We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy bride and groom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“happy bride and groom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had our wedding in Kilcoran, 7th September. There is nothing bad that can be said about our day. We had a small intimate dinner in the afternoon and a large buffet party in the evening.
When we first met Connie about our slightly unusual wedding day requests there was no problem. Anything we asked was catered for. Connie and his staff were a dream to deal with. Nothing was a problem from late night drinks and singing to to very late breakfasts for a few hungry kids.
If your looking for the personal touch and undivided attention in an old world charming hotel in a picturesque location look no further.
Our wedding meal was in the Glengall Suite which was intimate with beautiful views. The meal was hot and steamy, tasty and plentiful. Our evening buffet was excellent a huge selection including scampi and fries ( a must have) vegetable spring rolls and loads of salads to mention a few. All our guest were delighted and nearly too full for dancing.
Great value for money, all the little extra thoughtful touches were much appreciated and mad our day very special and stress free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandu7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    108
    51
    28
    45
See reviews for
138
151
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My sister and her husband had their wedding reception in Kilcoran Lodge hotel on Saturday 6th September. All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful and I must make a special mention for Christine in reception, Liam in the bar and the owner Connie who exuded that extra warmth despite
having all looked after another wedding reception the day before. The food was both delicious and plentiful and they had no problem looking after our vegetarian friends. The rooms in the hotel are comfortable and charming and reflect the ambience and history of the Lodge. I have no hesitation in recommending Connie and his team whether for a quiet meal, a large party or your wedding reception. We had a late breakfast on the Sunday morning and everyone was delighted with the wedding and the hotel, swapping stories about the day before. Bridget Cullen, 10th September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just attended a wedding at the best Hotel for a Wedding, the manager Connie and his staff could not do enough to make it a pleasure for bridal party and guests. you could not get better service or suitability for that special day. we stayed for the weekend and were sorry to leave. the grounds are very suited for photos, can highly recommend the lodges
Food may not be Michelin top rate, but is very tasty and plenty of it.
the manager is ever present and attentive, and willing to make it the most happiest day for bride and groom. with plenty of attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Location perfect with nice view. Room was ok but bathroom disaster should be updated. First night we went to the bar. Food deliciaus. Very happy with that. Next day we would like to eat in restaurant but they didnt open and canceled all reservations. We went again to the bar but food was realy nice. Like for me is 2-3 star hotel but worth spent money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Tim and I visited the Kilcoran Lodge on Saturday 31st August. On the way to climb Galtymore we stopped by for coffee and scones and later, having climbed the mountain, we returned to Kilcoran Lodge for a delicious treat of 'Sticky Toffee Pudding' with coffee. During that visit, my daughter, who lives in Madrid, tried to call me on my mobile but the line kept dropping. I asked the hotel reception if there was any possibility of having my daughter ring the hotel land line as we had been cut off and she was a little distressed.

Instantly the woman offered me the use of their office and made the room available to me privately for the phone call, which came through moments later. The receptionist was genuinely concerned and could not have been more helpful or empathic. When I returned to my coffee it had gone cold and the barman immediately appeared and discreetly replaced the coffee with a full pot of coffee.

The staff at Kilcoran Lodge are amazing. They are genuine and polite and constantly paying attention to customer needs. I would highly recommend a visit. The views are spectacular and the food is first class. There is a warm and friendly atmosphere and the staff are the best I have come across in years.

Ruth and Tim say a big Thank You to all who helped us that afternoon and wish to convey our gratitude and appreciation for the amazing service and genuine thoughtfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We got this on a pigsback offer. We arrived in the hotel today, the first thing we heard was the receptionist on the phone saying she was to busy then just asked what was our name, she didnt even greet us. we left the hotel 20mins after checking in as we couldn't stay in the room as it was so dirty and grubby looking. The rooms badly need a lick of paint and they need to get rid of cob webs and sliders in the rooms. We had room number 1. Whilst I understand the hotel is old style, our room was dirty style.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Before I start, I just want to say thank you, thank you, thank you to ALL the staff at Kilcoran Lodge.
I chose this hotel after searching through many hotels around the South and South East of Ireland, we come from Tramore, County Waterford. It appealed to us as it was truly romantic, it has the Knockmealdown mountains in front of the hotel, looking out to the Vee, as a scenic backdrop, and was an amazing place for children, as we had many in our party. Although there is a road at he base of it, it is far enough away to relax knowing the kids are playing in the grounds. We had kids from ages 2 and upwards. It is an old country hunting lodge, with old style rooms made modern, The honeymoon suite was exceptional, with old style furniture and an amazing four poster bed, fire place and old style bathroom. Just beautiful. The hotel also has use of the Mews/Cottages (self catering apartments) Which were modern and our family loved! All our guests commented on how beautiful and intimate our ceremony was, we had an fantastic drinks and snack reception on the terrace, just outside the main ballroom. We then proceeded to the beautifully landscaped grounds for our photos. We could not have wanted for anything more beautiful. The food was amazing at the wedding.... The food was amazing at lunch.... The food was amazing at breakfast.... And on the Saturday night the hotel put on a buffet dinner for us consisting of lasagna, salads, cold meats, baked potatoes, and wine.... enough and more to fill our bellies for thennext stage of our wedding party. The service from the bar, reception, waitress, AND OF COURSE CONNIE THE MANAGER... was second to none, we did not have to want or worry about anything.
One of the children in our group was up early in the morning, let himself out of the room, went down to reception, and asked for juice, breakfast and cartoons.... All of which he was catered for, he was only 3.5 years old. They looked after him as if he was their own! We took all our kids to the swimming pool, on the saturday and sunday, which added to our hotel experience, we all enjoyed that and having an awesome time in the Jacuzzi.
The cost over all was fantastic, considering we could have paid more for less in the many other hotels we searched in. And trust me.... I searched far and wide for the prefect settings, perfect management, and perfect overall ambiance. We had a two day MAJOR party which benefited both sides. On a final note, when myself and the groom when into the honeymoon suite before the first dance, there was a framed picture of myself and the groom, with fruit, champagne, and chocolates which made us feel really special and our 3 year old son did not want to leave our room the next day, as he said our room had better food than anywhere else... Ha Ha. Thank you, Connie, Christene, Morris and the other short haired blond bar man (sorry we cant remember your name xxx, the one who made our awesome Springbok shooters) PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN! Also our babysitter Eileen, thanks for putting up with our 5am entrance! We all would recommend this hotel to anyone, short stay, long stay or wedding venue. Thanks again to all. xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.9 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
14.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Property: Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcoran Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the song goes 'it's a long way to Tipperary', but we all know it's really not that far, and trust us - the drive will be so worth it! Situated only two hours drive from Dublin or Galway and just one hour from Cork city, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel is steeped in history. Originally built in the last century as the Earl of Glengall's hunting lodge, the hotel is set in an elevated position on twenty acres of sumptuous landscaped gardens and overlooks the breathtaking views of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Truly the ideal setting for a romantic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel Cahir, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing