We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive garden and facade, good but not very good”
Review of Aulber House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aulber House
Ranked #1 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Deceptive garden and facade, good but not very good”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Fitted dust collecting carpets, antiquated decor, dust in bathroom, unergonomic stair case, insufficient working space in room, else room large, bathroom large, shower large, adjustable water temperature and fine pressure. Good breakfast and free speedy Wi-Fi which worked in our room. Nice facade and garden, large free car park. Long ,15-20 min.walk to town. At € 85 incl. breakfast and VAT a bit pricy for that room and considering the Rock of Cashel is surrounded by scaffolds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ber90, Owner at Aulber House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I have been procrastinating this reply for a few days and even thought of not replying.I feel there may be something else going on here.I have decided however to reply because i do not appreciate the deceptive comment.I am simply going to give some facts and let others make there own decision.
You arrived at Aulber on Sunday afternoon at 12.42 check in is not until 2 but i accommodated you immediately even thought we were still in the height of cleaning .I put you in the first available twin room.You say that there was dust in you bathroom if you noticed this i hope you also noticed that we have CCTV cameras that pictured you arrival and time stamped it.
My husband is a landscaper so therefor yes we have a very nice garden.He dedicates a lot of time and energy to keep it this way.
I am now going to thank you for stating that we may be a bit more expensive than other places but you rightly pointed out a lot of the reasons why yourself.We are not in the centre of town so therefor have the added expense of lighting up our outdoor area with lanterns and sensor lights.We also pay V.A.T .We have credit card services ,fire safety certs.among other things.you also booked threw a booking site so commission is paid.
we have never claimed to be in centre of town in fact we have google street view on our web site to show people exactly where we are.
Your carpet comment i have to address as we refurbish 4 rooms every year so with 12 rooms no carpet is older than 3 years old .we also steam clean all carpets every other month.Well i see that you gave an identical review on another establishment so maybe its just carpets in general you don,t like.Thats fair enough but we like carpets.
I must also say that your room tip was slightly confusing because everything you say to make sure to ask for you actually say you got without asking.
The antiquated decor is what we were trying to achieve so it looks like we have done that.
The Unergonomic stairs is a fabulous hand crafted mahogony stairs built by a master craftsman.I don't know how ergonomic it is or isn't but it is extremely handy to get to the second floor and looks really nice.
I have no control over the scaffold around the rock of Cashel.You will have to take that point up with the OPW
This also brings me to another interesting point ,you also reviewed two other establishments one of which you said you were two late to visit as you arrived in Cashel late in the evening.I have camera footage to contradict this statement you are also slightly deceptive in you review of the other establishment as you are leading people to believe that you tried to get a table but couldn't when in fact you could never have ate here as they don't open on Sunday night.
I am going to leave it at that as anyone who wants to know more can just read your forums they are very informative.I wish you well mr Ramsey and who knows if you are back in Cashel you might come and visit us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
89
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the beautiful landscaping to the grand staircase entry and craftsman woodwork, you feel like you walked into a country manor house. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and the bathroom has a nice large shower. There is a manor house style lounge where you relax to read a book or watch television. The guests are treated warmly and the host is most gracious and helpful. All this at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Oops--clicked on fitness center by accident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 143JanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Aulber House is just a short drive from downtown Cashel. You will be impressed with the beautiful wood work you are greated with in the Aulber House lobby. And the beautiful landscape is absolutely stunning. Our room could not have been better as a bedroom away from home.

Our host was very helpful is suggesting places to eat and tour. For sure we will stay here when and if we return to Ireland.

Be sure to visit the Rock of Cashel and take the 45 minute tour - well worth the small cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staying here was like staying in an historic hotel. From the beautiful gardens outside to the stunning Decor inside. Everything was immaculately clean. The shower was amazing. Have never felt water pressure like that. The breakfast was endless. A buffet like spread of food in addition to a full cooked breakfast. I would recommend anyone near this area stay here if they get the chance

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very bright and large rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds and beautiful. Our room had a queen sized bed, nice. Definitely worth trying ambler house out. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed our visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandbergPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Though the architecture is a bit stylized, this has to be one of the best B&B's in Ireland. And the class is in the detail. Excellent bed, bath and breakfast. And how many inns or hotels have you stayed in lately (in Ireland!) which have working radiators in the bathroom? Totally quiet, yet close enough to downtown Cashel and Fidelma to walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OLafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely B&B. Bernice is a wonderful host and the house is immaculate. We had a great room with a view of the Rock of Cashel. Bernice was very helpful in finding things to do in the area and in the morning they offered a yummy Irish breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
12.1 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
377 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulber House

Property: Aulber House
Address: Aulber House Golden Road | Deer Park, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aulber House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 diamond Bed and Breakfast in historical town of Cashel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aulber House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing