We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Value - Fantastic Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed overnight to go to a wedding nearby the following day. Hotel is dated and old fashioned but very good value. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant was closed but ate in the bar. Food was probably the best meal we had in any hotel for many a year. Would recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

attended a wedding here recently and was very impressed with the hotel. while it is slightly dated and could do with a little decor revamp it hospitality that we received made up for it. the hotel staff were warm and friendly and nothing was a bother to them. really enjoyed the wedding and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HEM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Came here on a voucher deal with my girlfriend and it was great value for money. The hotel is certainly dated in terms of decor but that is what gives it its charm. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had dinner and a bottle of wine in the bar. There is a real homely feel to the place and a friendly atmosphere. We stayed in room 15 which was very elegant and spacious, it was a lovely room. The only complaint I would have is the lack of hot water in the morning. However the place is great value for money and I can highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peaderpluaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcoran L, General Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Peadarpluaise

Many thanks for your kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us.I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of your company at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Gerard Moylan, General Manager, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I were passing Kilcoran Lodge today on the way to Fermoy. We decided to stop and have a drink on what initially looks like a lovely decking area with a great view of the mountains. Waited for ten minures at the bar to get served..no sign of staff despite the receptionist directing us into the bar. When eventually served the taller of the two staff had some attitude..a family behind me who were also seated and waiting to order food were told " the menus are on the bar" in a really snide way. The girl who served me was quite pleasant. Outside it is a shame that the lovely fountain and pool are neglected, dirty and by the looks of it unkept as are the grounds where the grass was well over the ankle. Trees also looked that they needed to be pruned badly and the whole fascade of the hotel looks dated and dirty. Shame about all the foliage, trees etc blocking the view of that magnificent fountain from the road and additionally blocking the great view of the mountains from the neglected deck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flynnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcoran L, General Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Flynnic
Thank you very much for your review and we take on board all of your constructive comments. Please rest assured that what you experienced is not our usual standard and your comments will be used as part of our next staff training session.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel.Kind Regards Gerard Moylan, General Manager, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here on the way to Cork, and whilst I didn't use many of the facilities, the service was superb. I rang in my booking and stated that I would be late, and they asked what time, I said around 9, and they said not to hurry as they would keep the kitchen open for me. Food (steak) was perfectly cooked and good value. I requested an early check out and said I would be happy with cereal and coffee but when I landed down around 7, the night porter (I think) had prepared a full Irish breakfast. Above and beyond the call of duty. Lovely views from the hotel, but I think a car is neccessary as it is out on its own. Some of the decor is a little dated, but everything is very clean. I couldnt find any wifi, but didnt ask.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank theredoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcoran L, General Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Theredoneil Belfast
Thank your for your very positive comments on Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Gerard Moylan & All the Management & Staff of Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Last week I visited kilcoran with my family for my cousin. We were greeted with smiling employees. It was a lovely warm hotel. The food was great. We found the staff very good and very helpful. We had trouble with opening our door but a woman at reception was up to assist us straight away. Very comfortable furniture and lots of it. If you wanted a minute away from all the great dancing you could sit out and have a conversation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jaynelawlortipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcoran L, General Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jaynelawlortipp
Thank you for your very positive feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay the wedding reception we certainly enjoyed hosting the wedding. We have had a very positive response from all the guests at the wedding. I hope we have the pleasure of your company in Kilcoran Lodge Hotel again in the near future. Regards Gerard Moylan & All the Management & Staff of Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

have just returned from staying in the kilcoran lodges holiday homes which where covered in dust and dead spiders all over the upstairs windows. the beds where the worst i have ever experienced and i was covered in bruses from the broked springs!! the grill and oven trays ha been covered in tin foil instead of being washed properly and the washing machine was broken. we paid extra to use the hotel swimming pool which was poorly mintained with little to no supervision. VERY VERY DISSAPOINTING WEEK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcoran L, General Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Ed, Navan Ireland
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodges at Kilcoran as the Lodges are owned and operated by a different company that is not associated to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel I am not in a position to reply to this review. Thank you also for reviewing the swimming pool I will use your comments as part of our ongoing training. Kind Regards Gerard Moylan General Manager Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
426 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
611 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
409 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcoran Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the song goes 'it's a long way to Tipperary', but we all know it's really not that far, and trust us - the drive will be so worth it! Situated only two hours drive from Dublin or Galway and just one hour from Cork city, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel is steeped in history. Originally built in the last century as the Earl of Glengall's hunting lodge, the hotel is set in an elevated position on twenty acres of sumptuous landscaped gardens and overlooks the breathtaking views of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Truly the ideal setting for a romantic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel Cahir, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing