We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location and Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joy's Rockside House B&B
Ranked #5 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location and Hospitality”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Joy’s Rockside House. The location is absolutely perfect, right at the foot of the Rock of Cashel and around the corner and across a parking lot from the Bru Boru Heritage Centre, which has an excellent underground museum of Irish history as well as famous evening performances of Irish traditional music and dance. Cashel town centre is only a short walk away, with the Cashel Folk Museum, St. Dominic’s Abbey ruins, the Rossa Pottery Shop (excellent work by a local family), and many other attractions.

The Rockside House itself is a delight, with quiet, immaculately clean, well-furnished rooms, some with direct views of the Rock of Cashel, and the hospitality of Joan and Rem Joy is first-rate. (By the way, a clarification is in order regarding mention of the windows in another guest’s review. Here, as in many Irish guest houses, the windows open two ways. If one turns the handle one way, the window opens from the top and tilts forward, creating a transom effect and giving adequate ventilation. If one turns the handle another way, the entire window pane swings into the room. That does indeed give more air, but also allows someone without due caution (a child, perhaps) to fall out from the second story. That’s what the cautionary “open only in emergency” sign was concerned with, and I appreciated it.)

The full Irish breakfast is excellent, but Joan’s pancakes are also a quality alternative to the “full Irish”. They are huge, light, sweet, with choice of fruit toppings, almost as fluffy as crepes but a bit thicker, the best that I have ever tasted. I’ll have more, please, Joan! Cereal is available for lighter eaters. Joan was also very helpful in interpreting the complicated bus schedules from Cashel to Kilkenny and arranging for a taxi for part of the journey. When (not if) my traveling companion and I return to Cashel, we will definitely stay at the Rockside House again.

Room Tip: Full payment is required in cash when checking in, so make the necessary preparations for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnDallas_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    31
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

You can't beat the location, just at the foot of the rock. The owner was helpful and allowed us to keep our car in the car park after we checked out, which we appreciated. Our room had a view of the Rock, if you sort of leaned out and peered around the window. Breakfast was well prepared, but we wish fruit had been offered.

Our room was typical old-fashioned B&B: Small, decorated in several prints, with a tiny bathroom. No objections there. What we did find offputting were the little printed signs everywhere, admonishing us to douse the lights, turn off the taps, lock the doors, etc. The worst was on the window, which said to open it only in case of emergency. It was very, very hot (for Ireland) during our stay, and we declared a "heat emergency" and opened the windows all the way. Otherwise we would have had a miserable evening. We didn't ask why we shouldn't open the windows because we were afraid of being scolded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Situated at the base of the Rock of Cashel, the B&B is clean, spacious, and has delicious breakfast selections. We were met, at the door, with a very friendly welcome by Joan, the owner. She proceeded to tell us all about the B&B and the town of Cashel. If it weren't for her excellent knowledge of the town, we would not have had as many great experiences as we did.

We were very pleased with our stay at this B&B and would definitely stay again during a future visit to Cashel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoryHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only spent one night at this lovely spot, but I wish we could have spent more. Our room was lovely, comfortable, quiet, and looked out at the castle! We had a wonderful meal at a spot down the road after getting in later than we expected. Hore Abbey is just down the road, as well, and it was fun to walk to and through this lovely ruin as the sun began to set. Joan was welcoming and helpful in directing us to local attractions and good places to eat. She also made us a fabulous breakfast :) I would highly recommend this lovely spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWC_KLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a nice stay. Great host and a comfortable room. While it may seem a little expensive when compared with similar Irish B&Bs, with a view of the Rock of Cashel right out your window and within 500 yards one can't complain about the price.

Joan was attentive and welcoming. They do ask you to pay in advance but it's not like they are tyrants about it. My guess is this is a practice derived from being stiffed by tourists who fly out the door without paying.

We were able to leave our car parked in their lot after we checked out and toured the town. They also let us use their fridge to keep leftovers from our previous nights dinner.

Room Tip: Upstairs family room looks right at the Rock of Cashel and fit four adults very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and 3 sons aged 15-22. One room was a triple with a double bed and a pair of Twin beds; while the other had a double bed. All were comfortable and we especially liked looking at the sheep grazing in the pasture behind the inn. Joy was very helpful with dining selections and also for directions the the tip to Waterford the next day. Breakfast was delicious and Joy treated us with a small cake with candles , singing a congratulations song to my husband and me for our 30th anniversary! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Delightful location and our first B & B experience in Ireland. Enjoyed our walks to town and to the Rock of Cashel. Like Colinreilly, did not like having to pay in full upon check in nor the fact that if we used the other bed in the room, we would have to pay extra. I rented a room, not a bed. I think we'll find another place to stay when we visit Ireland again. All the other B & B's we stayed during our fourteen day trip were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cashel hotels
0.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#1 of 16 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 16 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teac Watties B & B
Teac Watties B & B
#8 of 16 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's Rockside House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's Rockside House B&B

Property: Joy's Rockside House B&B
Address: Rock Villas, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our award-winning B&B in a quiet area below the Rock of Cashel. Walk to pubs, restaurants, the Rock & Bru Boru. Private off-street parking. Clean, comfortable rooms are specially designed to pamper guests. There are wonderful views of the Rock from our house. Delicious breakfast choices. Cashel is an excellent base for daytrips and we are delighted to help you plan your journey. Let us share the real Ireland with you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joy`s Rockside House Hotel Cashel
Joy`s Rockside House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing