We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornbrook House
Ranked #11 of 19 Cashel B&B and Inns
Qld Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Our excellent host Mary could not do enough, we arrived on a very wet cold day and were instantly offered hot drinks & scones to warm up. Mary provided recommendations for dinner which were 'spot on' for their service and quality.

Breakfasts were wonderful Mary provided a variation of fruit salad & yoghurt, porridge or cereals, plus a cooked breakfast, always making sure we had ample to eat, loading us up with scones for a day trips, just in case we needed a snack, we never needed lunch as we were so full after breakfast.

We stayed for five days while touring around Sth Tipperary and sadly we had to leave our little haven to continue our trip, Mary is a very gracious host and we were made to feel part of her family. Will definitely return on our next trip

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnycoast_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This B and B is really great.Mary and her husband welcomed us late at night and made us feel really comfortable.
The place is quiet and tidy and you'll enjoy the huge breakfast.
I definitely recommand it!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb0titi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

During our vacation in Ireland we spent 1 night in Cashel at this B & B, we found it very, clean, convenient and welcoming. Mary served up a fabulous huge "full Irish breakfast" and we met other interesting people, who we chatted with over breakfast. The family dog "Gary" welcomes all who drive in to stay. We cannot speak more highly of Mary's warm hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skellig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Mary was wonderful and her daughter too. We only stayed one night but it was so pleasant. Mary's daughter suggested Chez Hans for the early bird special (it was wonderful) and even gave us a ride to town. Would highly recommend this house and this town. My only complaint was that I scheduled Cashe for an overnight so I could take a pic of the Rock and there is scaffolding all over it. Rotten luck for me. Still, I am glad we went.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Only one night during our transit to Dublin.
And it was excellent.
Also visit Rock off Cashel and dine at Chez Hans and your stay is complete.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_alex_willem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

A warm, inviting and friendly welcome. Room and ensuire shower facilities were excellent.. Breakfast was more than expected. A great find which we would have no hesitation in recommending.
Thank you very much Mary.

Paul and Emilija Bolitho

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omni-uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at this B&B for one night because the trip from Tralee to Dublin was just a little bit too far before returning home. The room we stayed in was basic but very clean. Mrs. Mary Kennedy was really charming and welcoming. The full Irish breakfast was truly delicious and Mary was ever so kind. She recommended the restaurant “Chez Hans”. Not cheap but worth the money. The sole on the bone is particularly good and the atmosphere is great. So thank you again, Mary!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandalf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cashel hotels
1.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#1 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#3 of 19 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teac Watties B & B
Teac Watties B & B
#8 of 19 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbrook House

Property: Thornbrook House
Address: Thornbrook House Dualla Road, Cashel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing