We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanilla..”
Review of Dualla House

Dualla House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dualla House
Ranked #10 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A lovely grand house, the landlady was a bit standoffish, but as she got to know us she improved and was extremely hospitable once conversation was established. Asking 40 pp was a bit steep and she did give it to us for 35, I wouldn't pay anymore than that however. The rooms were clean, a new mattress on the beds wouldn't go astray. No pressure in the shower. Breakfast was supurb, good cuts of meat and she made her own soda bread- and her jam was yum!! Her husband showed us around the farm in the morning ( as we share a farming background), and was extremly wilingto expain the differences in farming and land management. I'd reccomend this place this for mature travellers or people seeking statley homes to stay in, for a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaTreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed at Dualla House for 1 night on a tour of the country and the stay was wonderful! The house is stunning and set off the road so it's very quiet. We got to see how the border collies worked the sheep which was amazing.

The house is beautifully decorated and the rooms are large with bathrooms the biggest we'd had during our 2 week trip. Maidred set out a LOVELY breakfast and introduced us to our favorite food in Ireland, Glenisk organic vanilla yogurt. The whole meal was outstanding, my only regret was that we were light breakfast eaters so we didn't get as much of that glorious food :)

It's a bit more expensive than most B&Bs (49 euros pps) but the location and accommodations were well worth it.

Lovely home, lovely meal, lovely family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToldsBayMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Lovely home in the country, about 5-10 minutes drive to Cashel for dinner. Mairead was warm and welcoming and very helpful with dinner suggestions. Really big room, with loveseat, coffee/tea, huge windows. Loved the atmosphere. A bit pricier than most of the B and Bs I stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The accommodations were wonderful. The place was very peaceful. The owner was very welcoming and provided great service. The rooms were gorgeous, immaculate, and very spacious for families. My children ages 11 and 13 loved learning about the sheep, watching them being herded and even petting them. I raved about this place as we traveled through Ireland. Absolutely the greatest place we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w00ds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here with our 12mth old son for one night.

The welcome was exceptionally friendly. Mairead made us feel really at home. The decor is absolutely beautiful and we had a lovely, restful night's sleep. If you are into spanking modern rooms, you may not be into this. But if you like friendly welcomes, antiqued decor and tasteful rooms, this will be right up your alley.

The breakfast the next day was devine, and they even made an effort to cater for our noisy little son. He enjoyed it, too.

And the icing on the cake was how Mairead asked if we wanted to put the boy down for a nap at around eleven, and didn't mind us delaying checking out until he had woken up.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed at Dualla House with our 7-month old son, and my friend also had her own room. The owners are so friendly and the house is in a wonderfully peaceful spot with sheep farm and friendly dogs included. I particularly loved the antiques and decor, it's insipiring to me now that I am living back in the States again! Only a short (10 minutes?) drive to Cashel, and it was nice to get away from the somewhat touristy town. Really loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

This is a wonderful old house and working farm, sitting on 120 hectares of land (that’s almost 300 acres). Our room was sparkling clean, probably the size of the average NY one-bedroom apartments. At our host’s suggestion, we went to see the Bro Boru show, which we really enjoyed – definitely exceeded our expectations.
This B&B is not in town, but maybe 10 minutes driving. We did not mind – it was nice to wake up and see all the sheep and watch the owners work the land. The only regret - we only had one night there...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cashel hotels
0 mi away
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#2 of 16 in Cashel
303 reviews
0 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#1 of 16 in Cashel
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
0 mi away
Cashel Holiday Hostel
Cashel Holiday Hostel
#2 of 3 in Cashel
99 reviews
0 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dualla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dualla House

Address: Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin and Mairead Power invite you to their two hundred year old Georgian House situated in the Golden Vale, one of the most fertile regions of Ireland, amid the superb scenery of the rolling foothills of the Slieveardagh Mountains. Combine a visit to the historic Rock of Cashel, ancient seat of the kings of Munster, with a visit to our 300 acre farm. We acquired the property in the 1950s and now run it as a sheep and grain farm. Groups come to see a well run working farm visitors will find it an easy clean and safe place to walk around and we are only too happy to tell you about our farming operation. We welcome groups - large or small - for guided farm walks and serve tea/coffee or light lunches in our historic Georgian home. You will enjoy a visit to our quiet rural retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing