We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old house, Friendly proprieters”
Review of Ashmore House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashmore House B&B
Ranked #7 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great old house, Friendly proprieters”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here by chance after passing on another BnB down the street. Brendon & Laura (and Tipsy) were very hospitable, Breakfast was bountiful and delicious. The house dates from the 1740's, so rooms small, as to be expected. Still, very clean & comfy. Free parking is a plus, especially within walking distance of town center and the Rock. Be aware: They advertise that they accept credit cards, but charge extra for using one. :(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH42104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    39
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Big old house in town, walking distance from the Rock and secure parking.
The room was small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We chose Ashmore House partly because it has private parking, unlike some of other B&Bs closer to the Rock, where you need to make more complicated arrangements. The house dates from about 1750, and it has not been much modernized, but it is very welcoming. Laura and Brendan (Wally?) and Tipsy the poodle are helpful about what to do and how to see the sights. Our room was one of the smaller ones we had in Ireland, the bed was a little soft, and the bath also small. But it was quiet despite the location on the street. Breakfast was fine, and the house has a great collection of things the owner brought back from his worldwide travels with the merchant marine. The location is great, just off the main street, because we could walk everywhere and did not need to get the car out until we left. A special dinner at Chez Hans, and a good pub dinner at Brian Boru.

Room Tip: They may all the be the same: I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stopped at Ashmore House as part of a driving vacation from Dublin to Kerry but we almost didn't get out of Cashel because we were having so much fun at Laura and Brendan's wonderful B&B. Ashmore House is centrally located on a quiet street and within easy walking distance of several outstanding restaurants and everything you would want to see in Cashel. Breakfast is generous and delicious and the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The house itself is lovely -- filled with mementos from Brendan's career in the navy -- but the real treasures at Ashmore House are the host and hostess. You won't find warmer, kinder, lovelier people than Laura and Brendan. Bonus points to Laura for tipping us off that the pubs would be closed on Good Friday so we could run out and pick up a small stash of festive adult beverages. We'll definitely be returning to Ashmore House!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My family come from Cashel and we have stayed with Laura and Brendan every time we return to Cashel. We always find our stay is both warm and enjoyable, and both Laura and Brendan make us fell like part of the family.

If you are looking for somewhere with hosts that both make you feel welcome and looked after then Ashmore house is the place to stay.

A big thank you to Laura and Brendan we look forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: close to all attractions and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We highly recommend the Ashmore house. Laura and Brennan were very welcoming and served us a great breakfast in a comfortable, beautiful old house. Everything in town was within walking distance. Brennan gave us great advice as to where to find dinner and where there would be tradtional Irish music. He didn't promise us the hen party which was most entertaining at the bar. Cashel and the Ashmore house are worth the stop.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

You couldn't ask for a better location in Cashel than the Ashmore House. You can walk anywhere in town from here. Laura and Ryan were wonderful, and the house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The room was a little small, but that is typical in so many places in Europe. The wifi signal was a bit weak in our upstairs room. I have to admit though, as nice as the place is, it could use a little work to upgrade things. For example, the room door and handle were rather old and not very secure. I realize it is an old Georgian building, but it could use a wee bit of modernizing. The shower did have plenty of hot water, which we can't do without. We were the only ones staying at the time, but we could hear them talking downstairs - I don't know what it would have been like with someone in the next room. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order, as in most nice B&Bs.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
414 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
11.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#2 of 16 in Cashel
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore House B&B

Property: Ashmore House B&B
Address: John St, Cashel ROI, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashmore House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmore House offers you accommodation with Georgian charm and modern day comforts. Our five tastefully decorated letting rooms are all en suite. In the morning, guests are provided with an extensive breakfast menu. Breakfast are freshly cooked to order and served in the spacious dining room. In the evening, guests can relax in our sitting room or visit the fine restaurants and pubs nearby and enjoy an evening of fine food, good fun and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashmore House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing