We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
Navan, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely stay, definitely be back”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very plesantly surprised by the hotel, full of olde world charm not like so many " plastic" hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful espcially Maurice, Dillon and Mary. Stayed two nights, ate dinner on second night which was very good.Hotel situated in beautiful surroundings which you can admire from swimming pool. Enjoyed really relaxing break and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    111
    52
    29
    47
See reviews for
140
155
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

It may be lacking in a few mod cons but hospitality and old world charm are available in abundance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maremac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Like a lot of other people having read the reviews we were also wary of what to expect but were pleasently suprised by our accomodation.The rooms were spotless as was the Hotel food was lovely and the afternoon tea when we arrived was just what we needed and plenty of it.Only fault we had was the waitressess serving breakfast (which was very good) didnt seem to have a system of knowing if you had been seen to or not which meant sometimes you were asked twice for your order or you were left waiting because each waitress presumed the other was looking after you.Apart from this I would recomend this hotel and ignore all the bad comments left previously on this site

Room Tip: check if there is a function on and look for a room away from functioon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ren94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

After reading many of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor I was dreading going to the Kilcoran lodge for a weekend break, but I have to say I was surprised at how wrong peoples reviews were. We originially got a deal on boards.ie for €80.00 for 2 nights B&B and 1 afternoon tea for 2 adults. We added a child at the last minute got a family room (no. 23) and it was only an extra €20.00 per night. This worked out at €20.00 per person per night. Outstanding value.

The hotel itself is an old hunting lodge set off the old dublin to cork road (now bypassed) which adds to the tranquility of the hotel. It is easy to find (even in the dark) & well signposted, the directions on the website were spot on.

The hotel still has most of it original features from the days when it was a hunting lodge. The reception staff, breakfast staff & cleaning staff couldnt have been nicer & more friendly and welcoming. The room was clean & so was the bathroom, the beds were very comfortable & most importantly clean. I am a stickler for cleanliness and this place did met my standards. The leisure facitlities were perfect for our needs we spent most of friday & saturday in the gym/pool as our 5 year old loves the pool.

The hotel is about a 5 min drive to Cahir, we ate in Cahir both nights and the price and quality of the food was good. On Sunday we visited Cahir castle which was a great experience for all of us.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a relaxing break. If you are looking for a more modern hotel in the thick of it and not one with original features & charm then you would be better off staying in a generic boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibaba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Food was not good. Tinned fruit for breakfast! Would not be returning although staff very nice and pleasant. Under new management but new owner has no personality and does not handle complaints very well.

Room Tip: Don't go for the executive over the bar although very quaint it is noisy even during the daytime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coreen186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We also stayed in this hotel the same weekend as Mich666 and although slightly worried by previous reviews, I have to say, my feelings were totally the opposite. This Hotel has only very recently been taken over and I took the time to talk to the new owner about his ideas -very interesting. I found the staff exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We went to the bar for a drink and afternoon tea, with the intention of going to Cahir but never made it as the craic in the bar with other weekenders enticed us to stay. We had to leave the craic for dinner and I have to admit, it was one of the nicest 4 courses I have had in a hotel. Our bedroom was big and bright and yes, slightly old fashioned but that is one of the matters the new owner did mention he wished to address. The only negative point I have to make, is, that the room was slightly cold on our arrival at 2.30 but all it needed was a request to Mary, the receptionist, and the room was indeed comfortably warm on our return to it. The area/scenery is beautiful and just begging for you to go out and explore, even if it was a crisp fresh morning. We would love to go back again in spring/summer. Margel, Dublin

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are large and sunny with a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

i was dreading my weekend here,after reading the other reviews...first of all,its very difficult to find,its not in the village of cahir at all(apart from the castle,nothing else there..) its half way to mitchellstown.after twice asking for directions,we eventually found it.the reception room was cold and i was told that i would be charged 20euro each night 4 my 6 year old son(myself and my husband were on the groupon deal).this was a tad expensive..ive been in great places(this definatley NOT one of them),that charge that much before..our room itself was ok,very old fashioned,tint tv with no remote,at full volume,with no way to turn down..but the radiators came on when we entered so wasnt too cold.the sink in the bathroom had a green stain around it..yuk! we went into the bar to eat,service was very slow.we ordered 2 chowders that were supposed to be served with"fresh soda bread",nope 2 hard white rolls..the small fire was the only source of heat in there.i said i was cold but was informed that the radiators at the back of the room"had not worked in years"!!..i retired to bed early.the radiators in the room,great to be warm but..they were on all night so i was too hot and thus slept badly.there was quiet from elsewhere though so that was good.breakfasdidnt start till 9am,now as an adult this may be fine,but from 8am i had a very hungry 6 year old...breakfast itself was nice,and the staff in there were too.sunday night we went to eat in the bar at 8pm..the menu is very bare and has no childrens menu at all.it does say you can ask,i did,requested spaghetti for my son,nope..as we were sat waiting for the food,3 men were also in the bar,they were obviously very drunk and were swearing badly.i spoke to the barman,who spoke to them..no difference..i spoke to them myself..they stll carried on.we went out to sit in the reception area..i could(and of course my chlid) could still here them.i complained to reception only to have them tell me that these men "had been coming here 10 years",and that they "had been in the bar since 1pm"!!! unbelievable,no wonder the place gets such bad reviews!!! they would rather carry on serving these drunk men than cater to familes.we ended up having to take the food up to our room.i know we didnt pay much on the groupon deal..but have they not heard of the phrase"children are the future customers" obviously not and my family will NEVER be back here.

Room Tip: are there any? i think not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mich666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
21.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Property: Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcoran Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the song goes 'it's a long way to Tipperary', but we all know it's really not that far, and trust us - the drive will be so worth it! Situated only two hours drive from Dublin or Galway and just one hour from Cork city, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel is steeped in history. Originally built in the last century as the Earl of Glengall's hunting lodge, the hotel is set in an elevated position on twenty acres of sumptuous landscaped gardens and overlooks the breathtaking views of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Truly the ideal setting for a romantic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel Cahir, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing