We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold & terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Attended a wedding here. Hard to know where to start. From the get go it went downhill.
While in the reception area, very little seating & freezing cold!
In the bar area, fire lit, very little seating here also.
When we finally got into function room, again freezing cold! Had to wear coat during dinner! Could not see top table, too many tables crammed in. Long tables pushed against the wall. If one person needed to leave the table everybody had to get up & move to let them out.
Very poor sound system! Not enough staff to serve the number of guests attending the wedding!
Paper napkins, wine glasses that may have been fashionable twenty years ago! All in all would never return here!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greengrass34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a fantastic day we had on Dec 8th when our whole family got together to celebrate my mothers 87th birthday , We were a group of 32 and had the room behind the bar to ourselves. We had a very mixed age group including teenagers , the youngest was 4 years old. The family were coming from all parts of Ireland and met in the bar where there was a lovely atmosphere and a fire burning. We moved into the dining room where everything was very well laid out and the room nicely decorated and had lunch. The food and service were excellent and we thank Connie and his staff for looking after us so well. We hope to be back next year to celebrate her 88th.

Room Tip: As none of us stayed the night I cannot comment here , everyone had to return to there homes as we h...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Driving towards Cahir I told my husband that my day would be made if we could just find a nice, country house style place to stay for the night and about five minutes later we saw the sign advertising Kilcoran Lodge. How good is that? Very good as it turned out.
We were greeted by a friendly lady at the desk and advised that there would be a room available. As it happened we were the only guests that night so we literally had the run of the house. Due to a slight misunderstanding we realised that we'd have to drive into the town for our evening meal and asked the friendly gentleman nearby if he could recommend a place to us. Obviously we looked a bit tired (and less than keen to head out again) so without hesitation he offered to cook us a meal - as in cook it himself. What service ! Now of course we understand that this very pleasant gentleman, Connie Herbert, is the owner of the hotel but even so, cooking up a meal for two guests arriving late in the day, at the far end of the season, is pretty remarkable - and it was a great meal too. Connie sat with us in the bar and we were fascinated to hear much of the history of this lovely old building. Despite the long running financial woes experienced in Ireland (and indeed around the world) Connie has a very optimistic, get up and go attitude and I'm sure that his plans, many of which are already underway, will only see the Lodge go from strength to strength. As always, before writing a review, I read each entry for this place and was amazed to read some of the more critical comments. I'm unsure of just what people are looking for if they choose to stay in a place like this and then find things not to their liking. Personally, we will always opt for the unusual, the quirky, the faded charm, country house history and personality filled establishments which far outweigh the soulless chain style hotels or less than personal guest houses that are on offer in so many countries. Breakfast the following day (not cooked by Connie this time) was delicious, with lovely views from the dining room, overlooking the mountains. Our room, chosen by Connie so that we could enjoy those views from the second floor, was quite spacious, with a modern bathroom which included a good, strong shower and a full size bath both of which were appreciated. Given that we were the only guests that evening I hadn't anticipated that the heaters would be working but Connie assured us that he would sort that matter and so he did. We were warm, comfortable and filled with good food (as well as a few glasses of wine) and slept very well indeed. We wish Connie and his staff all the very best, and if we're fortunate enough to travel to Ireland again, we'll most certainly make time to stay at this interesting, comfortable and well run house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOHADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Myself ,wife and two girls went to the hotel for two nights B & B.From the time we arrived and booked in I felt we were in the way. But I let the feeling pass and thought no more about it.
Went for something to eat in the bar in the evening and the person dealing with us was abrupt if not rude.
we were met however by a lady for breakfast the next morning who was both freindly and helpful.That evening we again decided to eat int he hotel as we had used the swimming pool facilities, which was very clean and the staff helpful to a point.

There was a reception being held in the hotel on this particular evening and while the bar ws not very busy there was a steady flow of people.We ordered food and it was delivered by a friendly person.We ran out of a sauce or so we thought but the other was in a different packaging.I had asked for more sauce not knoing at the time of the packaging.The person dealing with us was the same person as the night before and when he seen the sauce in the other packaging the took it from the ciontainer and throw it on the table and muttering to us to look in future.

I let this go as my children were having a good time otherwise and did not want to ruin the holiday.

When we were leaving I was handing the key of the room back at reception and wanted to be sure there was bill attaching to our room.I was left there waiting for about 15 minutes and a person coming in duty came over and asked if i was alright. I wxpalined and she got someone to come to my assistance.I was treated in a very dismissive manner and just told to leave the key as there was no charges to my room.

I had sent a letter to the manger a week later and to date which is 7 weeks I hae not received a reply.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bradycarl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Kilcoran Lodge is set between the Galtee and Knockmealdown mountains. It is an old hunting lodge and has all the pluses and minuses of a place steeped in history and tradition. The lobby walls are covered in black & white wedding photos; some dating back to the 40's and 50's and various hunting trophies are in amongst them.
The room we stayed in (15) was warm and comfortable, if a little faded, and the ensuite bathroom was huge. Breakfast was generous and served in the pleasant dining room at the front of the house. One or two locals/ passers by had also stopped for breakfast or coffee.
We had drinks in the bar on both evenings and on the second evening there was a roaring fire in the hearth which really made a huge difference to the atmosphere in there.
I understand that at this time of the year Kilcoran Lodge is in 'winter mode' and doing most of its business at weekends. As we stayed on a Monday and Tuesday evening the dining room was not open and breakfast began later, at ten. We were unaware if this and had to leave early on the final morning, missing breakfast. I was most impressed to get a phone call the next day from the proprietor, Mr. Herbert, apologising for the misunderstanding.
Go to Kilcoran Lodge if you quite like warm, faded and friendly - don't go if you demand fabulous, clean lined efficiency. We liked it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KateyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just wanted to put a review here as we had our wedding here during the Summer. We live in the UK and initially were a little worried about organising the wedding from abroad. We were also having our humanist ceremony in the hotel so the day was going to be a little more complicated for the hotel.

We needn't have worried. Connie coordinated the day beautifully and it all went perfectly. Guests told us how lovely the food was and commented on how lovely and intimate and cosy the wedding was. Connie organised lots of lovely little surprises for us during the day, which were lovely.

We also had a lot of vegetarian options, which was important to us. The hotel staff cared for our guests so well on the wedding day and in the days before and after the wedding and went out of their way to help. If you like modern corporate places this isn't probably for you, but if you want a little relaxed rural place with an vintage feel, do give this a go!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fquimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Where do we start, First of all we wish there was a higher rating than Excellent because of the experience our guests all 240 of them and ourselves had the weekend of the 12th of April 2013 was beyond Excellent. Long before the wedding day this wonderful team headed up by Connie Herbert looked after our every need nothing was to much trouble and this carried on right through until we checked out on the Sunday after an unforgettable weekend. Everything was perfect and there were some beautiful surprises throughout the day from the second we arrived we were treated like royalty along with our guests who have all been raving about it since how every little thing was looked after by Connie and the staff nothing was to much trouble. The food was spectacular to say to least and there was plenty of it all evening and night and early morning. The hotel itself its amazingly decorated and amazing for photos and the grounds are beautiful so scenic fantastic for photos. We had decided to have a BBQ the next day but the weather didn't cooperate but this wasn't a problem as we had a indoor BBQ of sorts it was amazing approximately 60 guests stayed the 2nd night with us and we all really enjoyed it until the early hours of the morning again. The accommodation was second to none and the bridal suite is gorgeous. If your looking for a location for your wedding choose Kilcoran and we guarantee you wont be disappointed. Thanks again to Connie & Staff for making our wedding the most amazing day/weekend of our lives.
Dan & Ita Fitzgerald

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
426 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
611 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
409 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcoran Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the song goes 'it's a long way to Tipperary', but we all know it's really not that far, and trust us - the drive will be so worth it! Situated only two hours drive from Dublin or Galway and just one hour from Cork city, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel is steeped in history. Originally built in the last century as the Earl of Glengall's hunting lodge, the hotel is set in an elevated position on twenty acres of sumptuous landscaped gardens and overlooks the breathtaking views of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Truly the ideal setting for a romantic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel Cahir, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing