We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joy's Rockside House B&B
Ranked #5 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Cleveland OH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So convenient!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Right at the bottom of the hill leading to the Rock of Cashel, Joy's bed and breakfast was really convenient. We just popped in after visiting the Rock, and found a room. Very clean, very lovely, and her location made it easy to explore the area around the Rock at night to find the best place to take a picture of the lighted castle. It was also easy walking distance to town so we could find supper. We also took a walk after supper to the Abbey across the road from the Rock, and were entertained by the cows who took a great interest in us as we crossed their pasture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    32
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here one night after a long drive from the Dublin airport. First thing she collected our cash (no credit cards), and then made us choose our breakfast. Room did look over the Rock of Cashel and on the other side into a field with plenty of cows, so that was nice. Parking was included and we stayed in that lot till we finished with the Rock next day, so that was nice. Beds were quite uncomfortable, however room was extremely clean, we could still smell the Clorox. Breakfast was just the pits. I chose the full Irish and it was the most skimpy in our two weeks in Ireland. One egg, sunny side up and raw in the middle (she doesn't ask how you want your egg (singular) cooked), with two rashers of bacon, two small sausages, and two grilled cherry tomatoes, all very lonely on a very large plate. My daughter and husband had pancakes, four thin pancakes folded in half on the plate,no garnish, no meat, but they did say the pancakes were good. I get the feeling she is doing this but her heart is not there in the tourist industry. We never met Mr. Joy at all. Lot of little signs up all over the place, with rules, and telling us what not to do (for example turn off light in bathroom), etc, gave the impression that we were staying with a strict mom or grandma. We've stayed in a lot of b&b's but this one stands out in its on peculiar way. This is the first time in a lifetime of travel that we had a 10am check out....check in was 3pm which is standard, but nearly every place has check out at noon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Right at the foot of the Rock of Cashel, Joy's Rockside House has an amazing location. We were able to walk up to the Rock right after breakfast and the B&B is also a short walk from the town center and restaurants. We were able to leave our car at the car park in the B&B saving us the hassle of paying the fee for regular parking for the Rock of Cashel. Joan was a great source of information and very hospitable. Our room was nice and clean and had a sideview of the Rock of Cashel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very nice room. Joan (owner) very pleasant. We did not prebook. Full Irish breakfast. Good food. Even allowed us to leave car in her carpark which saved us Euro 4.50 which is parking charge at St Patricks Roch aka Roch of Cashel. The b&b is right at foot of rock literally a stones throw away. She did require prepayment but we expect that when not prebooking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The proprietess demanded payment in advance, offered no refreshments, and the room I had while spacious resulted in a poor night's sleep. There were yellow halogen street lamps shining directly into the room (two large ones) and it was like daylight. Black-out curtains would have made a difference. Secondly the walls were thin and the family next door kept talking until 11:30 pm. This was one of the more expensive B & B's I stayed at during my 20-day trip to Ireland and one of the two most disappointing. I did not feel welcome at all.

Room Tip: This is right next to the Rock of Cashel entrance so parking is difficult. This B & B allows yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auritania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

How great is it to visit Cashel to see the Rock of Cashel and see it while brushing your teeth?
Joy's Rockside is literally at the foot of the Rock and it takes four minutes to walk to the entrance.
We'd originally asked for a room with two double beds, but upon arrival, Joan invited us to view a room with a double and a single and that was the room with the view. Beds confortable, shower had power, four windows made the room extra bright, giant dahlias at the front door were visible from two of the windows, walk to pub dinner and, oh yes, the breakfast was very good. I had pancakes which were served with a squeeze of lemon (Irish style according to Joan) and maple syrup. Delicious!.Parking at the house was off-street.
When it was time to travel on, Joan had hand written very detailed directions to our next destination. Couldn't ask for more from a host

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view of the Rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We are a family of 5. Our 3 adult children stayed in a triple, while my husband and I were across the hall in a double. The location couldn't be better...right next to the Rock of Cashel and a short walk to downtown. Joan gave us excellent guidance on places to eat and visit. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is also good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
380 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's Rockside House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's Rockside House B&B

Property: Joy's Rockside House B&B
Address: Rock Villas, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our award-winning B&B in a quiet area below the Rock of Cashel. Walk to pubs, restaurants, the Rock & Bru Boru. Private off-street parking. Clean, comfortable rooms are specially designed to pamper guests. There are wonderful views of the Rock from our house. Delicious breakfast choices. Cashel is an excellent base for daytrips and we are delighted to help you plan your journey. Let us share the real Ireland with you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joy`s Rockside House Bed And Breakfast
Joy`s Rockside House Hotel Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing