Tipperary)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
121
33
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
33
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakesb bsmall living roomshort hikeadult childrenunbeatable locationscenic drivebreakfast was deliciousplace to staybru boruthe ownerpubs and restaurantsdouble bedhome basecashel rockpark your carenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Right at the foot of the Rock of Cashel, Joy's Rockside House has an amazing location. We were able to walk up to the Rock right after breakfast and the B&B is also a short walk from the town center and restaurants. We were able to leave our car at the car park in the B&B saving us the hassle of paying the fee for regular parking for the Rock of Cashel. Joan was a great source of information and very hospitable. Our room was nice and clean and had a sideview of the Rock of Cashel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very nice room. Joan (owner) very pleasant. We did not prebook. Full Irish breakfast. Good food. Even allowed us to leave car in her carpark which saved us Euro 4.50 which is parking charge at St Patricks Roch aka Roch of Cashel. The b&b is right at foot of rock literally a stones throw away. She did require prepayment but we expect that when not prebooking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The proprietess demanded payment in advance, offered no refreshments, and the room I had while spacious resulted in a poor night's sleep. There were yellow halogen street lamps shining directly into the room (two large ones) and it was like daylight. Black-out curtains would have made a difference. Secondly the walls were thin and the family next door kept talking until 11:30 pm. This was one of the more expensive B & B's I stayed at during my 20-day trip to Ireland and one of the two most disappointing. I did not feel welcome at all.

Room Tip: This is right next to the Rock of Cashel entrance so parking is difficult. This B & B allows you to park in their lot into the following day so you don't have to pay to see the Rock of Cashel. Do not pick a room on the street side unless you want yellow halogen street lamps shining into your room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auritania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

How great is it to visit Cashel to see the Rock of Cashel and see it while brushing your teeth?
Joy's Rockside is literally at the foot of the Rock and it takes four minutes to walk to the entrance.
We'd originally asked for a room with two double beds, but upon arrival, Joan invited us to view a room with a double and a single and that was the room with the view. Beds confortable, shower had power, four windows made the room extra bright, giant dahlias at the front door were visible from two of the windows, walk to pub dinner and, oh yes, the breakfast was very good. I had pancakes which were served with a squeeze of lemon (Irish style according to Joan) and maple syrup. Delicious!.Parking at the house was off-street.
When it was time to travel on, Joan had hand written very detailed directions to our next destination. Couldn't ask for more from a host

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view of the Rock
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We are a family of 5. Our 3 adult children stayed in a triple, while my husband and I were across the hall in a double. The location couldn't be better...right next to the Rock of Cashel and a short walk to downtown. Joan gave us excellent guidance on places to eat and visit. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is also good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews