We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food By the Castle”

Riverhouse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Cahir
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Here at the Riverhouse we specialise in all Homemade Irish Foods, we are very proud of our Bridgestone awards( Sally McKenna) which we have achieved for the last 7years to date2014, we also received Georgina Campbell Awards for 2012,2013,2014. we open 7 days a week 8.30am-6pm serving Breakfast, Carvery Lunch,Soups,Sandwiches,Pastas,kids meals...homemade desserts,coffees etc.. We have the BEST Views of Cahir Castle and River Suir.Tours are a must to take in the spectacular views along with the best homemade foods..Pop in to see for yourself we would love to welcome you:)
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a beautiful Sunny Sunday afternoon in Cahir town. Visit Cahir Castle then have a tasty leisurely lunch/dinner or just a coffee and pastry in this busy causal Resturant. Great selection of tasty fresh food. Service and Staff very good and helpful. This place is very popular with tours exploring Cahir. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherinec279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhouse_13, Owner at Riverhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are very lucky to have such a Beautiful Castle on our doorstep (literally), and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the homemade food in our restaurant. Thank You for taking the time to review, see you in the future I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Fresh food daily with plenty to choose from. Very spacious so you can enjoy a private conversation. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed near Cahir for a few days and came to the restaurant several times for both lunch and morning tea. The food was delicious and well priced, and the view from the first floor is quite lovely. The staff are friendly and obliging and provide great service. Its a great place to visit after a tour of the castle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patto41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhouse_13, Owner at Riverhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

That's brilliant, we have a lot of people who comment on the lovely views from upstairs with the castle and the river we are very lucky. Also I'm happy that you found the staff so helpful and that food and price was to your liking. Thank you for comments and time hope to see you again when your back in Cahir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Riverhouse is well worth a stop off after a visit to the Castle and/or a walk down by the river to Swiss Cottage, be it a quick cuppa and a scone or cake, to a full dinner, or snack, the Riverhouse is a must.

Fabulous food and coffee and friendly staff. Sit upstairs and watch the world and river flow by and relax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Homebird700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhouse_13, Owner at Riverhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review, serving good food in a nice environment is what we at Riverhouse always aim to provide. Thank you for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We have stopped here a few times for a snack and have always had a nice visit. Every time it has been an enjoyable experience with good food and good service. The restaurant is located on the river opposite the car park and is closest to Cahir castle. Plenty of seating with more upstairs.
The restaurant is clean and bright with a wide variety of hot and cold food and tea/coffee snack options.
The Fresh scones are very good!

Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhouse_13, Owner at Riverhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Shane, thank you for your kind words all the staff in the restaurant will appreciate them, we always try to widen our selection of food and improve the restaurant. Keeping the restaurant clean and tidy is a priority for us and I'm glad your experiences have all been positive. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cahir, County Tipperary
Cahir, County Tipperary
 
Cahir, County Tipperary
Cahir, County Tipperary
 

Been to Riverhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing